We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We recently spent 4 days at the James Cook.
We arrived at 1.15am to be told we had been upgraded from a superior to a Club Room, what a wonderful surprise.
Our room was spacious and very clean. It had everything we needed, including bathrobes and slippers.
We didn't have a view at all, which is a shame.
The bathroom was clean, the only thing I didn't like was the plastic shower curtain and shower over the bath, but that seems very common in NZ.
We ate breakfast at the loung each morning, which was wonderful. I also took advantage of the free interent there to keep in touch with home.
You could have snacks all day and from 5.30 or so hot nibbles and alcoholic drinks.
It was lovely just to chill out there and enjoy the view both day and night.
A quick elevator trip down and you were on Lambton Quay, a street which took you anywhere on Wellingtons exceeptional transport system. I would wander around for half a day, go back for a rest & a coffee in the lounge and then back out again, it was so convenient.
We ate twice at the restaurant, a very satisfying buffet ($39 a head).
The service from everyone at the hotel was excellent, especially the staff in the lounge. They helped with directions to various places.
Although this is an old hotel, we could not fault our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patkoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,215 - 3,221 of 3,299 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

The final stop in our Journey through the North Island was the James Cook. We were upgraded on arrival to an executive room and took advantage of the Club Lounge facilities on the top floor (free breakfast and drinks, etc). Views from the room were lovely and location is suprisingly convenient, if a bit hard to find at first if you are not from Wellington!
Service was 100%, with concierge going the extra mile a few times for us finding some unusual destination requests.
Room presentation was good, although a smaller TV than expected in the room (as per normal in NZ it seems). Bathroom did look a little tired, but very clean and all was working.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I had read previous reviews but decided to stay here due to the central location. We drove straight off the motorway into the hotel entrance and our car was valet parked ($18) - almost too easy. Our room had 2 double beds and was certainly adequate for my daughter and myself. I agree the rooms are small, but that is to be expected in central city hotels - room size was fine for 2 of us, but would have been cramped with 4 people. The bathroom was adequate and met our needs, the gym had good equipment for a workout. We did not eat any meals in the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant. For a central city location where I could leave the car parked and walk everywhere, James Cook Hotel is great.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

This could have been any other business hotel anywhere else in the world. Our room was nice and a fairly good price. The bathroom was uselessly small - don't expect to shower unless you are shorter than 5'. I still find it abysmal (and this is no reflection per se on the James Cook) that any major hotel charges for internet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abates25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Centrally located for shopping, bit of a walk to find food at night. Our room consisted of 2 double beds and was well decorated. $129 NZ a night. $18 per day parking. We ate at the restaurant one night, $40NZ for the buffet. Good range of food - don't see the old buffet too much these days. We struggled to get the temperature of the room right. Too noisy to have the window open at night. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi_karyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Odd hotel set up. Restaurant on upper floor and looks more like a cafeteria. Decent location near stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Its very difficult to write anything about this hotel as everything about it was just so average. We stayed for 3 nights as part of a longer trip. The room was avergae size and felt neither spotlessly clean or particularly dirty. Bed was Ok. Location was convenient for most things and it was easy to walk down to the harbour. I would recommend the local brewery pub and their taster tray. The Museum was also good although the squid was a bit of a let down in its display case. I am not sure we ever saw another guest in the hotel and the bar in the lobby was always closed. Perfectly adequate but just a bit grey and soul less.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $108 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. Lift Upgrade Schedule Please note, the hotel is currently replacing all elevators until later in 2018. The schedule has allowed at least one working elevator for each hotel wing throughout the duration of the upgrade. The lift access to Lambton Quay is currently serviced by one elevator. All floors will still be accessible by guests however please note that some delays may be expected during peak times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing