We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A businessman/woman's hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A great place to stay if you have meetings in the financial district. I had dinner bed and breakfast there. All very good. Used the WiFi and the dinning room in the foyer. Tere were other options. If you travel with a partner who likes shopping Kirkcaldies is just over the road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,747 - 2,753 of 3,064 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Arrived later in the evening, so check in very quick. Had booked off wot if so received valet parking, late checkout & breakfast. The room was lovely & clean, larger than expected. We went out for a drink then on return we noticed how noisy the room was with the wind whistling in or around the window. I phoned reception and was found a room on the otherside of the building which was perfect no noise & a great sleep. The buffet breakfast was delicious, the freshly made pancakes & omelettes are amazing. Location is great & will definately be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A wonderful Hotel, almost inner city living.Being able to take the lift to the lower city and walks around the shore made our quiet break so much better.Breakfast amazing so many choices.valet parking.We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank higgiesStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We love the location of this hotel and always stay here whenever in Wellington. Apart from the fact that my mother lives exactly across the road from this hotel we have always stayed here from the year dot as when flying into Wellington as aircrew this was the crew hotel. Old habits die hard but the reputation and the continued excellent service of this hotel remains a constant The rooms have been renovated and upgraded and the deal we had for our two nights stay was fantastic.
Catching the in-house lift down to Lambton Quay to my favourite Wellington shops and cafes is a bonus.
The staff in every department were courteous, helpful and friendly.
We always choose this hotel and willcontinue to do so.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthiephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recently stayed a night. James Cook well located with major shopping a mere elevator ride down to Lambton Quay. Front of house staff friendly and attentive in all areas.
Standard room was clean and bed comfortable. No free Internet. Another bedside table for the two double beds be handy. Put phone in drawer to accommodate bits at night.
Modernising overdue for the rate, even if it is only standard. Bathroom vent grill dust covered and not working, and wallboard moved when flusher pushed.
Whitbys array of buffet food was such that I wonder if kitchen have a problem keeping up with it all! Some selections were only warm.
With some planning and revamping then I too would rate the James Cook up among the best. At present it doesn't quite make 4 stars for me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillianM109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wonderful hotel great location and services, parking was great, very clean and food was excellent. Pefect hotel for families, couples or for business. Staff were friendly and welcoming. We booked this hotel at the last minute on the internet and within two hours were greeting by the front desk with no concerns or issues and able to check in right away. Very comfortable and safe hotel would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tansy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A very clean and caring hotel. Well run and all staff seemed to know what to do and nothing was an issue. The rooms are very well appointed and very clean. We were given a corner room and it was very large with full widows on 2 sides so there was ample light in the room.

We had breakfast at Whitby's restaurant and it had a very good hot and cold selection. The staff seemed like they really enjoyed their jobs and had a good way about themselves.

Ask to stay at the Club level as the Club lounge is on the top floor with good amenities. We needed to use the computer and printer as we were on business and the booking Club paid it's way very nicely. They have drinks and nibbles at the Club Lounge from 5pm (I think) for a few hours as well.

Room Tip: Choose the Club floor with access top the Club Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKAR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,910 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
2,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $94 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing