We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Local”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Wellington
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good Local”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Clean, but older style Hotel - Staff friendly and helpful. Good location, handy to shopping, restaurants and bars. Onsite Restaurant food was ok - we tried breakfast and dinner, wine was expensive though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Jo E,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us particularly the location and the meal you had in our restaurant. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to seeing you back at Mercure Wellington soon.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    371
    347
    122
    65
See reviews for
267
325
107
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

While the location at the Te Aro end of The Terrace allows easier access to the airport than other city hotels, it is also a little further from work places and venues in Wellington Central. The hill walk is exhilarating and luckily taxis are available.

Staff are friendly if busy at peak times, and restaurant resources are pleasant with views, and good for social occasions or one-off events.

Rooms are on the tired side, but sufficient, and service is adequate. A downside is the noisy lift that sounds like a chainsaw murderer and it starts up at around 6. This hotel is for early risers. The aircon is also noisy for sensitive sleepers.

Overall, this represents value for money, despite minor reservations than many people will be able to cope with.

Room Tip: Use the word 'quietest' in bookings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear MartinA,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel and managed to get out and about to many of Wellington's attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My mum sister and I stayed here when we travelled to see Annie! the musical in Wellington. We had triple room with a rollaway bed and two doubles all of which were very comfortable! Even the rollaway. We were pleasantly suprised by the ranch of breakfast foods available its the best range I have seen in a NZ hotel. We also ate dinner in the hotel one night which was a lovely meal as well. The decor is a little dated but not really an issue. Hotel has a pool which was lovely and warm and a sauna which wasn't working too well. Staff at reception were fantastic! Very friendly and incredibly helpful. We didn't have a vehicle so we made use of the public transport which was close by and easy to use. Short walk to Cuba St mall and Courtney Place. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Holly M,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback with regards to your recent stay at Mercure Wellington. I trust that you enjoyed the show Annie! It seems as if you had a great time in the capital and managed to enjoy yourself while staying with us.

I have shared your comments with all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Wellington again soon.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#12 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.7 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Wellington

Property: Grand Mercure Wellington
Address: 345 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Mercure Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Wellington will rebrand to Grand Mercure Wellington from 1 May following a multimillion dollar refurbishment. The upscale hotel is a short walk to the CBD and the cosmopolitan Cuba Quarter, with beautiful panoramic views over the city and harbour. The Cuba and Willis St shopping precincts which meander through artisan food and craft beer producers to Te Papa and the city’s waterfront provide the best experience of Wellington by foot. New guest rooms provide elegant sanctuaries and Forage Kitchen+Bar shares a unique dining experience and panoramic views. There is Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel and secure, off street car parking is available. The indoor lap pool and fitness centre will be open from June. Grand Mercure Wellington is a destination ready to share stories through the design, cuisine and service of the hotel bringing to life the history and culture of the capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing