We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT TWO NIGHT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a great hotel. All the staff we encountered were so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and airy with opening windows and the beds had crisp white sheets. We had two quick snacks in the cafe...the service was efficient and the food very good. The location is perfect for theatres, shopping, sightseeing, the cable car and the Botanical Gardens. We've stayed in several hotels in Wellington and this was our best experience. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi Angela R

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post your great review. I am very pleased that your stay at the James Cook enhanced your Wellington experience.

I hope we will see you again soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,798 - 2,804 of 3,064 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very nice place and people. Shower excellent. Check in staff very nice and helpful. Bed comfortable. All personnel very helpful. Got great deals through hotelcombined dot com. hotel was quiet even though many functions going on.

Room Tip: check the online sites for good deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hello Lick L

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel. It’s great to get your positive feedback concerning our friendly, helpful staff - we are working very hard to deliver this service to all our guests at all times.

I hope we will see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Grand Chancellor was a bit of luxury to end our NZ campervan holiday. I couldn't fault the place. The girl at reception was really really good (sorry, can't remember her name), the room was nice, the bed was big and my wife adored the bath (a week in a campervan can do that). The stationery set on the desk was unique.
30 Mins Free Wi-Fi in the lobby was enough for us.
The strangest thing is the access from Lambton Quay. Wellington is VERY steep so the entrance to the hotel is via a lift at the end of an arcade. The lifts are very busy most of the day, It's a kind of public transport (a bit like Central Escalator in Hong Kong)
Nice hotel, groovy city (even on a Monday night!)
Only complaint is I couldn't get the air-conditioning as cold as I like.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi Ted E

Great to get your review and I am very pleased that your stay with us capped off what I hope was an enjoyable trip to New Zealand.

Hopefully we will see you back in Wellington soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a week at the James Cook Grand Chancellor in Feb 2012 for business. Arrived at an awful hour of the night and a staff member was at the desk and very helpful checking me in. The room was very clean and comfortable. No one can control the weather, so for those on the higher floors expect the Wellington wind to buffer against the windows at night. Buts that life, the hotel is high on the hill. I didn't get to use a lot of the facilities though I did use the restaurant, it was Asian week which was served buffet style, not really something I'd write home about, though the Al a Carte menu was very good but on the expensive side. The hotel is close to just about everything with two levels of access so it's easy for you to get into the city or to the harbour from the lower entry. The hotel has a cafe/bar in the lobby which although relatively small when you consider how many rooms there are is clean, busy and popular. Overall it was a very good hotel for business and those on holidays, it's not the cheapest of hotels but you get what you pay for and I'm willing to pay a little extra for cleanliness and variety.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on business and had to use their valet parking as no other option apart from Wilson's. Clean, well equipped hotel and nice touch with the pencils and stationary set on the desk. Beer bucket promo said for 4 beers but there were 5 in the photo. Very understaffed in cafe.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

When we first arrived we were told there would be no electricity between 1-5 the following day. This was not great as we have a 6 month old who has a sleep during that time for an hour or two which meant we were stuck in the room with no lights, tv or lift to get down. We were offered a room on the 12th floor so took that but made little difference. There was no other compensation offered.

We had booked a suite which was meant to come with a kitchenette (was on their website) but once we were in the room was told that no rooms have kitchenettes.

We had dinner in the restaurant and asked for a highchair for our son. It was very dirty and the cover was torn badly. I asked for a cloth and the waitress brought another highchair out for us but it was equally as dirty and torn and the buckle was broken on it. We had to hold our baby son during dinner. The buffet was ok but a little bland.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KezaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Hello KezaLove

I am very sorry that electricity shutdown impacted on your stay with us and I understand that it must have been very frustrating with a small baby. Unfortunately we did not have your contact details to be able to get in touch with you prior to your arrival.

There’s really no excuse for the dirty and broken high chairs – they have today been replaced with new units.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here with a couple of friends for a wedding we had in Wellington. The hotel is in a great spot and the room was spacious & clean.

Unfortunately the rooms were quite noisy - I could here everyone opening & closing the doors down the passage, as well as the lifts & also people using their bathrooms. Also upon checking in I was advised that there would be no power between 1-5pm the following day - this meant no lifts (I was on the 20th floor), no lights, tv etc due to scheduled maintenance - this was quite an inconvenience and disappointing considering no prior warning was given & no offer of any kind of compensation was given.

Buffet dinner was ok - lots of choice but most of it was quite average. I wont be staying here again and wouldn't recommend it to friends or family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaiessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Hello jaiessa

I am very sorry that the electricity shutdown we had on Sunday afternoon impaired your enjoyment of the hotel and your weekend in Wellington. Unfortunately the shutdown was required to complete necessary work, we did try and choose a date and time that would have minimal impact on our guests and we also provided complimentary tea, coffee and hot soup during the period the electricity was out. I would also like to offer you my sincere apologies for not being told about the shutdown prior to your arrival, we did attempt to contact all guests before they arrived, however in your case this did not happen – I am sorry for this and the inconvenience this caused you.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,910 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
2,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $94 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing