We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This central-downtown hotel was a perfect location for our vacation trip. We literally walked everywhere. The lift down to Lambdon Quay was a step-saver in this very hilly city. Rooms perhaps on the small side, though that may be because there were three adults in one room (two double beds). Beds were comfortable, housekeeping was generous with towels. Business center was usually available, tho with the irritating fee now charged at many establishments.
We booked the hotel via Expedia for $100 a night, which was a bargain for our 8-night stay.
We did NOT try the restaurants, mostly because there were so many excellent dining options from the waterfront to Cuba Street.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakota1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,083 - 3,089 of 3,187 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2010

We used this hotel as out base for looking around Wellington for a couple of days, its a nice city centre hotel with a useful back entrance/exit right onto the main shopping street of wellington. Its a large hotel part of a major chain so misses some of the small nice finishes however still a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mully1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

I have just spent 2 nights at the James Cook Wellington.Right from the start staff were polite and helpful.Dinner was lovely, breakfast great too.To be honest I could not fault this hotel. Location is fantastic, down the lift and you are at the shops. Room was good also.Would recommend and stay again

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This hotel is old dirty and unkept. The staff are rude and unprofessional. It should also be noted somehwere that the hotel has floor to ceiling glass corridors which you have to go through to get to your room so if you have a fear of heights I would avoid. Will never even consider this place again. Moved out due to not getting what we paid for and the airconditioning not working. Stay at the holiday inn 100% better

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teajai01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCMarketing, Group Marketing Manager on behalf of General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2010

The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is a Qualmark certified Four Star Plus hotel and has met a number of stringent guidelines in product and service to obtain this rating.

On the original reservation received from the agent, unfortunately we were not advised of the request for a disability-access or low floor room. We attempted to rectify this by offering the guest a choice of different rooms, which the guest declined. As the guest was still unhappy, we worked with their agent to remedy the situation and offered a change of hotel and refund of the nights’ accommodation.

Stiphan Beher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel to be well-placed. Breakfast was very good and wide-ranging and one evening we dined at the buffet, which was excellent and good value for money. Rooms were spacious and clean - what more could anyone want?

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACJHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

When we booked in, they told us we had no booking, inspite of the fact it was paid in advance. The manager and duty manager were like amateurs. Services at the front desk were minimal. Give Breakfast and lunch a miss. The food appears to be left overs. not at all appertising.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamptonMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Just got back from spending 3 days at this Hotel, we found the staff very friendly and helpful. We asked after the first night if we could move rooms as the bed made a shocking noise every time my husband move, this was no problem and we where moved without any fuss.
I must agree that the breakfast was awful, the coffee was undrinkable !
The rooms where clean and tidy I have no complaints there.
My husband and I had the Spa package, this was lovely, again the staff where lovely and the massage's where first class !

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kolbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $88 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. Lift Upgrade Schedule Please note, the hotel is currently replacing all elevators until later in 2018. The schedule has allowed at least one working elevator for each hotel wing throughout the duration of the upgrade. The lift access to Lambton Quay is currently serviced by one elevator. All floors will still be accessible by guests however please note that some delays may be expected during peak times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing