We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unique and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed here for a week and can't really fault this hotel. There service was to a high standard at all times and nothing was ever a hassle for the staff.

Great location opposite Te Papa Museum and very central to everything. Some great views of the harbour from the harbour view rooms. Noise from the main road was a bit annoying at times, especially at night, but was very minimal.

The facilities and room amenities were all excellent. The internet access was quite pricey, as was the parking. The restaurant seemed very expensive compared to other close by restaurants, although I never ate there so cannot comment on the food.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Wellington. Probably not the best for a "business stay" but definitely if in town on a holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilspark80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,409 - 1,415 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

We always enjoy returning to the Museum Hotel, it is pure luxury! A perfect location as we flew down, so easy to walk to everything from the hotel. We had a one bedroom apartment which was ideal as we had our 2 year old daughter with us. The rooms are always interesting, lovely decor, we just so enjoy staying here. The large bath and over head shower is always a treat. We will definately be back. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Wow, what a great find -- no bland, beige rooms here! You know you are in for something different when you arrive to find the hotel exterior painted in black, with a giant hippopotamus statue above the entrance. The lobby is furnished in a striking mix of old and new furniture, with a couple of stylish motor bikes added for good measure. The reception staff are friendly and smart.
Wellington's handsome modern museum is opposite the hotel, so art lovers are undoubtedly a large part of the clientele. The hotel serves them well, because there are art works everywhere. And I mean real art -- paintings and sculpture that you actually want to look at, not the generic prints and other schlock that the great international chains typically serve up.
I had a lovely room, beautifully decorated, with a very large balcony. Attention to detail was evident everywhere, from the supremely comfortable bed to the speaker system for your ipod to the toiletry kit in the bathroom. The mini bar was one of the best stocked I have ever seen, and included such non-edible but potentially useful items as a plug adapter for foreign visitors' appliances. A good high speed internet connection is available in the rooms and in the lobby. The restaurant offered an excellent breakfast buffet, again far more imaginative than most hotels. The yoghurt was especially delicious!
The hotel is well situated, a stone's throw from the wharf and a few minutes walk from the central business district. This is a truly fine hotel, carefully planned, meticulously maintained, with a cool, informal atmosphere. And it is good value too. It was a real pleasure to stay here and I just wish there were more like it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IanWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Lovely hotel, great location, friendly front desk staff - bedrooms smaller than desired in apartment but great overall

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Even though we are Wellington residents, I booked my husband and I an overnight stay at the Museum Hotel for the RWC finals weekend and it ended up being a wonderful stay as well as a romantic getaway.
The staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms immaculate and the facilities fantastic. We were in a residential room which comes with, amongst other things, a dishwasher, small stove top, washing machine, coffee machine, WiFi, mini bar fridge and draw! complete with everything from toothpaste to Durex and snacks, something for all occasions. And don't get me started on the spa bath.....
What a wonderful way to spend an impromptu night away. I would do it again in a heartbeat. You just have to experience this Hotel for yourself.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, and if you want a view good view of the harbor you only have to cross th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LvdW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Not only does this hotel have an ambience that is unique with a large range of art works and scupltures, it also has everything that is required for a more than comfortable stay.The front desk staff are also charming and helpful whilst the position is pretty faultless, directly opposite Te Papa and the waterfront.
Food in the Hippopotamus French Restaurnt was delicious.If there is a better hotel in Wellington then i would like to see it.

Room Tip: residential wing has wasshing facilities in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Whenever I visit Wellington I always stay at the Musuem Hotel. It is just so much better than the bland standard hotels in the rest of the city. From the artwork to the gorgeous chandaliers, this place is a cut above. I think the restaurant is a little pricey but a nice experience only if you only do it once. I always stay in the residence wing and the rooms are more than adequate.

My only advice to the hotel would be that they should have some sort of computer system where they know if you are a repeat guest. I travel alot for my job and it is always nice to be acknowledged as a returning guest. Every time I check in, I am asked if I have stayed at the hotel before.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylorsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,908 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $153 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing