We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be wary when group booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Takaka, New Zealand
1 review
“Be wary when group booking”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Five people had booked 7 months in advance but did not have adjacent rooms - the 2 rooms were on separate floors. None of us could not access either room until after 6pm even though we had arrived and stored belongings before 8am. Our room did not have crockery, towels or facecloths for 3 guests. Was given a bedspread for 2 of the 3 beds after requesting extra bedding - we moved 2 beds close enough to make do. We remade 2 of the beds - one of which was a couch - because there was a bottom sheet, a folded blanket and then another sheet acting as a bed cover. No top sheet. Staff helpful but we were very disappointed. Tarrif paid did not match the quality of the room - very basic as there was only dining chairs to sit on - couch was made into bed and little space to move.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 711val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, as you have mentioned there were issues on the day with rooms not being ready. This was un-acceptable and as the new hotel manager I have since made a number of changes to prevent a similar re-occurrence.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    1,216
    504
    130
    59
See reviews for
469
1,005
194
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great location - no hospitality at reception desk - rooms adequate - lifts broken down at 10pm at night - no staff were there to see if guests ok and if and if they needed assistance to whatever floor they were staying on - if requiring an early wake up call please check with reception twice if it is in place - also at 11pm if at reception counselling skills required as found a group of ladies that had come to Wellington for the WOW and very very tearful as thier rooms had not been available until 6pm - 4hours waiting in the foyer to have access to their rooms - do hope Travelodge reimbursed this group in some way

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for leaving your comments, there were a number of issues in regards to rooms not being ready on time on this particular day. The guest you mentioned were taken care off, changes have been made to avoid any repeat.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

You'll get what you expect. It's clean, usual amenities. Had microwave, fridge and adequate storage. Very good position in centre of city and you decend onto one of the main streets directly. Downside was that we were overlooked by nearby offices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munders123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to respond, happy to read you found the room had what a guest would expect from a Travelodge. One of our main strengths is our central location. Although we are like many hotels in Wellington and surrounded by other buildings.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for a night in a king size bedroom with car park and breakfast. The services was ok apart from a long queue wait at the lounge to be served. The room was nice but not as cleaned as advertised. I do have to agree to some of the users here saying soap scum and the toilet in our unit smell funny. The plates, spoons and forks were generally have either oil/tea stain on them. The plates were even full of finger prints and some leftover stain that has not been washed properly. I give this hotel an average because the location is perfect where the ground floor is the Plimmer step and easy access to Lambton Quay. Generally they need to improve their cleanlinesses..

Room Tip: The higher floor is better as you get a better view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am disappointed to read that you found the rooms were not as clean as they could be. I am working on this with the house keeping team as we strive for improvements. Glad you found the location very good for your visit.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

As my usual hotel in Wellington was booked out, I stayed at the Travelodge for the first time. The room was clean and spacious with a great view over the city. The breakfast restaurant was also very good. Being right in the heart of the city made it a great location for my work as well as close to all the shops and pubs. My only gripe was the outrageous rate for wi-fi that was being charged. The excuse that other hotels charge the same rate just doesn't justify what is a blatant rip off, particularly when there is free services in nearby coffee shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. One of our great strengths is our central location. I will pass on your comments in regards to breakfast onto the team as well as the positive room comments. As for the internet our rates are competitive with other hotels. The cost of internet in hotels is a common complaint in many locations unfortunately the infrastructure required in a hotel is relatively expensive and costs are based around service provider rates. I believe overtime rates will become much cheaper, until this happens hotels will remain a fairly expensive place to log-in. We do offer a 30 minute free service in the bar lounge area.

We hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Wellington sometime in the near future.
Best regards

Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for one night between flight and rental pickup. Excellent harbour view from upper floors. Clean room, comfortable bed. One minute lift down to the city, 5 minutes walk to 'The General Practioner' (nice pub). What more can you ask for? (very good value in AUD)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. It is always our aim to provide our guests with excellent value and comfortable accommodation; I am pleased you found us to your liking. We hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Wellington sometime in the near future.
Best regards

Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Front office staff werent welcoming on arrival and the first impression we got of our rooms was that this was definitely not four star. House keeping arrived late the next day and told us that they were not able to clean, when we queried this, the unfriendly lady explained that she would check with her manager who never got back to us. They finally sent some-one to our room 30 minutes later, although she was a student working part time, she was friendly, efficient and the only star in that hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to pass on your feedback in regards to our hotel. I am pleased that you had a nice welcome from our front office team. However, you made mention that our hotel is not four star. Our rating comes from Qualmark, the Tourism New Zealand official ratings service www.qualmark.co.nz In regards to your issue with housekeeping I will be sure to follow-up, feedback like this helps us to improve our service.

Kind regards

Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing