We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$129
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Best Western Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$103
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$84
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$182
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$191
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$46
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
$211
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wellesley Boutique Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$75
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Quality Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$135
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
$112
$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveler rating
83
222
176
71
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
222
176
71
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelgreat locationone bedroom apartmentcentral cityabel tasmanshort stayte papasmall kitchenetteeasy walkan upgradehandy locationwould stay againcar parkingharbourtoasterheatingcafes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 587 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This apartment hotel is a bit of a shambles. 3 rooms per floor. I had one on 10th floor. one window looked out across the street with a glimpse of water, the rest all faced a wall of the building across the alley.
Bascially, just a bit crap. To make it an "apartment" hotel, they had simply put a large desk in the lounge. On it sat a microwave, and under it a fridge. In the drawers were hidden a toaster, kettle etc. To use any of the extra stuff, you had to unplug the fridge or microwave, which was a danger as the plugs were broken. No sink, so you had to use the bathroom to fill the kettle etc. hence the bathroom sink was all battered.
Only one other plug in the lounge,m into which was plugged the TV, so couldnt plug in a laptop or anythign else. Had to ask reception for extenstion cords and multi plugs.
Windows were flithy. Rest of place was clean, just battered and worn out.
Deal I had included breakfast, which was brought on a tray to room each morning. instead of leaving it outside, they bang door til you get up for it. Dont pay for the breakfast unless its in the business room rate along with your wifi. Terrible waste. Wifi was ok.
Wouldnt be back. a bit of a kip really.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, see if you can get a room on the top floors.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCAH, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
I am deeply sorry on this occasion that you were not happy with your stay. I am investigating internally in order to find out more details from your stay. I treat all feedback seriously and would welcome further more detailed comments from you. Please feel free to contact me on 021962256 to discuss this further, or alternatively send me an email at fomcc@primehotels.co.nz.

Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times and found the staff to be friendly and good location. Its a tired hotel that desperately needs a revamp. The cleanliness has been slipping alot lately and I would consider staying elsewhere in the future before considering here again. I had room service turn up at five in the evening and wasn't that convienent when I was contacting clients etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morpheus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCAH, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Hi morpheus123,

Thanks you for taking some time out to write a review for your stay at the Central City Apartment Hotel. I will pass on your kind comments to our staff here and my apologize's for the rooms service & cleanliness, i have already addressed your feed back with our Executive housekeeper and it has been further dsicussed with all the housekeeping staff and supervisor's.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards

Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Check in was fine, polite. On entering our room level 9, the one bedroom room was well set out, but the kitchenette was 70's decor, very poorly decorated. Suite in lounge was old, and dated and very uncomfortable. We went out for dinner, on our return the access card failed to work, so we went down to reception and advised them of our dilemma, to which we got a very short response of "oh, give me your card" and we were given another, no apology, felt like we were a hinderance. The bed.....we may as well have slept on the floor, it was rock hard and the linen was very cheap, the wind was atrocious and the noise was unbelievable, it was not double glazed. Not very happy with our stay. Would be reluctant to recommend

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shellniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCAH, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback, we treat all comments with the utmost seriousness and concerned departments are investigating the matter accordingly.
Kind regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in Feb 2012.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment on one of the upper floors.
The location was very good - easy walk to the more business end of town, aswell as Cuba street mall in the other direction.
Staff were pleasant without doing anything overly great.
Room was a bit tired in terms of the fitout. Carpet was a bit grubby & old. Some cupboards had some paint chips etc. Bathroom looked like it had been updated and was pretty clean. There was a bit of noise from the little bars below - but not too bad. the windows, when shut, blocked out most of it.
The mattresses on the beds were terrible. too old & soft. you had to sleep near the edge of the bed to avoid getting sucked into the middle. Not good for those with bad backs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from one of the higher floors to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 255060Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCAH, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Hi Shellniall,

Many thanks for your kind comments, my apologies for the inconvenience caused to you on your stay at the Central City Apartment Hotel. I have addressed your feedback with all the concerned departments and i am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future
Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here at the end of November For a 21st. We got one of the one bedroom apartments, and the room was lovely! The staff were so friendly upon check in, They allocated a room with a balcony, And The room was divine, clean, modern & central, what more could you ask for !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCAH, Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Hi Tiffany,

Many thanks for your feedback, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with Central City Apartment Hotel and i have already passed your kind comments to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Subodh Ekka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews