We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, but location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dated, but location, location, location”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Booked this hotel as it looked central to Wellington. It was in an excellent location for shops and the wharf area. Not easy navigating around Wellington so the fact most was in walking distance was great. We had a terrace room which was a little dated, but all we did was sleep there so that was not important. A little "musky" as you come out of the lifts also. Staff were very helpful and responsive. We chose a "EAT, DRINK AND STAY" package which worked well for us. On arrival we were offered a $18 breakfast special which we went to use the next morning. Unfortunately, we could only have either the $18 breakfast special or the $50 food vouched, NOT both so it ended up costing $12.00 for the two of us for breaky which was cheaper than the $36 it would have with their special offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    1,297
    555
    130
    55
See reviews for
561
962
143
861
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed in this hotel and it was simply a wonderful experience.The room was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and that nothing was a problem for the staff to help us with. One of the best hotels we have stayed at!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I would definitely recommend the James Cook to stay. The bed and pillows are the best I have slept on they were soooo comfortable. We were on the 26 Floor and it was quiet and the view was great. The elevators for Lampton Square are very handy and brings you out two blocks over from the Wharf where there is great dining. The staff were very friendly always greeted with a smile and very helpful with information. This is the place to stay for comfort, convenience and friendlyness.

Room Tip: We were on the 26th floor and had no noise from upstairs, don't know what other floors would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TouristsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A group of us had a long weekend in Wellington and stayed at this hotel. It was a good experience in all ways and can be recommended. The room had everything required, the staff were efficient and friendly and the restaurant food was very good.
Location is excellent as there is direct access to both The Terrace and Lambton Quay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Your views on this hotel are likely to depend on how much you paid. Our room rate was reasonably cheap for a central Wellington Hotel. The hotel design is very dated, but there is not much that could be done about that without major structural changes. The room I stayed in was ok - bits had been updated (curtains and covers), but the bathroom was 1980's style swirly acrylic basin, with non matching toiletries. The entrance to the hotel off Lampton Quay is truly awful - a small mall filled with closed budget grade food places. There is a fairly basic bar downstairs in the foyer which was sometimes open, sometimes not. The table I sat at had something spilled on it, which was still there three hours later....

But what in my view was totally unforgiveable was there was no information anywhere in the room about what to do in an earthquake. It was like the hotel was in total denial that it is in an earthquake zone. No torches either. Compare and contrast the Novatel next door, or the Bolton, both of which tell people what to do. This is an older hotel, built in a major seismic zone. Given the fate of its namesake in Christchurch I would have thought the management would care a bit more about their guests, for vitually no cost.
I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi kiwisam3

Thank you for your review – I am sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with your recent stay with us and you did not experience our normal friendly efficient service at Sojourn Café & Bar.

Thank you also for raising the issue of earthquake information – as in other buildings the procedure is to drop, cover and hold, then depending on the nature of the event further instructions will be announced over the PA system. Our compendium is currently being updated with this information.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We booked James Cook through wotif on a mystery hotel booking, so we got quite a low rate as the deal is you don't know where you are staying until you've booked it. For the cash we paid it was a fair deal and the room was about right for the pricing. It was basic, but clean and comfortable. A little dated in areas, but nothing we could really fault. The bed was a good size and for the first time ever it wasn't too soft to sleep on. A little noisy with the water flowing from the next room, but nothing too major. Overall for under $120 I'd say we got what we paid for, and yes I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Excellent service. Conveniently located closed to the terrace and thus to the harbor.
Very good breakfast and dinner options. Bar and restaurant in the top floor was well attended and reasonable view (considering)....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmpestana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Property: James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing