We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,635)
Filter reviews
3,637 results
Traveler rating
1,092
1,598
688
174
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,092
1,598
688
174
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lambton quay valet parking great location central location bit dated buffet breakfast cable car easy access the club lounge pleasant stay good size business trip would stay again te papa new zealand lift conference
Filter
Updating list...
3,055 - 3,060 of 3,637 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed in a twin room on the terrace side of the hotel. The room was nice and quiet, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the room rate and it was pretty good, but let down by small things (coffee wasn't hot, and choice of bread for toast was very average). All in all, Ithought this hotel was in a good location and was good value for money.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furry90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

An excellent location for sight seeing. Easy walking distance to vernacular train to botanical gardens and to houses of parliament.
Excellent buffet dinner which was an Indian theme on our visit. Spent a lot of time in lifts.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

If your thinking of parking your car in the Wilson car park which is attached to the hotel for any length of time/overnight, make sure you get valet parking at $27 a day. I got stung for $48 for overnight parking ...only afterwards did I notice the valet option. Hotel is ok, central enough, rooms are a good size, windows can be opened to allow fresh air too. Its a bit weird that the lobby, foyer, downstairs bar/breakfast area is also a thoroughfare for pedestrians trying to get from one level of the street to another, takes some of the ambience away, its more like sitting down for a meal or a drink in a train station at times.

Room tip: High up is away from traffic noise.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YnotNorthofAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello there

I’m sorry that you ended up paying more than you needed to for parking. Next time please just pull up outside our main doors and our Concierge staff will valet park for you (as you have correctly said the current price is $27.00 for 24 hours).

As a consequence of our central location we do have many pedestrians passing through our lobby each day, as people make their way between Lambton Quay (CBD) and The Terrace (predominately offices). Sitting in Sojourn Café & Bar (in our lobby) is great for people watching and does add a certain vibe to the hotel. However if you prefer a quieter experience Whitby’s restaurant and bar is available on our 17th floor.

I hope we will see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

3 nights in a triple share room - a little squishy, but clean and well presented every day. Chose this hotel because of it's location and it didn't disappoint. Have stayed here before so knew just what it was that three (mature) ladies might need to make it a comfortable trip. Shopping and so many shoes (wow) we just didn't have time to try them all out. Restaurants and cafe's abound all within easy access. Cable car close by but we couldn't leave the shops to even give it a go. Fabulous weather during our visit last weekend 32/5 - 2/6. Helpful staff and housekeeping great. 1st hotel we have come across in a while that fully makes all beds every day with clean pillowcases daily and lovely (no bleach smelling) towels. Soundproofing is a bit light especially when children use the hallways to play in - but we just went shopping when it got too noisy :) Reception gave us a maximum fare ticket to the airport which cost us $30. Good value all way round. We (at least I) will be back there again next year. Pity the 17th floor has lost its view of the harbor. Spent many hours just looking out with a coffee or a drink - now little or no view of the water due to building in front. :(

Room tip: If for three suggest a suite rather than a room - a little squishy for 3 adults. Terrace rooms fine as no longer much of a view city side.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

James Cook is in an excellent location and if driving it is a perfect place to drive in and have the car parked. walking access to CBD is easy and the location for cafes, restaurants, shopping, walking and the harbour is fabulous. the sound proofing between rooms is not great - but the fridge was the quietest we have ever experienced in a hotel room.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews