We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend recently when in Wellington watching the All Blacks play.

I am not going to comment on price as given it was a rugby weekend it was dearer than what I imagine would normally be paid so that is not really relevant.

Other times when we have stayed in Wellington we have stayed at the Westpac Stadium end of town. So staying here was a first for us.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although the apartment was on the small side it had a wee kitchenette which was very useful for us. I do not think they all have kitchenettes so it is worth asking. Maybe that takes away on living space though and it did mean the living area tv was in sort of an odd spot but not of any great importance. There was an outdoor balcony but that is tiny and 15 stories up the balcony was not good for my husband's vertigo - but it did mean you could open a door to the fresh air.

Having a separate bedroom is always nice as well.

The view over the harbour was very good and the unit got a bit of sun as well which was very nice..

It was a little dated as is the decor of the building itself but that did not bother us. It was clean and tidy and the shower was very good I though.

It was also handy to Cuba street and we have a number of enjoyable walks around the area - and it is still handy to Lambton Quay for shopping etc. and the waterfront, Te Papa etc

There is no restaurant or bar area or gym or any of those sort of hotel services attached to the hotel (I think because it may have been a apartment block originally perhaps that has been converted to an apartment hotel and not a purpose built hotel?) but the restaurant they use is just around the corner I gather and is connected to a sister hotel. We did not get to the restaurant so cannot comment on that. I think I also saw that room service provided via this other restaurant.

At check in there were no porters trying to take your bags - now most bags have wheels on the bottom I wonder how they keep occupied! so from my perspective I quite liked that as it is one thing I find a bit frustrating at other hotels when I am ok with wheeling my own bags - although I am sure a lot of people like that and it does give people jobs.

The people at reception were very helpful and when I mentioned my newspaper had not arrived one morning shortly after that they delivered one to us which was appreciated.

All in all it was a good base to see the city from and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jochnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear jochnz

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay.

We hope to be of service again in the near future.

Regards
Ankit Nagpal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 561 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of our North Island tour and found the place to be amazing. The room was magnificent although a generator type noise on the roof I found irritating especially at night. That said, I could find no other fault with the room or the staff who were most helpful. Whilst there is no restaurant available, staff were more than willing to point us to the best Wellington had to offer.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a view of Wellington Harbour which was well worth a few dollars extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear John T

Thank you for taking the time to post such great feedback, we very much appreciate the comments you made and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Solo trip to Wellington. Good deal on wotif. Nice apartment w separate bedroom. Minimal noise and ideal location. Television viewing not ideally arranged but didn't matter as I was away most of the time. Two night stay worked out well

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Susan M

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay.

We hope to be of service again in the near future.

Regards
Ankit Nagpal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great hotel, very clean, service good and one bedroom apartment had everything needed all in a great location central to everything. Stayed for 3 nights - will stay here every time I travel to Wellington now.

Room Tip: Ask for a apartment with kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy19612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Wendy19612013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Grand Mercure Wellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ankit Nagpal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We found the Grande Mercure to be very tidy and clean. The service was fantastic. There was only one problem, the fan in the bathroom was really loud and carried on for 15 minutes after the light had been switched off. A small issue really.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keely T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Keely T

Thank you for taking the time to post such great feedback, we very much appreciate the comments you made and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed twice, both times in September (winter). Each time in a one-bed apartment overlooking the harbour. The kitchen is small, and adequate. Similarly the bathroom. And in common with most of New Zealand, the heating is poor and windows drafty.
Location in the centre of town is great with buses and taxis at the corner.
Recommend shopping at New World on the harbour front (15 mins walk).

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin042042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Robin042042

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bed apartment.

Staff where extremely friendly and helpful across the board, the best you could find and they are very lucky to have them.

However the apartment was terrible. We do not complain or write reviews ever but here goes.

Our apartment on level 7 had a basin which looked like it was a meth lab at some point. It badly needed replacing, it was disgusting. The bed bowed in the middle like it has seen too many passionate nights and needed replacing. There was once a television in the bedroom of the apartment but it was obviously never replaced when it was broken/stopped working/was stolen etc.

All in all, a run down place that needs looking after and some money spent and not deserving of a major hotel chain name. Or they could do nothing and turn it into a backpackers because that is how it will end up in 10 years the way its going.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InverellBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear InverellBrisbane

Many thanks for your feedback of you recent stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington. I am disappointed that some aspects of your stay have not met our usual standard and I apologize for the inconvenience caused. I have passed on your comments to my team and be rest assured issues pointed out have been addressed. It is our hope that we have an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ankit Nagpal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington
Grand Mercure Wellington
#20 of 47 in Wellington
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.4 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
883 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments

Address: 130 Victoria Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6142, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $82 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in the heart of it all, 5 minutes to everywhere you want to be. Our very warm welcome and personal service will make you feel at home, while outside the front door the very best of Wellington awaits, right in the heart of all the shopping, entertainment and business districts. Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments features superb, modern, spacious apartment style hotel studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with the best city & harbour views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central City Apartment Wellington
Hotel Central City Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing