We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top choice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Top choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Perfect location for a city stay, easy walk to everything. Great rooms, great service and great price for weekend package which included valet parking and buffet breakfast.
Have stayed here numerous times and always very good!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridW1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello IngridW1957

Thank you for your fantastic review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor soon.

Warm regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    1,199
    524
    117
    53
See reviews for
515
901
132
765
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Location was excellent with the lift to Lambton Quay making it perfect for easy access to the Airport Flyer bus which runs frequently. Within easy walking distance of the Te Papa Museum , Waterfront, the Cable car and the Beehive and Parliament buildings. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Staff were very helpful. We had 2 very good meals in the hotel - one in the restaurant and the other in the downstairs 'bistro'. Both were well presented, excellently cooked and extremely tasty - very good value.

Room Tip: We had A Lambton Room, which was on a corner and looked out towards the waterfront - it was at the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello Terry A

It sounds like you had a great time visiting Wellington. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, our restaurants and that our team took good care of you – this is the type of experience we aim to offer all our guests.

I hope we will see you back again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I travelled on my own and stayed here 3 nights. Location was very central with the lift down to Lambton Quay. Room was spotless, very comfortable bed. Staff all very helpful. Easy to get to on the Airport Flyer bus which stops just a few metres from the James Cook Arcade where the lift access is. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaM132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed at the hotel on our way to our family holiday in Queenstown. Hotel had a nice and clean reception. We walked through dirty hallways with bottle tops everywhere to the terrace rooms on 12th floor. The rooms were so outdated. Cupboards were very old, even Salvation Army wont sell you those. There were hazards in the room-lost my toe nail as there was nail protruding from the carpet. My daughter kicked that nail on several occasions.. Our toilets wouldn't flash. Rang reception twice before it was fixed. In the morning i was woken up by a noise coming from the toilet...it was the next room's toilet---gosh. Duvets on the beds had seen better days. The toilet was like boxing yourself in a coffin...wooden doors, no handles. I had a few problems checking in as my previous booking was not cancelled. Took us a few hours before it was sorted, one of the workers had not done their job properly. Having stayed at Rydges Hotel, i don't think i will ever book a room at Grand Chancellor.

So disappointed with this so called 4.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCookHotel, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Taz452014,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us.
I apologise that in this instance we did not provide you with our normal efficient and friendly service. We have taken on board the comments which you have highlighted for us and we will work on getting them rectified.
As per your conversation with one of our senior management team earlier, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,
Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my wife, the room was really good and comfortable with the view of mountains. Staff was really helpful. great location and worth to pay when you get such a wonderful accommodation. will surely come back to stay .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviMorya4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Nice Hotel, which was spotless in the middle of Wellington. Just lacked a little of the personal touch & having to park using a Valet service was strange. Breakfast was ok & staff in the restaurant were very helpful & friendly

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Why live in dirty hostels when you can live like a royalty for the same price at this great hotel? We booked a double room online for 99NZD a night which is the same price you'd pay at a hostel, but this hotel offered a better room and service than hostels ever will. If only the wifi prices weren't so insanely expensive we'd give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sriyaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Property: James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing