We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality rooms plus a swimming pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Wellington
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality rooms plus a swimming pool”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Its a hard decision when going to Wellington to stay at the Mercure on Willis or the Mercure on The Terrace.Willis St tends to always be a bit cheaper but the one on The Terrace does have a swimming pool next to its gym as the main attraction for me. There is sauna also though I have never used it. If you can ask for the rooms that face the city, the view can be quite nice and a few of the corner rooms are bigger with a suite. Its not actually that much further to walk into the city compared to staying at the James Cook and Novotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeikoLade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Heikolade,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Mercure Wellington and Mercure Willis Street. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the pool, gym, sauna facilities and the location of the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington again in the near future.

Kind regards

Rob Poole

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    370
    347
    122
    65
See reviews for
266
324
107
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geraldine, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

On arrival we were upgraded which was a nice surprise !
The room was well laid out and more than adequate for our one night stay.
Despite being at the rear of the building, there was some street noise which did interfere with sleep quality, but you have to expect that on a busy Saturday night in a central city location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DH1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear DH1958,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington again the next time you are travelling up from Geraldine.

Kind regards

Rob Poole

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is an older hotel, and it does not pretend not to be with its rating being 3 stars.
Thus its rating is for a hotel of its age and rating
Do not discount it as a stay option. It is clean, handy to things (yes there is a hill, wellington has hills everywhere, and if you get a room on the eastern or north eastern corner, you are scoring a great view
The pool is ideal for the fitness guru, and they tag in a suitable wee gym

Room Tip: eastern side, go for height. these rooms give city and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Joe W,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Wellington. I am pleased that the service provided by my team and the cleanliness of the rooms met your expectations. It is also good to note that you had time to use the Hotel facilities including the pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are down in the Capital.

Kind regards

Rob Poole

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

1st time I've stayed at this hotel. I chose it because I was looking for somewhere with a secure carpark onsite. I managed to secure a competitive rate through the Accor website. Reception staff very friendly. Room a bit tired but clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank KiwiAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear KiwiAlex,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again for many more visits.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stay regualrly here and the staff bend over backwards to assist you. The rooms are reasonable quality, if a little tired in decor. The bathrooms could do with an upgrade but are clean and serivceable. My only complaint was that the aircon was not working on a very hot day. At least I could open windows but at night it is noisey to have them open in the bedroom.

The Mecure is certainly a good reeasonably priced place to stay. I recommend it and is one of me regular hotels I stay at in Wellington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback with regards to your recent stay. I would like to also thank you for your continued support and loyalty to the Hotel. The team are always willing to assist and I will forward your comments onto to them.

I am sorry about the air conditioning if you can contact me off line on rob.poole@accor.com to let me know which room you stayed in, so I can get the maintenance team to look at the problem.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington the next time you are in the Capital.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just stayed the one night to attend a function at the University. Room was ok - a bit tired but fine for the price. Got really hot in the night so the debate was loud air con v overheated room. Easy to get to off the motorway and we found the parking very easy. Didn't eat at the hotel or use any of the facilities. Would be happy to return again next time we need a bed in Wellington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank franklin_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Franklin_family,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Wellington has been experiencing some very warm days which have been a challenge, I have asked my maintenance team to look into the air condition issues in your room.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are down from Napier.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had to travel to Wellington unexpectedly and found it quite difficult to get last minute accommodation. The Mercure did have rooms at a reasonable cost fairly close to where I needed to spend part of my time. That said, the walk in any direction was very hilly. I slept 2 nights in one room and found the air conditioning wasn't working on the second night. Ordinarily you don't need air con in Wellington but the weather was particularly warm which made the room stuffy and uncomfortable. I was moved without fuss the next day to another room on a higher floor offering a nice view.

I ate dinner one night and breakfast one morning in the restaurant. The food was pretty good but I found the service to be below average. I was seated smack bang in the middle of the restaurant, with no-one else around me and felt quite conspicuous as a woman traveling on my own. Tables came up by the windows which had lovely views about 5 minutes after I was seated but there was no offer to move me despite having asked for a window table.

The rooms had wired internet which was no good to me as I travel with a tablet as I'm sure many others do. There is free wi-fi in the public areas for 30 minutes but this can only be accessed once per day.

Overall, it was ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Fussyvoyager,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Wellington. I am sorry that your air conditioning was not functioning but it is pleasing to note that this was quickly resolved by my staff. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will us this information to do everything possible to create a more enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#12 of 46 in Wellington
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.7 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington

Property: Mercure Wellington
Address: 345 The Terrace | PO Box 6753, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Wellington is a short walk to the CBD and the funky Cuba Quarter, with beautiful panoramic views over the city and harbour. The Cuba and Willis St shopping precincts, the Cable Car and waterfront are all nearby. The hotel is currently undergoing a significant refurbishment, transforming the guest rooms into elegant sanctuaries. Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel and secure, off street car parking is available. Mercure Wellington is one of the capital's most conveniently located accommodation options for couples, business travellers and families - offering easy access to local attractions and central city businesses by foot, car and public transport. Take a stroll through the city to enjoy fine dining and exceptional shopping, or experience some of the capital's cultural attractions at nearby Te Papa Museum. Just 20-minutes from the airport, and a 15-minute drive to New Zealand's iconic Weta Workshop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing