We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle of night clerk in” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Wellington
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Middle of night clerk in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Service was great, we arrived around 1 am, check in was smooth and easy. Only problem was the shower dripped all night. We would recommend this hotel. The room was a good size with chairs and table. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank gran42_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Gran42_12,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Wellington. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with all the Mercure team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you

Rob Poole

General Manager
Mercure Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    368
    346
    122
    65
See reviews for
266
321
106
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The reception and greeting was lovely and professional but the hotel itself is in need of a complete overhaul. Breakfast in the morning was overwhelming for the few staff managing it with no plates, very little food due to the business and when they did restock the hot breakfast was watery, bland and tasteless. This would not be your first option if you have a choice of accommodation

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWALK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear JWALK007,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Mercure Wellington. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure Wellington we strive to provide superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Mercure Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My partner and I spent three nights at this hotel recently. The hotel is about a 10 minute hilly walk to the central CBD. As check in is not until 2pm the hotel kindly held our bags until we were ready to check-in and helped us with navigating the city with a map.
Upon check-in the receptionist asked to take a copy of my Credit Card, this is standard and we were advised it would only be charged if unexpected costs / damages were to occur.

Overall the stay was pleasant, the room was cleaned daily and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

However, my Partner and I booked this hotel primarily because it had an indoor heated pool and sauna. We were both hugely disappointed to find the pool not heated and far too cold for any person to swim in during winter.

Upon arriving back home after our three nights away I checked my bank account to find there had been a $75 charge incurred on my credit card whilst our time away. My Partner phoned the hotel who advised they charge $25 per night on the credit card as a security fee and this all gets refunded within 5 days.
This came as a complete shock. As the hotel had a copy of our credit card I see no reason as to why they charge you $25 each night as a 'just in case'. This seems completely unjustified, I would have expected to have been told this upon checking or at least when making the booking online.

When my Partner suggested to the Receptionist over the telephone that perhaps they should advise their guests of this they said it was a fair suggestion and would pass it on.

Unfortunately the unexpected and unnecessary credit card charge has ruined my overall experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Hayley K,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Mercure Wellington and I am please that you found the Hotel to be good value for money. I am sorry about the issue with the pool the temperature is set for 28 degrees and we had not been made aware of any problems with the pool. As a precaution I have asked my maintenance staff to review this.

I am sorry the staff did not inform you that a authorisation would be held on your credit card this is not a charge and is released on departure. I have forwarded on your comments to my Front Office Manager to discuss with the team. I apologise that on this occasion, we have not met our usual standards.

We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington again soon.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Mercure Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North west
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is situated a bit of a walk away from the railway station and is up a bit of a hill.
It is very good value for money and the beds were comfy. The room service was great and the lemon tart was gorgeous. You get a mini bar so you can have snacks and drinks if you want you! Staff were nice and helpful. Could do with a touch up of paint, inside and out. Well worth the money and very good value for money-you get more than what you pay for!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bekaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Bekaking,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wellington. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Kind regards

Rob Poole

General Manager
Mercure Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This review is for Mercure, 345 The Terrace Wellington, I was moved here after booking into the Willis St just prior to the earthquake.

This hotel is a little bit up from the top of Cuba Street so as such is a bit of an amble into towns main bits but only around 10 mins, maybe not so good if you want to be in the thick of it but maybe ok if you want to be close but quiet in the evening.

Hotel room good size, very clean, tidy all the usual amenities, great to see Fair Trade products in the provided tea/coffee/hot choc etc. and also the little tubs of milk were real milk not UHT, another plus point.

Bed very comfy, plenty of pillows with an extra one in the cupboard and a blanket too for the evening.

Great view from room not over water etc. but 6th over the near by neighbor hood was very enjoyable on a sunny winters day.

Reception is on level 5, I was on level 6 in room 611. to go out of the hotel down to town you can get a lift from by the reception down to ground level, proper ground level not ground level as per reception on level 5, you drive up the hill to get to reception :0) a little confusing but very Wellington. The lift does shut off in the evening however, so if you think you going to have a few drinkies with dinner best to check the time with reception or it is a steep hill to walk up the road on one side or many steps up the hill on the other side of the hotel.

Hotel has a pool on bottom level with a sauna and a small gym, enough machines for what you would want to do though.

A little tired around the edges in the pool area and no cctv which was a bit nerve racking being the only one there early on a Sunday morning too but overall I felt safe and secure in the hotel as a female lone traveler.

have to say reception staff were very helpful with all my queries, provided me with a map and helped me orientate myself and know where to find things in the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KikiBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear KikiBNZ,

Thank you for posting such informative feedback on the Hotel. It is great to see that you appreciate the Fair Trade products we have in all our guest rooms and that we provide real milk.

We very much appreciate the comments you made and look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington the next time you are in the Capital.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Mercure Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights. Unit was clean and fresh. Heating worked well. Had breakfast one morning, which I found a bit overpriced for a very basic selection. Ate out all over wellington so no review for restaurant. Overall a good stay would definitely stay again. Staff very helpful and friendly. Short walk to town so you can easily walk off your huge meals. Watch out for the hills though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Rumple4skin,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Mercure Wellington. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and the service provided by my team. It is great to see that you managed to get out and about and enjoy many of our fantastic cafes and restaurants we have in the Capital.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington again soon.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Mercure Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.7 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.2 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington

Property: Mercure Wellington
Address: 345 The Terrace | PO Box 6753, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Wellington enjoys a prime location at the top of the Terrace with spectacular views over the city and harbour. This charming hotel is an easy walk to the Cuba Quarter, funky boutiques, shops and famous Wellington attractions such as TePapa, Waterfront, Westpac Stadium, Courtenay Place and the theatre district. If you are looking for an ideal holiday destination with your family, the Mercure Wellington is a perfect place for you to stay and explore the Wellington area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing