We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but service wasn't always there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location but service wasn't always there”
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed at the hotel from News Years Eve for a couple of days. The hotel has had a recent facelift but unfortunately the service was a little slow at times. Considering it was the new year coming up they only had one person the front desk. On checkout there was no concierge or porter so we had to lug our 5 bags downstairs ourselves. Not good considering we had been travelling for 2.5 weeks! Our room was on the 24th floor & I though it was strange that they had a wind-out window partly open at the end of the corridor. It wasn't a small one either, we did try closing it but to no avail. Not even the staff could do anything about it! The fact that there were howling winds didn't make it any easier..Surviving that however, the meals were good & the room was large, spacious & clean. The only pitfall was the lack of service but I guess some staff didn't want to work over the holidays. Breakfast was offered in the mornings & the staff there were wonderful. A large spread was put on
The hotel is located in the Lambton Quay district which is great for shopping but unfortunately most stores were closed because of the public holidays. However it was a short walk to Courtney Place & the tourist attractions are also a close walk. All in all you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walshes_184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    1,228
    536
    119
    54
See reviews for
532
922
133
793
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Good service, though a litle slower than expected getting my car on checkout, but as soon as I asked, it was looked into immediately. Accidentally got charged twice for the room - through needitnow.com then again on checkout, but no hassle getting the refund. Have stayed there previously for business and never had any problems. Easy walk to places like Te Papa, Cuba Mall, Courtney place, abundance of restaurants in the area, and the hotel has lift access directly to Lambton Quay. Was a little disappointed there was no pool.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkleintheDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Being locals, and after a bit of careful consideration and looking around Wellington City we decided to book into the James Cook Hotel as a treat for our wedding night. The location was perfect as is so central to town and close to our venue. The staff were fantastic letting us check in early, and we were even delivered a complimentary bottle of bubbles! The room was lovely and spacious with stunning views over looking Wellington harbour and my partner and I were SO glad we decided to stay at the James Cook. It made for the perfect end to a great day/night. Convenient parking in the building, and great desk/porter service also made for a very stress free visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreeneyesWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Very nicely appointed hotel. Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. We were traveling with friends and they thoughtfully gave us a connecting room. Nice desk area with all the amenities needed for a business travelor.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerston north,new zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Stayed here for one night as was in town to see the All Whites play.
Hotel so easy to find as it is just off the offramp of the motorway. Deal included Free valet parking and full buffet breakfast all for $165.
Really good value, good friendly service and excellent room and a great selection at Breakfast.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanedani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Booked in fairly late at a rate of NZ$120, so probably shouldn't be complaining. For sub-$100US in a city, it was a decent value. I made the mistake of "upgrading" for $20/night and, after going to my room and wondering what I just spent $20 on, went back to the front desk to ask. Seems that I was in a larger "king" room. Anyway ... no view of the harbor to be had; apparently another $20 would have gotten me that amenity.

Room was fairly tired in terms of furnishings and bathroom curtain was completely soiled on the bottom.

Pros: hotel was quiet and in a great location. Parking on-site for approx NZ $30/day, which wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glbtrttr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We recently spent 4 days at the James Cook.
We arrived at 1.15am to be told we had been upgraded from a superior to a Club Room, what a wonderful surprise.
Our room was spacious and very clean. It had everything we needed, including bathrobes and slippers.
We didn't have a view at all, which is a shame.
The bathroom was clean, the only thing I didn't like was the plastic shower curtain and shower over the bath, but that seems very common in NZ.
We ate breakfast at the loung each morning, which was wonderful. I also took advantage of the free interent there to keep in touch with home.
You could have snacks all day and from 5.30 or so hot nibbles and alcoholic drinks.
It was lovely just to chill out there and enjoy the view both day and night.
A quick elevator trip down and you were on Lambton Quay, a street which took you anywhere on Wellingtons exceeptional transport system. I would wander around for half a day, go back for a rest & a coffee in the lounge and then back out again, it was so convenient.
We ate twice at the restaurant, a very satisfying buffet ($39 a head).
The service from everyone at the hotel was excellent, especially the staff in the lounge. They helped with directions to various places.
Although this is an old hotel, we could not fault our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patkoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#12 of 46 in Wellington
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Property: James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing