We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious hotel in the middle of wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

A big and nice luxurious hotel in the middle of wellington, with clean rooms and comfortable beds at a reasonable price. The hotel is located close to the shopping areas of Wellington. 5 min walk down to the water front. Good value for money

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello Kristian R

Thank you for your review, I’m pleased that you enjoyed our central location and I hope that we will see you back to stay with us again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,553 - 2,559 of 3,132 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed in a twin room on the terrace side of the hotel. The room was nice and quiet, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the room rate and it was pretty good, but let down by small things (coffee wasn't hot, and choice of bread for toast was very average). All in all, Ithought this hotel was in a good location and was good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furry90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

An excellent location for sight seeing. Easy walking distance to vernacular train to botanical gardens and to houses of parliament.
Excellent buffet dinner which was an Indian theme on our visit. Spent a lot of time in lifts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

If your thinking of parking your car in the Wilson car park which is attached to the hotel for any length of time/overnight, make sure you get valet parking at $27 a day. I got stung for $48 for overnight parking ...only afterwards did I notice the valet option. Hotel is ok, central enough, rooms are a good size, windows can be opened to allow fresh air too. Its a bit weird that the lobby, foyer, downstairs bar/breakfast area is also a thoroughfare for pedestrians trying to get from one level of the street to another, takes some of the ambience away, its more like sitting down for a meal or a drink in a train station at times.

Room Tip: High up is away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YnotNorthofAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello there

I’m sorry that you ended up paying more than you needed to for parking. Next time please just pull up outside our main doors and our Concierge staff will valet park for you (as you have correctly said the current price is $27.00 for 24 hours).

As a consequence of our central location we do have many pedestrians passing through our lobby each day, as people make their way between Lambton Quay (CBD) and The Terrace (predominately offices). Sitting in Sojourn Café & Bar (in our lobby) is great for people watching and does add a certain vibe to the hotel. However if you prefer a quieter experience Whitby’s restaurant and bar is available on our 17th floor.

I hope we will see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

3 nights in a triple share room - a little squishy, but clean and well presented every day. Chose this hotel because of it's location and it didn't disappoint. Have stayed here before so knew just what it was that three (mature) ladies might need to make it a comfortable trip. Shopping and so many shoes (wow) we just didn't have time to try them all out. Restaurants and cafe's abound all within easy access. Cable car close by but we couldn't leave the shops to even give it a go. Fabulous weather during our visit last weekend 32/5 - 2/6. Helpful staff and housekeeping great. 1st hotel we have come across in a while that fully makes all beds every day with clean pillowcases daily and lovely (no bleach smelling) towels. Soundproofing is a bit light especially when children use the hallways to play in - but we just went shopping when it got too noisy :) Reception gave us a maximum fare ticket to the airport which cost us $30. Good value all way round. We (at least I) will be back there again next year. Pity the 17th floor has lost its view of the harbor. Spent many hours just looking out with a coffee or a drink - now little or no view of the water due to building in front. :(

Room Tip: If for three suggest a suite rather than a room - a little squishy for 3 adults. Terrace rooms fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

James Cook is in an excellent location and if driving it is a perfect place to drive in and have the car parked. walking access to CBD is easy and the location for cafes, restaurants, shopping, walking and the harbour is fabulous. the sound proofing between rooms is not great - but the fridge was the quietest we have ever experienced in a hotel room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

It can be difficult to find hotels that offer two beds per room so Mum and I chose to stay here because they have rooms with a queen and a single bed. It's also conveniently close to Lambton Quay for easy access to shops and restaurants. The room itself was fine, with a good sized bathroom and comfortable beds. We spent very little time in the room other than sleeping because we had so any activities planned, so I didn't check out the wider hotel amenities. Staff were pleasant and happy to arrange to store our bags when we checked out at 11 but intended to stay in Wellington for the rest of the day. Valet parking is an extra charge but can be convenient given the scarcity of parking in the region post-earthquake. A pleasant stay overall.

Room Tip: We were on the 19th floor (1903) and it was well soundproofed, with none of the rushing wind noises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLKrivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,927 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $96 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. Lift Upgrade Schedule Please note, the hotel is currently replacing all elevators until later in 2018. The schedule has allowed at least one working elevator for each hotel wing throughout the duration of the upgrade. The lift access to Lambton Quay is currently serviced by one elevator. All floors will still be accessible by guests however please note that some delays may be expected during peak times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing