We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the box”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Good value for money - we had 'Jimmy's run of house' deal which included valet parking. Room was a little tired and in need of some updating but was clean and fresh; the bed was really very comfortable.

Staff all helpful and friendly - we had a very relaxing weekend. Would definitely stay there again :-)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,603 - 2,609 of 3,132 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Only stayed one night and used room only (no breakfast dinner etc). Room was comfortable, clean and sufficiently large. Staff friendly and helpful. Location is central and easy access from Lambton Quay (which the bus driver pointed out to us as there were no signs. Entry via the lift in the arcade next to the cable car). We had weekend rate so was good value for money. The place was a bit dated. No free wifi and did not want to pay for only a little bit of use.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ_travelero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hello NZ_travelero

Thank you for your review – I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and friendly service. We do offer a limited amount of complimentary WIFI both in our rooms and in the lobby area that you might like to use next time you stay with us.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Despite my comments of February 2013 I found myself booked in again. What a different experience! The place hasn't been renovated or anything, but I had a much better time.

I had a Lambton room, facing the Terrace. It had a particuarly comfortable king size bed and lounge chairs. It felt bright and cheerful. The staff were "on their game" with friendly efficient service without the OTT "have a nice day" carry on.

The TV was desk mounted, so no sound through the wall. I ate in the more basic Terrace level restaurant enjoying the meal. However the location is such that the choices within walking distance offer something for everyone.

My opinion has changed. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hi NZMike57

I’m really pleased that you have decided to stay with us again and it is great to hear that the team did a good job in providing you friendly and efficient service.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, with the airport bus stop just outside on Willis St. However, the hotel is looking tired inside. The rooms have plenty of space but lack refinements, considering the price that was charged, we would expect better quality. The windows had padlocks on them that rattle with the wind, which Wellington is renowned for. he shower is over the bath with a BIG step up to get into it. I wouldn't recommend it for those struggling with mobility. We can't comment on food as we didn't eat there. The service was polite and efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oamaruvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A standard hotel in a reasonable location (approx 20 mins walk to attractions) but nothing special and no view. Breakfast was good but customer service was average as our booking details had got lost and we were nearly overcharged.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hello EBH84

Thanks for your review – I’m pleased that you enjoyed our location and breakfast, sorry to hear that there was some confusion with your booking.

I hope that you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and that we will see you back again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The people seemed nice and friendly, checkin an checkout were east.
Our room was pretty good, nice bathroom, clean. Disappointing water pressure.
Lots of noise from other rooms, including hearing toilets flush, doors banging.
There are cheaper and better hotels to stay in central city.
Probably was 4-5 star in the old days...

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GJacber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hello GJacber

Thank you for your review and your positive comments about our friendly staff – I am sorry however to hear that on this occasion your stay with us was somewhat noisy. I do hope that you will decide to stay with us again.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Well sited for Parliament and the water front.

Stayed in a suite. Well furnished and spacious. Beware of noise from the treadmill (above) if staying in 1514!

Suite was well appointed with a separate bathroom and also with a separate shower and toilet. Very comfortable bed - two queen or king beds (?) in a spacious bedroom. Well appointed and comfortable living area.

Friendly and helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boofhead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,928 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 47 in Wellington
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $97 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. Lift Upgrade Schedule Please note, the hotel is currently replacing all elevators until later in 2018. The schedule has allowed at least one working elevator for each hotel wing throughout the duration of the upgrade. The lift access to Lambton Quay is currently serviced by one elevator. All floors will still be accessible by guests however please note that some delays may be expected during peak times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing