We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Good service, though a litle slower than expected getting my car on checkout, but as soon as I asked, it was looked into immediately. Accidentally got charged twice for the room - through needitnow.com then again on checkout, but no hassle getting the refund. Have stayed there previously for business and never had any problems. Easy walk to places like Te Papa, Cuba Mall, Courtney place, abundance of restaurants in the area, and the hotel has lift access directly to Lambton Quay. Was a little disappointed there was no pool.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparkleintheDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,210 - 3,216 of 3,299 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2009

Being locals, and after a bit of careful consideration and looking around Wellington City we decided to book into the James Cook Hotel as a treat for our wedding night. The location was perfect as is so central to town and close to our venue. The staff were fantastic letting us check in early, and we were even delivered a complimentary bottle of bubbles! The room was lovely and spacious with stunning views over looking Wellington harbour and my partner and I were SO glad we decided to stay at the James Cook. It made for the perfect end to a great day/night. Convenient parking in the building, and great desk/porter service also made for a very stress free visit.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreeneyesWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Very nicely appointed hotel. Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. We were traveling with friends and they thoughtfully gave us a connecting room. Nice desk area with all the amenities needed for a business travelor.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallyruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Stayed here for one night as was in town to see the All Whites play.
Hotel so easy to find as it is just off the offramp of the motorway. Deal included Free valet parking and full buffet breakfast all for $165.
Really good value, good friendly service and excellent room and a great selection at Breakfast.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanedani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Booked in fairly late at a rate of NZ$120, so probably shouldn't be complaining. For sub-$100US in a city, it was a decent value. I made the mistake of "upgrading" for $20/night and, after going to my room and wondering what I just spent $20 on, went back to the front desk to ask. Seems that I was in a larger "king" room. Anyway ... no view of the harbor to be had; apparently another $20 would have gotten me that amenity.

Room was fairly tired in terms of furnishings and bathroom curtain was completely soiled on the bottom.

Pros: hotel was quiet and in a great location. Parking on-site for approx NZ $30/day, which wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glbtrttr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We recently spent 4 days at the James Cook.
We arrived at 1.15am to be told we had been upgraded from a superior to a Club Room, what a wonderful surprise.
Our room was spacious and very clean. It had everything we needed, including bathrobes and slippers.
We didn't have a view at all, which is a shame.
The bathroom was clean, the only thing I didn't like was the plastic shower curtain and shower over the bath, but that seems very common in NZ.
We ate breakfast at the loung each morning, which was wonderful. I also took advantage of the free interent there to keep in touch with home.
You could have snacks all day and from 5.30 or so hot nibbles and alcoholic drinks.
It was lovely just to chill out there and enjoy the view both day and night.
A quick elevator trip down and you were on Lambton Quay, a street which took you anywhere on Wellingtons exceeptional transport system. I would wander around for half a day, go back for a rest & a coffee in the lounge and then back out again, it was so convenient.
We ate twice at the restaurant, a very satisfying buffet ($39 a head).
The service from everyone at the hotel was excellent, especially the staff in the lounge. They helped with directions to various places.
Although this is an old hotel, we could not fault our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patkoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The final stop in our Journey through the North Island was the James Cook. We were upgraded on arrival to an executive room and took advantage of the Club Lounge facilities on the top floor (free breakfast and drinks, etc). Views from the room were lovely and location is suprisingly convenient, if a bit hard to find at first if you are not from Wellington!
Service was 100%, with concierge going the extra mile a few times for us finding some unusual destination requests.
Room presentation was good, although a smaller TV than expected in the room (as per normal in NZ it seems). Bathroom did look a little tired, but very clean and all was working.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $108 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. Lift Upgrade Schedule Please note, the hotel is currently replacing all elevators until later in 2018. The schedule has allowed at least one working elevator for each hotel wing throughout the duration of the upgrade. The lift access to Lambton Quay is currently serviced by one elevator. All floors will still be accessible by guests however please note that some delays may be expected during peak times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing