We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Average accomodation in a good spot in Wellington. Rooms are quite small and the air conditioning was impossible to control. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,012 - 3,018 of 3,131 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

We arrived after a 7 hour journey on a beautiful sunny day. Were more than a little disappointed to walk into a sweatbox room, stuffy and headache inducing. Sure, the air conditioning WAS working, but how hard would it be for staff to turn it on half an hour before guests are due to check in.
More tea/coffee/ milk would be a help too, the amounts of each seemed very miserly considering the cost per night.
Also was a bit disgusted to find a long black hair in the bath when I showered in the morning, not mine, not my husbands, eeewww.
The central location is great though, elevators to Lambton Quay mean you can leave the car and 'leg it' everywhere. And there are plenty of cafes and eateries withing a comfortable walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandomDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Beher-Manager, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. It is through such feedback that the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor may improve our service and product standards. I have investigated the concerns you have raised in your review. As a Silver certified member of both Greenglobe and Qualmark, the Hotel minimizes our environmental footprint by conserving energy consumption when a room is unoccupied. In relation to finding a hair in the shower, we are very concerned to read of this review given our stringent housekeeping practices at the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. Once again, my apology that your experience was not up to your expectation. We would welcome the opportunity to have you visit our Hotel again and experience the true Hotel Grand Chancellor hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I stayed at the James Cook for two nights this weekend. I had a King Bed room on the Northern side of the hotel, with a view down The Terrace, with a glimpse of Wellington Harbour. I could not fault the hotel or my stay in any way. The room looked newly refurbished, nice fresh furnishings, big bed and flat screen TV. Its a breeze arriving at this hotel off the M1. Take the Terrace exit and you literally arrive at the door of the James Cook. A seperate elevator off the lobby takes you down to shopping central on Lambton Quay. Valet parking was quick and it only took 2 minutes max for the guys to retrieve my car. I wouldnt think of staying anywhere else in Wellington..

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musclebearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The location of this hotel in Wellington is the Best! Within walking distance to most every attraction and good restaurants. The morning buffet breakfast is okay, lots of stand-bys like oatmeal and bacon and scrambled eggs; the waiters are chatty. But, for the price, the value just isn't there. One of the concierge was abrupt with us, even to send us in the wrong direction. The room looked out onto another building, lacking in any charm. Doors on both rooms on either side squeeked and grated when opened. We were supposed to spend 3 pleasant nights at this hotel but ended up leaving a day early, just too disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toniasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I don't often feel compeled to write reviews but the stay that we just experienced at the James Cook was below what I would have expected. We stayed for two nights in a suite with our young child. The suite was well appointed and nice.

However, when we arrived we were told that our room was still occupied and we would have to wait. No problem as it was after 12pm but before 2pm, however, would have expected better. When we eventually got to our room there was no welcome fruit and chocolates as promised, just a couple of old looking apples. Apparently the welcome basket wasn't attached to the reservation as promised. Oh well. The room obviously wasn't cleaned properly as there was a old shoe box from the last occupants and envelopes and mail in the bedside draw (I hope Vanessa had a nice wedding!). To top it all off we were then told that we had used the mini bar and owed money for that as well. We explained that the room wasn't serviced properly and we certainly hadn't used the mini bar. We thought all was settled but then I have just checked my credit card statement and there is the charge for the mini bar! Thanks James Cook Hotel.

On the positive side the bed was large and nice, the view was good, the location was good and the restaurant not bad either.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Good hotel in a good location. No view to speak of, but has a lift that takes you right into the main shopping strip in Wellington. Walking distance to a lot of attractions (Cable car,
Te Papa Museum, Oriental Pde, The Beehive). We recommend the king-sized bed option as it is so much more roomy than the 2 double beds we were given last time we stayed there. Staff were very efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravelBriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed in Wellington for the last 2 nights of our NZ Vacation & Chose the James Cook due to very central location.The hotel was very busy during our stay but you never felt swamped, only hiccup was 1 elevator being out of service & as we stayed on the 26th floor this cause some big delays. Hotel is well suited for Lambton Quay with seperate elvators taking you to this level,Check in & out was prompt & professional. Rooms were large enough & well appointed, i was less a fan of the bathrooms as there is not a real shower, only a shower within a tub.We were upgraded to club level & this included access to Club lounge, which was nice for evening free wine & appetisers.Less good was no free wifi access, internet access was free with pac broadband connection or using the antiuated club lounge pc, but with ipad we needed wifi, this should be asy enough for them to correct.
All in all an above average central Wellington location.
Tip Try Shed 5 close by for an excellent sea food meal at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njhammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,927 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $96 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. Lift Upgrade Schedule Please note, the hotel is currently replacing all elevators until later in 2018. The schedule has allowed at least one working elevator for each hotel wing throughout the duration of the upgrade. The lift access to Lambton Quay is currently serviced by one elevator. All floors will still be accessible by guests however please note that some delays may be expected during peak times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing