We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere between Poor and Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Somewhere between Poor and Average”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights during a recent visit to Wellington. It was clean. The location was good in that you could walk to most sites if you like to walk. Its very weird the way its situation - kinda behind a main street and you have to walk up a tall steep flight of stairs to get to it. Front desk wasn't very organized. My room was small, altho my traveling companions' room was bigger. The available TV channels were dismal. The breakfast buffet was fair. We checked in with my sister-in-law's credit card and even tho the rooms were pre-paid, they charged $100 to her card as a deposit. Took several weeks and several phone calls to get the $100 refunded.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for writing your review. I am slightly confused about your thoughts on our location you say it was good then you contradict yourself. For others reading this review the hotel is located just back from Lambton Quay (main street of Wellington) which you access via a lift and a flight of steps. One of the most positively commented facts of this hotel is its central location. You also mentioned the $100 deposit, this is standard proactive in most hotels to cover incidentals. However, it is an authorization which is released on departure. Again you say it took several weeks to get back, but you say you stayed recently?

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    1,228
    506
    130
    59
See reviews for
478
1,013
195
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, California
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Affter staying in NZ motels, a regular hotel room is very small. It was a corner room, though, with views of the city and harbor. Staff was very helpful and the buffet breakfast was OK value although nothing special. Excellent location within walking distance of everything in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. In general hotel rooms are smaller than motel rooms; geographical locations of motels mean land is generally cheaper leading to bigger spaces. Glad to hear the staff was helpful; our aim is to provide a decent range of breakfast items without charging the earth. I believe from feedback we generally get this right and of course our central location is always a winner.

Hopefully we will see you again on your next Wellington trip.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is an interesting example of the Travelodge brand, and a whole lot different to the usual setup that the hotels take in the UK. Taxi entrance is via the underground car park which leads you to reception which is located on level 7 - don't be tempted to walk from the railway station as it is quite a hike, especially with the winds blowing in from the seafront! Check-in was effiicient, although we were slightly disappointed to find that internet access was only available at a considerable surcharge. The room we were given had a wonderful night-time view of Wellington with a spacious bed and well appointed bathroom.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was one floor below reception on level 6. Now, this certainly wasn't your average curled croissant with single jam serving so prevalent of this chain. This was a hot breakfast self service buffet, with all the usual hot options plus tea, coffee and juices on the side - very satisfying and set us up for the day. Both days!

The pedestrian access is via Plimmer Steps, which lead down to Lambton Quay. Five minutes one way are the shops, five minutes the other is the cable car up to the Botanical Gardens - a must do for the tranquility and vibrant colours. At the other end of the day, there is the unpretentious Bull and Bear pub located directly underneath the hotel should a nightcap be needed - you can't get more local than that!

For those looking for comfortable accomodation within easy reach of all that the city offers, and don't want to bust the bank, this is the place - just don't purchase the internet package, as most bars and cafes offer free wi-fi, and it's also free down by the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonjolty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review; if I could start with internet. Rates in Wellington for hotels that are in our price bracket are similar to ours. I would just like to say Travelodge Hotels in New Zealand & Australia only share a name with UK Travelodge’s, the hotels are separately run and managed. I am pleased you found what was offered more than met your expectations. With our centrally located property it makes it very hand for all things Wellington.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I overnighted here for a concert. Friendly welcome, refurbished room with a king bed and great amenities. Very handy having the elevator access off Plimmer Steps. All in all, very nice.. our only query would be although the buffet breakfast was excellent value for money, it needed a bit better attention.. almost everything was between cold and lukewarm..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinBlaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel; I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Rest assured I will follow up with chef on your comments in regards to breakfast.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Good location about 30 seconds walk from the elevator to the main shopping street. Rooms small but pretty typical for Wellington. Stayed 2 nights but the bin wasn't emptied during our stay. As usual, beware of the minibar prices. The $6 bottle of water is $1.25 in the supermarket.

We've stayed before and will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFLUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel; I will be passing on to our house keeping manager your comments in regards to the bin. Ultimately with minibar you are paying for the convince, our prices are better than what you pay in many hotels.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Location could not be better - near to all shops, restaurants, the cable car to the botanic gardens, waterfront restaurants, museums etc. The rooms are functional, comfortable, well planned and good value for the city centre. Reception staff are helpful and efficient, There are great harbour views from the upper floors and we were offered an up-grade to a harbour view room on arrival by a charming member of staff.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view room at floor twenty or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcsaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for reviewing the hotel; it is always very pleasing when we tick all the boxes for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Polite and pleasant reception but we found on arrival at 8pm that, as the last guests to book in, our room (booked 4 months before) had been given to someone else. The bottle of wine, paid taxi fares and 5 star hotel room we were given certainly appeased but ironically that hotel had a stuffy room, noisy air con. and - when we opened the window - loud and annoying street noise. We were pleased to get back to our basic but adequate room at Travelodge with it's quiet view of a concrete and steel building. Room service provided a good dinner but it hadn't been added to our bill - if we hadn't told spoken up it would have been to our advantage but what if it had been the other way round? Economical and very well placed for the CBD. Never stayed in a 5 star hotel before (or again) and by comparison Travelodge is competitive - sure it's decor isn't flash but it provides all the necessary - economical, clean, comfortable, well staffed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, unfortunately at times hotel do become over booked and guest need to be relocated. When this occurs we do try and offer the best alternative that we can, I am sorry the five star hotel we booked you in did not live up to our expectation. Thanks for your honesty about the meal that was not charged. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing