We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday deal!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Havelock North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday deal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Clean and comfortable rooms. Great location as we could just leave the car and walk to places in town. I think staff need to let customers know there is a lift available to take you into downtown Wellington. We accidentally discovered this ourselves.

We would book again.
Thanks James Cook

Room Tip: No comment about rooms but I think staff need to let customers know there is a lift available to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLMSTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    1,201
    525
    117
    53
See reviews for
516
907
132
767
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is situated in a great location however we felt that for what we paid per night ($265 Aus) we did not get value for money. Unless you get a cheap rate or you need to stay somewhere central look elsewhere. We were most insulted when we received an email from the hotel advising that we had gone over our internet quota and that it was suspended for 24 hours as they didn't think it was fair!!! I am very happy for the internet to be cut off once the agreed quota is reached but I don't need to be told off!! The rooms are very tired especially bathroom and the friendliness of the staff varied.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The James Cook Hotel is very central and a good base to explore Wellington. None of Wellington's attractions are very far away and all within walking distance. There some great places to eat out particularly in Cuba Street

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi doc904

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our location right in the centre of Wellington is ideal for exploring the city and its many attractions – I’m pleased that you made the most of your visit to the capital and I hope we will see you back again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

A lovely place to stay. I stayed here with my 2 daughters and we all felt special. Good size rooms. Good coffee available. First day we walked down to Lampton quay and back only to discover there is a lift at the hotel taking directly there. This just makes this hotel very handy.
We decided not to have breakfast in the hotel (due to cost) so went to "The pub" very close for oooked breakfast for $6. We had the advantage of staying in a lovely affordable hotel close to everything and able to stay on budget have a good time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Anne255371

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you might like to try Sojourn Café on our lobby level where we offer light reasonably priced breakfasts and great coffee.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

i don't know where to begin-the previous review mentioned the valet parking which is a very risky deal.you pay 25$ but you should take your stuff with you just in case.the rooms are tired and need a lot of work-we were on 24th floor and the weather in wellington was very very windy as it is and we discovered that there is no sealing on our windows.the gap was so big that it did blow our curtains(i will try to attach photos).it made it even more noisy and impossible to sleep.than we hoped for a better weather so we can sleep the night after but that was not the case so I had to complain and i was offered another room which was not better cause it was in front of the entrance of the floor so noisy again.the third room we were offered was a premium room and it was bit bigger and just ok,but changing rooms at 10:15 pm is not the best what I was thinking i will do especially when you are settled in and all your stuff is in the room.the only positive thing was the consierge a lovely young lady who was very friendly and understanding and shane the day after who recommended great restaurant to eat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello BJBG

Unfortunately the weather in Wellington can be challenging and strong winds sometimes make sleep difficult - on the flip side we have some of the freshest air on the planet. However please accept my apologies for the disruption during your stay – we are addressing this issue.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Wellington on one of our frequent nice sunny days.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Use the valet parking at your own risk!!!! My wife and I just checked out of the James Cook hotel on Sunday and later that day discovered significant curb damage to both front wheels of our new car! The hotel is claiming no responsibility which has left us very frustrated and our 2 night stay is proving to be very costly! Other than the dodgy valet parking, the hotel was ok apart from the broken ironing board (and iron!) and crappy shower head which was at chest level?! I have never given a hotel review before now but I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere in Wellington, especially if you need hotel parking!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMountfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi ChrisMountfort

I am sorry that both front rims of your vehicle have been damaged. As explained to you these scratches are not consistent with the high curbs we have in our car park, it is also very strange that both sides are damaged. Our Concierge staff are all trained to take extreme care when parking guest vehicles and it is our policy that should they damage a vehicle whilst parking that they report this to our Duty Manager. It is not in our interests to try and hide or cover up accidents when they do occur.

I hope that you are able to resolve this matter with your insurer.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed from the 10th-13th of January. Our room was refurbished and very cosy and clean.
All the staff were friendly and attentive, especially the restaurant staff.
Location is excellent right in the middle of town. Package deal gave us valet parking and this was a plus.
Highly recommend eating in Whitby's the breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paws W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Paws W

Thank you for your great review I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to seeing you back at the James Cook again soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#12 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Property: James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing