We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Clean, tidy, good spot on the terrace and lambton quay, warm room, good size and comfy bed.

Everything you need on a trip. Restaurant and bar a little dated, but still clean and nice, but doesn't stand out in the sea of funky bars and restaurants in downtown wellington.

Would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi Leslie H

Thank you for your review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,741 - 2,747 of 3,121 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We chose the Club room option which included a large room with comfortable king bed and lovely bathroom amenities, The Club Room at no extra cost served very substantial appetizers and New Zealand wines and was tended by a very charming hostess. We were tired from our trip across Cook Strait on the ferry, so it was nice to visit the Club Room down the hall, have a couple of wines and some lamb kabobs, etc. and then turn in early.

Buffet breakfast was also included, but it was really mediocre. There was lots of food and choices, but nothing was very appealing. I guess that's why I don't particularly like a buffet option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. Our Club Lounge facility is a great way to indulge and relax, I am very pleased that you enjoyed this experience.

Our Sojourn café in the lobby provides café-style breakfasts, you may wish to try this next time rather than the buffet breakfast in Whitby's.

We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Would definitely stay again, the staff were very friendly from check in, restaurant staff to room services, close by TSB Arena only a short walk to the waterfront, restaurant very good with reasonable prices, kids enjoyed the snack menu

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your review. I’m very glad you had a pleasant stay and that the team looked after you. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pleasant and helpful staff. We stayed two nights and found the rooms clean,comfortable and reasonably quiet. We had some difficulty attempting to order room service breakfast from the 24 hour menu as they kept telling us we could not order before 7.00 AM ( our call was made at 6.00 AM due to an early flight departure). They did accomadate us though after a couple of calls, which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happycamper77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am sorry that you had some difficulty ordering room service breakfast. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the James Cook sometime in the near future.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

After a last minute trip to Wellington for business, work booked me into James Cook as our usual place was full.

On arrival the staff were fabulous, so friendly, welcoming and explained everything I would need to know for my stay including all the ammenities open to me. I had a room on the 12th floor, the room itself was very tidy, clean and perfect for one nights last minute stay but wow it was so very dated - the bed had seen better days and everything just felt tired - in fact it was exactly as I remember it from almost 15 years ago when I used to stay for business!

Breakfast the next morning was fabulous - I took advantage of the buffet and it was lovely to have the staff walking around pouring coffee and having a chat, made a lonesome business trip friendlier.

My only negative comments are in relation to the charges on the room - most hotels have free internet access to rooms but this access cost a lot. I also was not impressed with having to pay a credit card fee on the final bill - this also is another example of a practice not done anymore in businesses.

For the room price + extras this was quite an expensive night, I would go back to my usual !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. In regards to internet, we do have a variety of plans in place to best accommodate each guests requirements.

I do hope you decide to stay with us again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lovely place to stay, central to everything in the city and easy getting to Inter Islander Ferry. Check in was quick and painless especially as we arrived with a bus load of other travellers. The beds are very comfortable and rooms very clean. Everything you need for a good nights sleep. Although on the road side of the hotel, the traffic noise wasn't obvious. Great food, (buffet dinner upstairs) and the pianist playing was exceptional and didn't interrupt the dinner conversations. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be situated away from the lifts. We certainly weren't bothered by those p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi Jocelyn C

Thank you for your review. I’m very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found our services and products to be of a high standard. I look forward to welcoming you back to the James Cook soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a great room with a good view of the harbour. Good location and easy access for those who like to travel by foot to places of interest in Wellington. Biggest gripe is the exorbitant charge for their WiFi connection and the difficulty experienced in making a connection. This is an important factor for travellers in today's world.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hello Olya W

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear your experience with us was marred by the wi-fi connection. We do have a variety of plans available to suit different requirements.

I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,926 reviews
0.7 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $92 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. Lift Upgrade Schedule Please note, the hotel is currently replacing all elevators until later in 2018. The schedule has allowed at least one working elevator for each hotel wing throughout the duration of the upgrade. The lift access to Lambton Quay is currently serviced by one elevator. All floors will still be accessible by guests however please note that some delays may be expected during peak times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing