We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and close to everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The apartment was a little tired and the whole place needs a little lift. What makes this place great is the staff!!!!!!!!!! The staff bent over backwards to make our stay wonderful, they couldn't do enough for us. The location is awesome and we were in walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: If it's windy, don't stay up high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Paule B,

Many thanks for your feedback of your stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay; I have passed on your positive comments to all our staff members.
We look forward to welcome you in near future.

Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 561 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently spent three days in this apartment, which had everything plus ... loved the decor plus the bed was very comfortable, ... and no street noise. Immaculately clean ... Also, staff were really helpful. One of the guys stood in the rain helping me to park and got soaking wet in the process, yet he still managed to smile!! the location was handy to everything, which made it perfect. It didn't have a restaurant but that didn't matter as Wellington has a lot of really nice restaurants. Would I stay there again ... you betcha!!

Room Tip: the back where it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Gay T,

Many thanks for your feedback for your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed on your comments to our team and it definitely motivates all of us to provide more consistent good quality service for all our guest.

We look forward to welcome you in near future.

Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Grand Mercure Central City Apartments are in a great location in the center of Wellington and are at a very affordable rate. The rooms are visually nice enough but are let down by a few things that I just can't get past.
The bed in our room was terrible. So much so that on the second night I got up and moved to sleep on the couch which was mercifully more comfortable (albeit much shorter than me). Couple that with the room not having air-conditioning, the noise outside (it was hot and needed to open a window (the noise was fine with the windows closed), and the bathroom being done as cheaply as possible and I would not be heading back in a hurry or recommending it to anyone.
The good news is these are some pretty fixable problems and should they be resolved it could be worth a crack for some basic accommodation in Wellington.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Dave
Many thanks for your feedback of your stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington, My sincere apologies as your stay didn’t go as you perceived. We have taken a note of all your points’ mentioned and I assure you that we are working towards improving them.
We wish to welcome you back in near future.
Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights expecting a studio so it was a wonderful surprise to be upgraded to a one bedroom apartment on arrival. Comfortable accomodation in a very handy location. Some noise from Cuba Street apparent with windows open. Very nice generous shower.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Susan M,
Many thanks for taking time out to post a review for your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a really good experience.
We look forward to welcome you in near future.

Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed in hotel for 10 days ,the rooms are very clean with beautiful interiors.The Room service is also very good. The reception staffs both Deepak and Jasdeep are very helpful and friendly. Totally I m very much satisfied with their service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Ramya,
Many thanks for taking time out and posting a review for Grand Mercure Wellington, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will make sure that your comments are passed on to all our staff specially the staffs mentioned by you.
We look forward welcoming you in near future.
Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My friend and I wanted to stay in this hotel. Booked a room. It was satisfactory but upon chatting with the Reception staff about upgrades and layout of the rooms etc, they gave the impression that nobody was better than them. Both Deepak and Jasdeep became quite argumentative thinking that we were wanting a free upgrade, whereas that was not the case. Very poor customer service, we asked for a refund on the just-booked room and walked out....
We will never go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear BG,
Many thanks for taking time out and posting a review. Regarding your concerns about the staff members at Grand Mercure Wellington I would like you to know that the Staff here is really professional and have always put guest service as our main priority to every guest. Our staff have always been known for their excellent service and always go extra mile to make sure all out guest are comfortable and have an enjoyable stay.
I am happy to discuss with you regarding the situation you had if you choose too, please do not hesitate to email mail on hotelmgrgm@primehotels.co.nz
Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Booked to stay one night but ended up staying two. Location close to good shopping, restaurants. Staff lovely, nothing a problem. Will be going back. Booked using online which is very easy. Was given a taxi voucher from the hotel to go to the airport which was unexpected.

Room Tip: This hotel doesn't have a restaurant but this isn't a problem as there are very good restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Nicki F,
Many thanks for taking time out and posting a review for your stay with the Grand Mercure Wellington. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, your review will be passed on to all our staff members.

The Team of Grand Mercure Wellington look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington
Grand Mercure Wellington
#20 of 47 in Wellington
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.4 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
883 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments

Address: 130 Victoria Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6142, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $82 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in the heart of it all, 5 minutes to everywhere you want to be. Our very warm welcome and personal service will make you feel at home, while outside the front door the very best of Wellington awaits, right in the heart of all the shopping, entertainment and business districts. Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments features superb, modern, spacious apartment style hotel studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with the best city & harbour views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central City Apartment Wellington
Hotel Central City Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing