We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formulaic hotel which does the basics but lacks atmosphere. Get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Formulaic hotel which does the basics but lacks atmosphere. Get what you pay for.”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Handy location in the CBD, a short walk or bus ride from the office or the bars on Courteney Place.
Location can be noisy with the windows open but closing them was effective - if stuffy.

Room was smallish and a bit grim, even though shiny and new after a recent refurbishment. Not a place to entice you in but considering the price it's reasonable.

A clean and efficient place, but avoid the restaurant. As other reveiwers have noted, there are endless choices very nearby for breakfast & other meals at better prices.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgtnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for feed back regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Wellington.

Our King Rooms are standard size for hotels. We do have larger rooms available for guests who require more space and would like to upgrade.

Travelodge Wellington was fully refurbished in 2009 to a very high standard. Its rooms are fresh modern, clean and have everything that either a business or leisure traveler could need at great value for money. In addition the Travelodge Team pride themselves on their guest service.

The recently opened Steps Restaurant provides excellent meals for both breakfast and dinner again at great value for money.

We hope to welcome you again to Travelodge Hotels in the future.

Please feel free to contact me if you wish to discuss your stay further.

John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Travelodge Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    1,252
    515
    136
    62
See reviews for
492
1,032
200
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

once you can get into the hotel its great, the hard part is in driving to it as Wellington is all one way systems and no right turns although we could see the place had a map we had to eventually ask at the police office on how to get onto right road!! the staff are excellent for all tourist needs, the room was bright, clean, comfy bed with plenty room to walk around the shower was brill..parking costs $20 a day that was cheap by parking charges in wellington. You do not need a car to explore this city everything is within walking distance

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizilizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

The team at Travelodge Hotels are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Wellington and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Traveldoge Hotels in the near future.


Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights during the week - and lucky for me - I had a room on the 15th floor above the pub - it was really noisy with loud music and people screaming coming from below - I can only imagine what it would be like on the weekend!
The room itself was not very spacious, but it was clean. The coffee and milk was not restocked, so I had to ring reception to get it for breakfast.
Parking was too expensive, $20 per day - seems to be a rip off when there were a lot of parking lots advertising 24hr parking spaces for less than $10.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Wellington.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with bar you mentioned to improve our overall guest experince.

If you would like to disscuss in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

The place itself isn't too bad - with the standard facilities. I am having trouble figuring out the difference between what Travelodge considers a King Room - the room wasn't that big but maybe I have the wrong idea about hotels (after all, I don't stay in them all the time). The bathroom itself could have done with a bit of cleaning up and I even asked room service to sort it out, but it still looked dirty.

If you're carrying luggage, you'd hope the mall next door to it is open because it's a bit of a climb up stairs otherwise.

Bonus points for the pub underneath the Travelodge!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbones999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you for feed back regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Wellington.

Our King Rooms are standard size for hotels. We do have deluxe king rooms for guests who require more space.

I will pass your comments regarding the bathroom on the housekeeping team to increase guest satisfaction.

There are two entrances to Travelodge Wellington, one off Lambton Quay up the stairs you mentioned and another on Gilmer Terrace which is also where our car park is situated and has no steps.

We hope to welcome you again to Travelodge Hotels in the future.

Please feel free to contact me if you wish to discuss your stay further.

John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Travelodge Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We arrived at the hotel a few minutes before the check-in time and we had booked a spacious double room with harbor view because we were suppose to be in Wellington for 8 nights!
We got the smallest room on the whole floor and not the best harbor view at all! We had to keep the clothes ind the suitecase because there were no other place to keep it!
The day we got the room had there not been flush down in the bathroom after someone had done nr. 2!
There were no changing of clean sheets at all although we had been there for 8 nights and the housekeeping were really lazy! The breakfast was terrible and we had to pay 23 NZD per person and you could go out at a café and get the best breakfast for under 20 NZD and a tasty coffe.
I will never and ever stay at Travelodge Hotel again although the location was not bad at all!
The staff in the Reception did not really know the best connection to bus services and the price of a cab.
Don´t expect the room you are booking!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faroasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Wellington.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with the Housekeeping and Front Office department to improve our overall guest experience.

I would very much like to speak with you regarding your stay with us. If you would also like to speak with me please feel free to contact me at jbristowe@travelodge.co.nz

Kind Reagards,

John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Really like the location here, close to the waterfront and we were able to check in early. Only negative was the garbage pickup at 5:12am.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaryShonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cere
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Spent 3 nights here and for the price we paid, the hotel easily matched our expectations. Ok the rooms are smaller than other Travelodges we have stayed in and the biggest niggle was the noisy refuse trucks early in the morning but overall Its the great location that makes this hotel worth staying at.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing