We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Nearby Hotels
$189
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
$116
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$132
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$92
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$124
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$83
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$143
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
$167
$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Airport Motel(Wellington)
$89
$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,984)
Filter reviews
2,985 results
Traveler rating
761
1,407
576
166
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
1,407
576
166
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel lodgegreat locationplimmer stepscentral locationlambton quaycable carwould stay againclean roomswithin walking distanceroom serviceeasy accessair conditioningbusiness tripthe heart of the citywellington cbdnice roomshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,872 - 2,877 of 2,985 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I booked the Travelodge on an early-bird special for $90 a night, 2 months ahead and expected less than the best at that price but was pleasantly surprised. While I didn't spend a lot of time at the motel the room was comfortable with good amenities (though they could have left some biscuits with the tea and coffee). Breakfast was nothing special but nothing to complain about. Location in the CBD was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

The Travelodge appears to have no street frontage and signage could be improved for first time guests. One entrance from Boulcott Street and a pedestrian entrance off Lambton Quay. High speed lifts with security card access. Reception staff were helpful but not over friendly. The room was clean and well appointed. Brreakfast was not included in the tariff. An excellent location for central Wellington.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

For the price, it's not even close to being worth it. I would have paid the tiny difference in price and stayed at the James Cook where I would have gotten a whole lot more value for my money.

Good: clean, spacious, good location
Bad: no spa/bathtub, service awful, room noisy, lift faulty

I told reception about our safe running low on battery in the morning and she said she would send someone. Rather than wait around all day, we went out to explore and when we came back, our room had not been made up between the hours of 11.30 am and 5 pm and the safe still had not been fixed. Upon speaking to reception again, she said our rooms had to be made up now or never as housekeeping was going home for the day-why are there no evening housekeeping services?? Finally someone came to fix the safe but we were left waiting for housekeeping and couldn't take a nap before dinner as planned. Housekeeping came and went and didn't change our towels.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crandycola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Overall a nice place. Simple and clean, our room was spacious and comfortable with a queen size bed, small writing desk, and plenty of space to store your luggage. A flat screen TV hangs on the wall with about 8 channels, including CNN international. There was also a microwave, coffee/tea making facilities, and refrigerator in the room, as well as drinks and snacks available for purchase.

There’s broadband Internet available, but we didn’t use as we were there for only one night and they charged a fee for usage. They also offer breakfast but again charged over $20 NZ for it so we didn’t partake.

Our room was on the 18th floor, which offered some nice views of downtown Wellington. Also, the elevator required your hotel room swipe card in order to operate, which was a nice added security feature. There are many good restaurants and shops in a 5-10 minute walking radius of the hotel.

There was some construction in the area, so getting to it was a little difficult. And they charge $20 NZ per night to park your car in their ramp. Even though check out was 10 AM, they do allow you to keep your car in the ramp until noon that day, which allowed us time to take a tour of the Parliament building and catch a quick bite for lunch before we were on our way.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peshtigofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This hotel leaves a ton of drinks and food items in your room without clear indication about what they cost. Otherwise the room was comfortable with fridge, microwave and tableware. The bed was very comfortable. Finding the hotel is not easy as it is not visible from Lambdon Quay. The walkway of Plimmer Steps is the pedestrian entrance, but only after you have to climb a large staircase with luggage (took the bus). The location is central to everything downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prussik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews