We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and location - short on information!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Kawerau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice room and location - short on information!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked this hotel for it's location, which was great to get to where you wanted to go in a short space of time. The room was ample for what you need it for, facilities were good for the price. The only problem we had was on arrival we parked in the bays marked for hotel guests and paid at the machine located in the car park and then when we checked in they charged us for parking as there was no information at the machine to say we did not pay at the machine if we were guests at the hotel, they may have deducted some money from the amount we paid, but it is not clear from the car park what you need to do prior to checking in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sharon T

Thank you for your feedback. I see you stayed in February but nice to receive feedback all these months latter. The car park is a mixed car park, meaning some is public parking and others are private. This includes the hotel and various offices which are marked accordingly the meter is for the public spaces. All the hotel bays are marked I am sorry you felt this was not clear. Glad you enjoyed the room and location. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    1,216
    504
    130
    59
See reviews for
469
1,005
194
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The only positive thing I have to say about the travelodge is the location. Within walking distance to most things.

Upon checking in, we were given directions about where to park our car and given a slip to put on the dash board. The staff member also took my credit card details, I presumed like most hotels in case we stole/broke anything.

We wasted at least half an hour driving around the car park trying to work out where we were supposed to park from the directions we were given. Turns out it was quite simple, just explained very badly!

Upon getting to the room, we read the information card which said that the parking was $15-25 per night which we were not told when given the slip for the dash board and it didn't say it anywhere on the paper!

I then went onto the Internet (which is ridiculously priced. I paid $14 for 1 hour!) to find that my credit card had been charged $100. When I rang reception, they said it was a bond and that it would be reversed when we left providing the room was left ok. I completely understand that but again, this was not mentioned whatsoever when my credit card was taken, in fact the staff specifically said 'there will be no charge to your credit card as the room is already paid for'.

The room itself is modern but very small and basic. The shower only has half a screen and no curtain for the other half so the floor would be soaked by the end. We were going to have some laundry done but prices were so expensive ($5 per pair of underwear).

All in all, the hotel has a lot of potential and the staff were very friendly but we just found a huge breakdown in communication and were not told several things. Be prepared for all the added costs!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Lauren W


Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate all of our guests comments on our hotel. We are constantly striving for improved guest service and your comments help us towards this goal.

I am sorry you found parts of your stay with us disappointing, we know parking at times can be a harrowing experience which is why we have taken steps to ensure our team know to explain how to park with us to all of our guests and our prices are clearly stated on the registration paper you signed on your arrival.

With regards to internet pricing, a recent survey of Wellington CBD hotels showed that those who charge for internet are similarly priced to us. This means that we are market competitive. There are also other options you had by reading the guest information sheets provided in guest room or contacting our reception team that would’ve notified you of the 15min free internet in our lobby and coin operated net kiosk on our restaurant level.

The holding of your funds is explained by our team and there is signage at reception fully explaining what happens. It is normal practice for hotels to take a deposit to cover the cost of the room and/or incidentals.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, Southland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed one night. Close to everything I needed to do. Very good value comfortable and clean. I found the service from the staff to be extremely good. Not the most luxurious but well worth the rate paid. Good lighting good table to work on good bathroom comfortable bed plenty of accessible power points.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Murray H

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, I am pleased to read that you found the location good. As well as finding us to be clean comfortable and offering great value and service. I will be sure to share the positive feedback with the team and hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights on a trip to Wellington for the World of Wearable Arts show. The room on the 20th floor was more than adequate although a bit on the small side. The location was great for our purposes with everything at our doorstep. The restaurant was good and the staff helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyvose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Martyvose
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am happy to read you enjoyed the restaurant and you found the staff happy and friendly. Location is certainly a strength for us, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location right on Lambton Quay easy walking distance to shopping ,markets,cable car,Cuba Mall,Te Papa, TSB arena and waterfront.Our Room on the sixteenth floor was small but clean and beds comfortable but no view as looked onto other buildings. Fine if you are just there to sleep and shower. Room was lovely and quiet. Staff helpful and friendly and we arrived at 10am and were able to check in early which was great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mary R
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. One of our strengths is our location and I pleased this was a plus for you, as it is for many. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback about the team being helpful and friendly.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I am not sure what I expected but this was not it. The room was small but the view was out of this world. I am used to hotels in New Zealand being quite dated and frequently very quaint. This one is a modern extravaganza with a view that can't be beat.

For those with late flights out of Wellington, this hotel has late check in. I arrived early and that was not a problem for them either.

The staff was friendly, the parking garage was tolerable. The room was everything you would hope for and the location is central to the shopping areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Elizabeth J

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to read that you a “treat” staying with us. As you mention the hotel location is central to shopping areas, I would just like to add it close to all Wellington City’s points of interest. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at the Travelodge Wellington for one night in September 2013. The most compelling reason for choosing the hotel is location - it backs right on to Lambton Quay, the main shopping strip in Wellington.
The hotel itself is clean and while the rooms are pretty small, if you are out most of the time it is fine. No sofa or lounge chair - to watch TV you had to sit on the bed - always a bit of a downer.
Breakfast was included in the rate, which was excellent.
Good service, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: My room was right next to the elevator and there was a bit of noise early in the evening as people c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallymagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sallymagpie

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I will share your comments about our breakfast and the good service you received with all the team. Hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing