We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
QT Museum Wellington
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Bay Plaza Hotel(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ohtel(Wellington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Apollo Lodge Motel(Wellington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Plaza Hotel(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,850 results
Traveler rating
831
668
230
79
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
831
668
230
79
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippopotamus restaurantte papaart collectiongreat arthuge bathacross the roadapartment roomespresso machinerain showerpublic areasnew zealandharbour viewmini barwasher dryercourtney placecourtenay placelocation is great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,417 - 1,422 of 1,850 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent a night here in interconnecting 1-bed suite and studio rooms, which were spacious and comfortable (and would have allowed us to cook our own food had we wanted to). The decor was a little tired in rooms, and the downstairs lobby dark and with a dingy carpet but interestingly decorated with modern paintings and sculptures (including a motorbike).

Location close to the magnificent Te Papa museum is hard to fault, and most other things are reasonably close (but it was a bit of a hike to the mountain railway up to the equally fine Botanic Gardens).

We had a similar experience to others on the service: reception was not well manned and the doormen were pretty random too and we had to find and haul the luggage trolley ourselves.

We also tried the restaurant en famille, which may not have been wise. It's a very fancy restaurant, that elsewhere would have or aspire to a Michelin Star, and they looked slightly askance at the kids. Most of the main dishes came with a serving of lamb's brains or other organs, which as refugees from the home of BSE we still find offputting. Whilst the food was very good quality (no arguing with that), it was also very expensive, very heavy and very French without compromise. Probably next time we'd fob the kids off with room service and do eating "grown-ups only". Breakfast was also fine (good variety and good quality buffet) but a bit of a zoo.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacDaddyinSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had stayed here before in a beautyful room before, probably one of the apartments. However, this time we had a deluxe harbour room, which was of an poor standard for an upmarket hotel.

It seem there are two separate wings, and the harbour rooms are the old wing. The carpeting and bathrooms are very tired and the bed bottomed out when I sat on it. The hand basin had a crack that run from one side of the bowl to the other. While the public areas are very pleasant, I've stayed in motel rooms that were in better condition.

when we arrive it took a few minutes before the staff came to the front desk to service us. On a couple of occasions when we call the front desk the phone ran out.

I could not recommend the delux harbour rooms visit.

Room Tip: If you want a decent room, go for the appartments
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmcisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a single night in a Premier Suite here recently, as a bit of a treat for a special occasion. The hotel interior is awe-inspiring for its incredible artwork and that carries right on through to the rooms themselves.

The rooms are very well furnished and maintained in excellent condition. The beds comfortable, and the choices from the pillow menu just perfect.

Location is great, too. Just across the road from Te Papa and you can walk to most things in central Wellington with ease, even though it's not dead central.

The hotel restaurant is excellent and worthy of a visit on merit alone, whether you are staying or not.

For the rate we paid (easily as expensive as equivalent suites around Wellington CBD) it was a bit on the nose to have to pay for WiFi and parking as well. WiFi in particular should be include in a hotel like this for the rates charged.

And service was a little lacking at times ... as in often absent with not a lot of staff around. It feels more like an apartment block than a fully serviced hotel. Not a major problem for us, but know what to expect. Service from the staff who did interact with use was very good though.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour-wing room. The rooms on the other side have a disappointing outlook over a road and buildings, even though the room rate is often the same.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WH0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed 7 nights in two bedroom apartment in August 2012 with my wife and little boy. Beautiful, very interesting hotel, great room and we found the service to be excellent. Overall a terrific, very comfortable experience with a nice pool and fitness centre which my little boy loved. A couple of minor comments - there were no hooks on doors or walls in the bathroom, something which I found unusual and, quite frankly, with three of us bathing / showering each day, was a bit of a nuisance. It would have been great, also, if there was some sort of catalog or directory of the art works on display throughout the hotel for sale. My wife would have loved something to take home but there was only a single directory at reception which was able to be borrowed for a short time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussellJW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed in a Harbour room with Patio in February 2012. Whilst the Hotel's public rooms have a certain pzazz this did not extend to the rooms which, whilst adequate for a 1 nigth stay over before catching the ferry, were dark, dreary and in need of a refresh. Expected better - this was the only disappointing stay of all the accomodation we had over a 3 week holiday.

Good location for exploring the city, easy parking and access to the ferry port are its redeeming points.

Mark and Ollie (Ireland)

Room Tip: Check if they have refurbished before booking!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews