We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Shame about the paper thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Booked into the James Cook because it was close to the Stadium for the ACDC concert - also figured all the Boguns would be in cheaper accommodation! Unfortunately had 3 young lads in the room next to us who partied all night. That wasn't too bad but the walls were so thin we could hear every word (even the fact that one of them had been kicked out of the concert - & he seemed proud of himself!).
Have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world & this was (I thought) one of the higher class & yet was the worst for sound insulation I've ever slept in.
When I mentioned it to the receptionist she made some bland comment about "most of the rooms are sound proof, maybe not that one" Great so we got the only one with thin walls - yeah right!
Would still recommend the hotel but not on a busy night in Wellington & probably wouldn't go back myself.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carterboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,984)
There are newer reviews for James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,893 - 2,899 of 2,984 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2010

This hotel is value for money. Really good towels, okay pillows, comfy bed, tiny TV and not an overly large room. The breakfast which was included in the room rate was very good, as was the service. The staff running the breakfast room do a great job. The room was very clean if a little on the small side. Location is excellent. Valet parking was also included in the room rate. Although I wouldn't rate the hotel 5 star I would definitely stay here again as it was great value for money and the location is excellent.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank vickilovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

A bit overpriced for the location and complete lack of things to do in wellington. Depiste being able to find more things to do locked in a jail, the hotel gave some positives to our stay in Wellington. The free parkig and breakfast deal was brilliant. Breakfast was simply superb so do check out any offers they have. The staff were very helpful however the miriad of entrances in and out of the hotel, via car park, can get you lost so a GPS devide could be quite a handful. We had a late checkout which was nice too. The room was smart with a lovely big bathroom and nice beds with a million and one pillows. We werent bothered about the view as we had hoped to do some sightseeing. This hotel is great but I would avoid Wellington at all costs, unless you are into art, because despite the cable car and botanic gardens, Wellywood has absolutely nothing going for it. Sorry Peter Jackson!!!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank majormoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

we enjoyed our 3 night stay here. Good location, just an elevator ride down to Lambton Quay, you are in the centre of Wellington. MacDonalds close by if you want some junk food. Two good bookshops nearby Whitcoulls and Borders. 15 min walk to Courtenay Place where the cinemas and a lot more restaurants. As we were there over the New Year break a lot of nearby restaurants were shut. But we really didn't have far to go to have something to eat and the hotel restaurant was open. We used valet parking on the recommendation of friends who had stayed here before and said parking was tight. We would stay here again! Just hope the weather is nicer next time!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndAkiAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed at the hotel from News Years Eve for a couple of days. The hotel has had a recent facelift but unfortunately the service was a little slow at times. Considering it was the new year coming up they only had one person the front desk. On checkout there was no concierge or porter so we had to lug our 5 bags downstairs ourselves. Not good considering we had been travelling for 2.5 weeks! Our room was on the 24th floor & I though it was strange that they had a wind-out window partly open at the end of the corridor. It wasn't a small one either, we did try closing it but to no avail. Not even the staff could do anything about it! The fact that there were howling winds didn't make it any easier..Surviving that however, the meals were good & the room was large, spacious & clean. The only pitfall was the lack of service but I guess some staff didn't want to work over the holidays. Breakfast was offered in the mornings & the staff there were wonderful. A large spread was put on
The hotel is located in the Lambton Quay district which is great for shopping but unfortunately most stores were closed because of the public holidays. However it was a short walk to Courtney Place & the tourist attractions are also a close walk. All in all you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walshes_184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Good service, though a litle slower than expected getting my car on checkout, but as soon as I asked, it was looked into immediately. Accidentally got charged twice for the room - through needitnow.com then again on checkout, but no hassle getting the refund. Have stayed there previously for business and never had any problems. Easy walk to places like Te Papa, Cuba Mall, Courtney place, abundance of restaurants in the area, and the hotel has lift access directly to Lambton Quay. Was a little disappointed there was no pool.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparkleintheDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Being locals, and after a bit of careful consideration and looking around Wellington City we decided to book into the James Cook Hotel as a treat for our wedding night. The location was perfect as is so central to town and close to our venue. The staff were fantastic letting us check in early, and we were even delivered a complimentary bottle of bubbles! The room was lovely and spacious with stunning views over looking Wellington harbour and my partner and I were SO glad we decided to stay at the James Cook. It made for the perfect end to a great day/night. Convenient parking in the building, and great desk/porter service also made for a very stress free visit.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreeneyesWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,886 reviews
0.7 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#12 of 46 in Wellington
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $100 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing