We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Functional Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Functional Hotel.”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Business like hotel is clean, comfortable and functional. We arrived after 2pm but were told the room was not ready, but a very friendly receptionist quickly found another room and gave us a choice of having that room or waiting for the room that was originally allocated to us. We chose the room that he found on the 20th floor which had good views and was quiet. The hotel is in a great central location and can be accessed from the road level or from a different level depending where you are coming from. We arrived by intercity bus at platform 9 and had a 15 minute walk.
The rooms have a fridge and microwave and coffee making facilities but no toaster. We were disappointed by the lack of channels on the sky tv, but felt this was a money making scheme to get people to pay for movies.
The other annoyance was the Chargeable internet which was free in other cheaper motels, again this seems to be another way of getting more money out of people. We tried to connect to see the fees but it did not seem to work so resorted to our own dongle to get online.
Overall the hotel was a good option for central Wellington but is rather characterless businesslike hotel, and would be better if the Wifi and Sky were inclusive.
Also quite noisy on saturday night

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Steveissy,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuble feedback.
I'm pleased to read that you found our hotel location so great.
Please accept my apologies that the internet was not working correctly during your stay.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    1,252
    515
    136
    62
See reviews for
492
1,032
200
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Istay here on business for 3 nights every 6 weeks. If you have a big budget it's good. Otherwise you'll find the rooms poorly equipped. Only limited TV channels but for the rediculous price of $19.00 you can book an in house movie.

They provide a microwave but no bowels, cooking utensils or can opener.

The room size is good and the king sized beds comfortable but the early morning collection trucks, as many as 3 a night a very disturbing. My advice, wear earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Kassie54,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
We always have a movie special on for $29.95 that you can watch as many movies as you like in 24 hours.
Please just ask any of our friendly team next time you are here for additional kitchen items.
Thank you for the feedback regarding the collection trucks. They are not anything to do with Travelodge Wellington but, I will investigate with the companies they are associated with to see if their schedule can be changed.
The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

A small box room on the 15th floor looking directly into an apartment building. Too hot with windows shut - too noisy with them open! Have they never heard of double glazing here?
Breakfast buffet - tinned fruit ( its summer! ) plus fresh apple, orange and pineapple. Bread for toasting and instant coffee. Good strong shower but soaked the tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Sue G,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with you feedback. We have many deals available to stay with us that can be booked both online and directly at the hotel that include larger rooms as well as harbour views. All of our rooms have double glazing as we are an inner city hotel.
The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was adequate if a little small. Very friendly staff. Rooms are a little run down i thought. Very comfy bed/tv etc...Breakfast buffet was brill. A little impersonal because of the size of hotel - stayed on 18th floor. I was alone and did find the entrance off Lambert Quay(?) a little shabby and late at night a little intimidating. Unfortunatly stayed here during the Sevens weekend so room was overpriced as was entire accomodation in Wellington i suspect! All in all a nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceL579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Janice L,
The Team at Travelodge Wellington and I are delighted to hear you enjoy staying with us so much. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and were really happy.

There was plenty of parking in a multi-storey car park attached to the hotel.

The room was comfy, had everything we needed, bed, tea/ coffee and kettle, tv and nice bathroom.

The location could not have been better, the main hotel exit lead onto Lamberton Quey (very central).

We chose not to eat at the hotel as we felt it was too pricey, but there were loads of places to eat for breakfast/ lunch/ dinner.

All the main attractions were within walking distance (Ta Papa, Botanical gardens, Parliament, Museums, Westpac stadium, etc etc etc.... so many so close!)

Would defiantly stay here again if we were in Wellington.

The only downside for us, the internet terminals were down for 3 days but we managed fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHutchy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear MrsHutchy06,
The Team at Travelodge Wellington and I are delighted to hear you enjoy staying with us so much. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We came over for Wellington 7s and stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The location is awesome, only 10 minute walk from popular Courtenay street and right in the middle of town close to everything. The rooms are quite small and our room was right outside the elevator which made it noisy at times. Bit over priced, but we expected that due to Wellington 7s. Definitely would Stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear tassie7,
The Team at Travelodge Wellington and I are delighted to hear you enjoy staying with us so much. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this travelodge. It has just had a complete refit. The rooms were clean and well furnished but not roomy. The hotel is very close to the main shopping area and within easy walking distance to all the main attractions in Wellington. very close to Bullcott St Bistro which we ate at, very nice but go early!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryh1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear maryh1972,
The Team at Travelodge Wellington and I are delighted to hear you enjoy staying with us so much. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing