We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact, convenient and high up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Compact, convenient and high up”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our room, a deluxe, was on the 22nd floor, with panoramic views of the sea and harbour, and a few other towers.

It was very contemporary in style, very clean and with new looking furnishings. It was compact but I loved the views so much that that really didn't matter.

The inclusion of a microwave - brilliant for us - meant that we could make a very simple meal and eat it in style at the table while watching the storm outside!

The ensuite was well designed and similarly new-looking.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidonia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Sidonia01,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind Regards
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    1,215
    504
    130
    59
See reviews for
469
1,005
194
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham sussex
Level Contributor
267 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

fine for a quick visit to Wellington.well situated. Parking was expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear suejm,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Our parking is $20 per night which is a very competitive rate when compared to the other Wellington hotels. We always have parking inclusive specials available both online and by booking direct.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind regards
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a good hotel (not like English Travelodges), is centrally situated and very good value for money. Have stayed there twice and will go back. Enough said!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingsince1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Travellingsince1962,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
Great to hear that you will be coming back to stay with us for a third time! .
The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had 2 nights in Wellington and were happy with the room. The views were of other buildings but we were not expecting a view. We were near cafes and the gondola ride to the top of the botanic gardens. We did not have wine glasses in our room and when I called they were there in a matter of seconds with our glasses. Very happy:)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Judy S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We always try our best to accommodate all guest requests as quickly as possible.
The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed on the 22nd floor (top) in a Superior Room, the room was just a single room, largish but with old and tired decor. There is a view of the city (not much of the water) from the large windows which in Wellington it is probably too windy to open.

This hotel is not 4 star, it is 3 star. There is nothing about this hotel that is 4 star, maybe 20 years ago when the decor was new.

The shower pressure was poor but we were very high up. The hotel is well located on Lambton Quay.

Would not recommend a stay here if there are alternatives.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Liverpoolst,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Travelodge Wellington was only built in June 2009 and is one of the newest hotels in Wellington. Our rooms are designed to be everything you need without the fuss.
We have harbour view rooms that are available as an option when you make your reservation.
We have our 4 star rating from Qualmark which is owned and operated by New Zealand tourism. Please feel free to contact Qualamrk for any further information. The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel is located in a great location off the main street. I was on the 19th floor. It was clean and roomy for the 2 of us. The service deskman, Don, was very helpful. He assisted us when we had to change flights. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcomesnaturally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear travelcomesnaturally,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind Regards
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nz
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Work use this place as our nominated hotel when staying in Wellington. Room smallish but acceptable given the reasonable price. Central location. Would stay again also if I was footing the bill.

One complaint was only one towel in my bathroom. I'm all for being clean and green sometimes but a second towel wouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterwingsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear WaterwingsNZ,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
I am very pleased to read that you are regular corporate guests of ours. We very much value you as a customer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind regards
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Toga Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing