We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,575)
Filter reviews
3,575 results
Traveler rating
1,067
1,576
679
171
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
1,576
679
171
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lambton quay great location valet parking central location would stay again bit dated cable car buffet breakfast the club lounge easy access pleasant stay good size business trip te papa new zealand lift motorway
Filter
Updating list...
3,481 - 3,486 of 3,575 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2010

A bit overpriced for the location and complete lack of things to do in wellington. Depiste being able to find more things to do locked in a jail, the hotel gave some positives to our stay in Wellington. The free parkig and breakfast deal was brilliant. Breakfast was simply superb so do check out any offers they have. The staff were very helpful however the miriad of entrances in and out of the hotel, via car park, can get you lost so a GPS devide could be quite a handful. We had a late checkout which was nice too. The room was smart with a lovely big bathroom and nice beds with a million and one pillows. We werent bothered about the view as we had hoped to do some sightseeing. This hotel is great but I would avoid Wellington at all costs, unless you are into art, because despite the cable car and botanic gardens, Wellywood has absolutely nothing going for it. Sorry Peter Jackson!!!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank majormoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

we enjoyed our 3 night stay here. Good location, just an elevator ride down to Lambton Quay, you are in the centre of Wellington. MacDonalds close by if you want some junk food. Two good bookshops nearby Whitcoulls and Borders. 15 min walk to Courtenay Place where the cinemas and a lot more restaurants. As we were there over the New Year break a lot of nearby restaurants were shut. But we really didn't have far to go to have something to eat and the hotel restaurant was open. We used valet parking on the recommendation of friends who had stayed here before and said parking was tight. We would stay here again! Just hope the weather is nicer next time!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndAkiAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed at the hotel from News Years Eve for a couple of days. The hotel has had a recent facelift but unfortunately the service was a little slow at times. Considering it was the new year coming up they only had one person the front desk. On checkout there was no concierge or porter so we had to lug our 5 bags downstairs ourselves. Not good considering we had been travelling for 2.5 weeks! Our room was on the 24th floor & I though it was strange that they had a wind-out window partly open at the end of the corridor. It wasn't a small one either, we did try closing it but to no avail. Not even the staff could do anything about it! The fact that there were howling winds didn't make it any easier..Surviving that however, the meals were good & the room was large, spacious & clean. The only pitfall was the lack of service but I guess some staff didn't want to work over the holidays. Breakfast was offered in the mornings & the staff there were wonderful. A large spread was put on
The hotel is located in the Lambton Quay district which is great for shopping but unfortunately most stores were closed because of the public holidays. However it was a short walk to Courtney Place & the tourist attractions are also a close walk. All in all you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walshes_184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Good service, though a litle slower than expected getting my car on checkout, but as soon as I asked, it was looked into immediately. Accidentally got charged twice for the room - through needitnow.com then again on checkout, but no hassle getting the refund. Have stayed there previously for business and never had any problems. Easy walk to places like Te Papa, Cuba Mall, Courtney place, abundance of restaurants in the area, and the hotel has lift access directly to Lambton Quay. Was a little disappointed there was no pool.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparkleintheDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Being locals, and after a bit of careful consideration and looking around Wellington City we decided to book into the James Cook Hotel as a treat for our wedding night. The location was perfect as is so central to town and close to our venue. The staff were fantastic letting us check in early, and we were even delivered a complimentary bottle of bubbles! The room was lovely and spacious with stunning views over looking Wellington harbour and my partner and I were SO glad we decided to stay at the James Cook. It made for the perfect end to a great day/night. Convenient parking in the building, and great desk/porter service also made for a very stress free visit.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreeneyesWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews