We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would I stay again? Yes and no”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had two stays at this hotel. One in Dec 2012 and January 2013. One stay was a studio and second stay a one bedroom.

The hotel has both good and bad points to it, but meets the basic needs for a stay. The hotel has recently rebranded to Mercure but still has the old hotels sign up outside. There was a smell of paint in the hotel as renovations continue.

The good points:
- Very handy to Courtenay Place and Cuba Mall which are the heart of the city
- Staff are very friendly and helpful
- The rooms are quite modern and fresh
- The shower had good pressure, and there was a microwave in the room so good for heating a snack.
- The carpets are all new and the room had nice decor and prints on the wall.

The not so good points:
- The bed itself in both rooms didn't feel to a high quality and quite an uncomfortable nights sleep
- If you are in a hotel front room there is alot of outside noise all night of people screaming and partying
- There was alot of banging in the night as people came and went from their hotel rooms. I could hear the lift going up and down all night even though my room wasn't next to the lift.
- There is no air conditioning which means you have to open windows to cool the room and then exposure to outside noise.
- The bathroom has a venting fan which comes on when the light is switched on and runs for about another 10 minutes when the light is switched off. I found this quite annoying and made the bathroom cold and drafty.
- The one bedroom only has a tv in the lounge and not in the bedroom. There was a plug and tv aerial connection in the bedroom so maybe they are planning to add a tv later.

So if you can sleep through outside noise, then you should be fine. If you prefer a firm bed with good springs, then you might also find the bed not the best for you.

At the right price, this hotel will be fine, and probably ok on non Friday and weekend nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlatinumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 559 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

No restaurant , reception staff don't give you any help with your luggage. We booked before we arrived and were supposed to be charged but arrived and were told this they had forgotten to do. This was the only accomadation that told us this. The rooms need a better clean.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Notice255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Notice255068
Many thanks for posting your feedback about your stay, I am terribly disappointed to hear about your stay with us. From your feedback it appears that we have not met your expectations.

I would love the opportunity to discuss your stay with you personally if you are willing. My email address is hotelmgrgm@primehotels.co.nz

Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had a terrible job finding this place as the name was obscured by scaffolding. We had not been told that there was no parking at the hotel, and had to double park to unload our luggage which did cause a few problems. The so called 'superb harbour view' from the upper floors (we were on 13) was just about possible from the bedroom if you craned your neck. The balcony was microscopic and overlooked a car park and the building next door. The location wasn't too bad with most attractions within walking distance, and we do have to say that the recpetion staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinomasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Dinomasters,
Thank you for taking time out to post your feedback for your stay at the Grand Mercure. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have taken a note regarding your room, regarding the scaffolding due to some recent refurbishment at the hotel we have to put it up in front of the building, and as we do not have any car parks available at the hotel, we do not advertise it but we do help guest by directing them to the nearest car park buildings.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and your concerns, and look forward to welcome you back at Grand Mercure Wellington in near future.
Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Location was excellent, the staff were friendly. Accommodated my every need. The room was clean, roomy and well appointed.
My only gripe was the ordinary TV reception but the building front was under renovation so I put it down to something to do with that.

Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Yonton

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed our location and the service provided and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Ankit Nagpal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I arrived in the early hours of the morning on a flight delayed from Australia (I had commented the flight was arriving later in the evening on the website). The desk supervisor was waiting to greet me. The room had been aired and I had a great sleep. I had arranged for a late check out when I arrived late so I didn't need to rush in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller100113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear traveller100113

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the services provided by our team.
Thank you again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in a near future.

Kind regards
Ankit Nagpal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lion3007
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is pretty much in the centre of the city which is great for tourists or others. The room was very clean and tidy and has everything you'd need. The staff was very friendly and even gave me a late checkout at no extra cost when I called at 2am :)

I think because the building is old the rooms aren't as expensive as other hotels in Wellington, which is fine, actually better, because it has been refurbished and it still looks lovely and new but you get a good price. The building can be a bit noisy at times however.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Kat R

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. It is always fantastic to receive positive feedback.
I will pass on your comments to our team, it will serve as encouragement to all of our employees as we endeavour to constantly improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I am looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind regards
Ankit Nagpal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington
Grand Mercure Wellington
#18 of 46 in Wellington
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments

Address: 130 Victoria Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6142, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $81 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in the heart of it all, 5 minutes to everywhere you want to be. Our very warm welcome and personal service will make you feel at home, while outside the front door the very best of Wellington awaits, right in the heart of all the shopping, entertainment and business districts. Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments features superb, modern, spacious apartment style hotel studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with the best city & harbour views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central City Apartment Wellington
Hotel Central City Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing