We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, bargain prices and comfortable experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
229 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great location, bargain prices and comfortable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed here and this time was equally as good. It's in a great location and you can get to it either from Lambton Quay or off The Terrace. There is parking within the same complex and a lift down to the last section of steps (Plimmer Steps), which leads directly down on to Lambton Quay for all that Wellington offers. Across from the steps is Starbucks!
Rooms whilst compact, are new, clean and comfortable and no frills. Facilities are limited and I would say that this place is probably 3.5* rather than the 4* that Qualmark has given it, but as a 1-2 night stop over joint this hotel is difficult to beat.

Particularly enjoyed a decent sleep with good black out curtains and not hearing anything else from neighbours. Often I find you can hear everything through the walls of these newer hotels - but not so this one.

Very expensive mini bar options (pack of jellies $8.50, kitkat $4.50, small pack of Pringles $6.00!) and very limited drinks in room (one choice of tea and only powdered coffee). This could be improved.

We thought that the location and room quality and newness (for the price) made up for a slow service and lack of facilities. We got a great deal of $145 (which included free parking worth $20). There's lots of restaurants and cafes near by if you don't have breakfast included or don't want to cough up $19 (continental) and $23 (full) breakfast.

Service is pleasant enough but average and they seemed short staffed - so I marked that down but overall a great stay. Would recommend and would go back and stay again. As others have said you get what you pay for and we thought it was a bargain!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minkamonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    1,149
    481
    123
    58
See reviews for
439
949
190
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

clean new rooms, love the bathrooms!, view from room was not great though, other than that we had a pleasant stay. Helpful staff, cheap internet, right in the middle of the city which was quite handy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank probes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

We got a good base rate using hotels.com, but the room is very basic, minimal amenities, based on the standard NZ hotels.
On the listing, they mention wireless internet was available. Did not mention that it cost a small fortune, basically double the rate compared to the other hotels we stayed at during or 21 days in NZ. 24 hours of access cost a whopping $30.

The bathroom was not as clean as we would have expected.
In room TV was advertised as having cable TV, Sky TV. But in reality we had about 7 channels, and one of them was Sky movies. Not all of the Sky TV channels.

2 weeks prior, we stayed at the Novotel Wellington which is nearby, and paid a few dollars more. In my opinion it was a much better value. Free internet in the lobby there (internet kiosk with 2 imac computers) and bigger rooms with ipod enabled alarm clocks.

If you do decide to book the Travelodge, please note there is access to the hotel via an elevator on "Plimmer Steps" located on Lambton Quay. We did not know this, and walked much further uphill to the carpark access at Boulcott. This is where you would go with a car, not necessary as a pedestrian.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank high_standards_4_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Travelodge is a pretty good deal - it is not very expensive, the rooms are small but pretty comfortable and it has a great location right in the middle of the city. You can walk from there to the railway station (which where buses also depart from) and bus to the airport passes through the street just in front of the Travelodge. There is a car park at the bottom of the building but I didn't have a car, so I didn't use it.

I did get a room on the 15th floor with some view. Room was clean and well equipped for its size. There was an electric heater attached to the wall near the bathroom which turned out to be necessary as it was getting cold at night without it. As most Kiwi buildings the windows (which did open) were single-glazed.

Had no problems whatsoever when staying there. On Friday night noise coming from the restaurant/bar/pub at the ground level of the building was reaching my room, but it wasn't lough enough to be a problem and it ended around 10pm. I think, however, that it might have been a problem for those staying at lower floors.

Can't comment on breakfasts as I didn't eat them - seemed expensive and with this hotel's great location it was easy to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Emin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

This hotel is very close to everything and parking was good. It was clean and had most things that you needed. There were no wine glasses but these were provided when we requested them. However, the rooms were tiny - we really didn't have enough room for two suitcases.
We ate in the dining room and service was incredibly slow because there was only one person serving. We had finished our meal before our drink arrived!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Perfectly adequate accommodation. We stayed here for a night before departing on a roadtrip. Room had a small kitchenette which was useful. Small bathroom. TV. Good view. Clean and adequate. Breakfast was thrown in. It's really central to town so ideal if you want to do a bit of exploring.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

They couldn't find our reservation at check-in, when I showed them the email conf., they upgraded the room gratis. The room was fine. Kind of weird-- only one huge drawer. I supposed they expect people to live out of the suitcase--except for hanging closet space.
TV had issues and didn't work for several of the days we were there because of server problems. Bed and linens good.
But location was great- right in the shopping district. Easy walk to Parliment and waterfront. We walked to restaurant and theater district - about 12 min walk. Parking was $20 a day in a secure garage.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitraveller3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing