We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    587
    201
    61
    41
See reviews for
194
833
77
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

I really liked the Museum Hotel. We live just out of town so we decided to stay right in the city when we went to a show one night for kind of a mini-break mid-week. It was very comfortable, a lovely room, and the location was perfect for going up Courtenay Place for dinner and the show. The service was great and breakfast the next morning was lovely too. Had we been staying any longer, the nice view from our Deluxe Room would have been pretty nice too. Didn't get a chance to use the spa as we wanted to, but all in all it was a wonderful place!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWilsons08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

This hotel is well situated near Te Papa museum and a short walk from downtown Wellington. Additionally there is a supermarket immediately adjacent to the hotel.
The room was clean and very comfortable, of normal size and facilities. The hotel restaurant food was good, with a nice variety on the breakfast buffet. The restaurant staff were a little casual at times, but polite and friendly. The hotel has a stunning amount of original artwork in the public areas which makes waiting for the lift a pleasure.
The only (very minor) quibble I have is that the bathroom taps worked backwards - turned to the red dot they got colder, turned to the blue dot they got hotter!

  • Liked — Art work in the hotel
  • Disliked — The cleaners took away my unread newspaper!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldfishNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

This was a nice hotel, close toTe Papa museum. Within walking distance to city centre. Friendly staff.
Room was not very big but adequate. Comfortable bed. Big bathroom with good water pressure. However, the bathroom was not very clean as there was hair (from shaving!!) around the sink.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AprilNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Quirky, well presented hotel. Stayed 3 nights, loved the large room and large bathroom - best shower I had in a hotel ever. Did not like that my key seemed faulty, swipe was not working - was rectified after I saw reception. (Very flash 'public toilets' on ground level).

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

Stayed at the Museum for 4 nights, room was well maintained and comfortable. The hotel is well situated opposite Te Papa and the Harbour and within walking distance of main attractions but, being central in a city, it was quite expensive relative to other accommodation we used in New Zealand. Cannot comment on the restaurant facilities as we only once had a bar snack. Reception staff were friendly and helpful but limited and chargeable car parking was a bit of a nuisance. Our recommendations for dinner are the St John's restaurant (located in what was originally an ambulance station close to the harbour) and the Fisherman's Table (along the waterfront towards Oriental Bay.

  • Liked — The convenient location
  • Disliked — Paying for limited car parking
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,833 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing