We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but watch parking your car.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but watch parking your car.”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Staff were really nice. We had a nice room with comfy bed and room was clean and fairly large. Room 2006. The only issue we had was the parking. Hotel entrance is through a public parking building. We asked if it was safe to park there as we had a rental car and we were told there had been No issues. We got up early to make our ferry and found our rental car had been broken into. Side window smashed and my $800 iPhone which I stupidly left in car was taken as well as a NZ cell phone I had also just purchased. Close to $1000 gone plus $360 to the rental car company for the broken window. The hotel gave us back the money for our 1 night stay which was good. They need to warn people clearly as we had several locals who were parking in the building for work come up and say its notorious for cars staying at hotel to be broken into. The police told us they sometimes do operations to try and stem the break ins. So I think all hotel guests should be made aware it is totally unsafe to leave your car in the building.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcus2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    1,230
    506
    132
    59
See reviews for
479
1,014
196
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Brilliant hotel considering what you're getting - awesome central location, good price, and good facilities (clean, easy on the eye, comfortable). Check in was without a hassle, staff memeber was helpful and even got an early check in! Despite what people may say about the lift... there's instructions on how to use ya card, and if you can't follow that, hmm...
Overall great stay, would and will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OuterLegsRace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear OuterLegsRace,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel we really appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

After reading some previous reviews, I was not expecting too much from this property. I choose this hotel for its location and price, and was not dis-appointed. The room was small, but adequate, and was very clean and tidy, with good harbour and city views. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was comfy, and shower had great pressure. Although I only stayed one night, I would choose this hotel again if in Wellington. David B

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_B20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear David_B20142014,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and it was good. Excellent location for a shopaholic like me! A few steps down and Et voila, u find ur self in the heart of Lambton quay. Easy parking tho a little pricey but then again, parking is ex no matter where u go in Wellington. Friendly staff and very accommodating. Clean and comfy beds. Small kitchenette but just fine for short stay. Pretty good value for money considering location. Just wish the wifi options were more appealing. But all in all a good stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karlz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Karlz A,

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

This place is bad. The rooms are small and not very nice, the staff are ok but don't care really. The drains smell. I think maybe the staff are reading scripts their bosses have given them to avoid beatings? The worst part is that no one tells you how to use their insane lift so you spend the day in the lift with other baffled guests who can't get to their rooms. Bring monopoly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Andrew C,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry you had issues in the lift, there is a detailed instruction sheet in each lift with pictures on how to use them. Please understand this is for guest security and to ensure that only our guests use the lifts. One of our other reviewers pointed out in his review that he had read bad reports, but simply followed the simple instructions in the lift without any problems. Your comments about the staff do not reflect the typical comments about the team, I am sorry you felt this way.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed three night at the Travelodge Wellington with a group. I believe all of us were generally dissatisfied with the hotel! Our largest complaint was their wi-fi policy. Each room (not each guest in the room) had 15 minutes of free wi-fi every 24 hours available in the reception area only. The charge for use of wi-fi in the room was exorbitant (I believe NZ$20) and that was for 24 hours.

There were no laundry facilities available in the hotel. The rooms were TINY! Beds not overly comfortable.

The some of front desk people were not able to give accurate directions to various places around Wellington.

The tour leader requested a very early wake-up call for most of the tour but some of us were not continuing with the tour so she asked that we did NOT receive the 3:15am call but we did get it anyway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Natalie I,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you found your overall stay with us disappointing. I noted you are from the States; where I believe WIFI is generally free when staying in hotels. This is not the case in New Zealand and charges do apply, there are options for booking rates that include internet. These would not have been available to you through the tour you booked. I would like to correct you by advising we have a laundry service that operates 6 days a week excluding public holidays. I am surprised that my team was not able to provide you directions, as we always try and assist and Google has been a great tool for hotel staff for many years now.

Kind regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here with two friends in March 2014. The room was your average hotel room. Had two single beds and a pull out couch. The beds were so comfortable even the pull out couch! The bathroom was nice and clean and so was the room. We ran into two issues here. The first one was that all of our cards for the room stopped working at least two times each. Which was really frustrating because we would have to go back down to the lobby every time to fix it. The second issue was that we were told when booking that our room was 129$ per night. But during check out they charged us 139$ the first night and 159$ the second night. When we told them that they had they had no record of anyone telling us that price. But in the end they did refund us the overcharge that they charged us. So we were happy about that. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jl1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear JN1714,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you found your stay satisfactory and our beds comfortable. I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,853 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing