We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel in the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is close to the cable car and the city centre, everything within walking distance.
We stayed in a premium king room which had a nice view on Wellington. Our car was too high to park in their garage (max. 2,2m), but the staff was really helpfull with this and arranged a parking space at the City Life Hotel next door: really customerfriendly!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. Look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Warm regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,916 - 2,922 of 3,251 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

The service and friendly staff are the saving grace for this hotel!

The lobby still looks lovely & the staff are professional but the rooms are old and a bit tired.
I booked through Wotif. I arrived & was told I couldn't have the room until 2pm, which was fine as that is the check in time, but then suddenly a room was available.
It made me wonder if they looked at me in my jeans etc straight off the plane and thought I didn't look that important so they gave me the crappy room.
My room (Terrace Room) had an air conditioning unit right outside and no view. It was dark from being boxed in by surrounding buildings, noisey because of air con and nothing special at all. The wooden slider door etc to bathroom was all very 70's as are all the fittings. They say on the website that these are their renovated rooms - but they are literally just painted with new chair upholstery etc. The room had two double beds which are pretty small so not ideal for a couple to sleep together in.
I went downstairs & requested a room with a king bed. They moved us straight away and we got a bigger brighter room with a couch, king bed & a semi decent view. I was much happier in this one! I have to praise them for doing this and we were very easily transitioned into another room.
The valet parking was free with the deal so this was fantastic as parking is not cheap in Wellington.
The staff were very helpful, although I would have thought they would have known more about the ferries seeing as it's a main way of travel from their city.

I had tossed up between The Rydges (which I know from friends is lovely) & James Cook because of price & free parking. So really I can only blame myself because I had a feeling I should have forked out the extra $50 for the newer hotel. Unfortunately, this hotel has definitely seen better days. I just think their star rating should be more like 3 1/2 for decor but 4 1/2 for service. If you go for service over decor them perhaps you'll love it?

Room Tip: Ask for a Lambton room rather than a Terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinetravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you taking the time to write your review and I am very pleased that our team looked after you.

I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

stayed with them before leaving for south island . loved every bit of our stay loved the staff and the bar. rooms were cozzy. enjoyed our stay with them. some staff might need some training regarding customer care but other than that it was a pleasant stay. very close to the shops. would like to come back if given the chance. keep up the good work.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xlncd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hello xIncd

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to complement your time in Wellington.

I hope we will see you here again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Room 4 star, nice bathroom but toilet too close to wall, cheap seat, shower not good, would not adjust. No safe. Excellent evening buffet and breakfast..
Situated centre town on hill so can exit rear at lower level.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hello R H

Thank you for your review. I’m glad that you enjoyed the food at Whitby’s Restaurant and your stay in Wellington.

I Hope to see you at the James Cook again soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor in January and discovered we were sharing the hotel with all of the teams taking part in the Rugby Sevens. There were a lot of hungry young men devouring the buffet but it was quickly replenished. The hotel is excellent with very helpful and friendly staff. It is well situated to walk out and explore Wellington and the nearby Botanical Gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobsmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your great review.

The hotel does get busy during the Sevens and creates a unique atmosphere for for our guests.

I’m glad you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the hotel foyer is fresh and pleasant. The rooms were clean but were in need of a face lift especially the bathroom.
The TV from the next room could be clearly heard through the wall and the room doors made a loud bang when they closed.
The biggest negative was the parking - we paid $50 for 2 days valet parking which was the cheapest option.
All in all, an ok hotel in the heart of the CBD, very close to everything. Would be good for those travelling on business.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleJacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope the rest of your time in New Zealand was pleasant and that we will welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were delighted by the quality of the room and the high standard of service from everyone at the James Cook! It would have helped if skype had been readily available on the pc in the business centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hello Roger080

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope to see you here again soon.

Warm regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,092 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $97 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. Lift Upgrade Schedule Please note, the hotel is currently replacing all elevators until later in 2018. The schedule has allowed at least one working elevator for each hotel wing throughout the duration of the upgrade. The lift access to Lambton Quay is currently serviced by one elevator. All floors will still be accessible by guests however please note that some delays may be expected during peak times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing