We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, no air con, long way from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Nice, helpful staff.

Shower worked well.

No air con and too far from town.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 691 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2009

When I first got to the hotel it seemed really nice. Once I got to my room I saw what looked like potty on my bed and on my friends were little black hairs. I heard many other stories like this from people in my travel group. When I asked the hotel about this, they turned my bed around and said that it was taken care of. The fact is IT WAS STILL DIRTY! They would not give me another room and did not care. My friends and I were yelled at for being too loud even though we truly werent and it was before 10. It did have a nice location and okay food. Overall though it was DIRTY hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelgurl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

I had to double-check the hotel I stayed at was exactly the same one people were commenting about.
My experience at this hotel was horrible. By far the worst in 16 day trip to NZ, and mind you I was travelling on a kind of budget 3 star rating trip.
Reception was unpolite, to say the least. When I arrived at the first room, I was greeted with a very wet bathroom that soaked my feet of water.
Called reception and moved to another room immediately. The second one smelled funny, but I was too tired to try a third one.
Dinner was served on a nice surrounding and food was great. Problem was the service. I ordered 2 glasses of wine, one of them came wrong. I only realised half way through when I decided to sip into my wife's pinot noir - it was actually a shiraz.
Then after eating I ordered a coffee and instead of cappuccino they served us a long black?!?!
As I said, food was good, but the service was horrible all round, from reception to restaurant to room

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chfalcao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

This is a great place to stay as it's very close to the interislander ferry. The restaurant downstairs was superb: the prices were good and it served probably one of the best pasta dishes I've had in my ENTIRE life! The room itself was basic, unfortunately, there was no A/C, but we noticed that this was true of most hotels in NZ. W/ that we found ourselves stuck between a rock & a hard place as either we had to leave the windows closed and roast or open the windows to the blare of traffic. But other than that, everything else was quite convenient, parking's available and we made it to the ferry in a very short amount of time the following morning!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EileenKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We stayed here last week for an overnight stay to attend W.O.W.!!
Couldn't fault the experience from a very fast but friendly check in to similar check out! The room was fairly small, but had everything we needed. It was quiet clean and light. We were 2 minutes walk from The Beehive (parliament building) and approx 10 mins from the CBD and waterfront, close enough for convenience but avoiding the noise of city traffic.Have stayed before and happy to recommend, especially for a one or two night stay. Plenty of nearby cafes and a large supermarket. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but it was reasonably priced and the menu looked interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ruthzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

We stayed here for a bed and breakfast weekend in April 2007. We had an excellent rate (NZ$119 - double) which seemed very reasonable as it included a decent cooked breakfast (including bacon, eggs, sausages and continental selection) and the room was perfectly adequate although very small. Amenities were reasonable. There was a small tv with sky channels, a work desk, a small bathroom with decent shower, the bed was comfortable and the room had tea/coffee facilities and a modern feel. One big advantage was the room had internet access for a resonable cost of just $10 per day. The location was excellent - just a short walk away from the CBD and close to a supermarket and the bars/cafes of the historic suburb of Thorndon. However, I would definitely recommend trying the in-house restaurant - the service and food was amazing!
We would stay again although because of the small size probably for a maximum of 2 or 3 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank TravelBugNZ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

The hotel was better than I had expected for the price. It is a short walk to the Parliament Buildings. There are not many restaurants open for dinner in the area, however we found the hotel restaurant very good. The street was busy, but got quiet after about 10PM. We had only a short drive to the Interisland Ferry the next AM. The streets in Wellington were somewhat confusing, so we are glad we did not have to drive far in Rush hour traffic.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank Webplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.5 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 47 in Wellington
379 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#31 of 47 in Wellington
545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#35 of 47 in Wellington
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges

Address: 24 Hawkestone St | Thorndon, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Wellington)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $74 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently upgraded Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges is located on the doorstep to the CBD and on the edge of the Government and Corporate precincts of Thorndon. The hotel is the closest hotel to Westpac Stadium providing the best location for all your sporting, concerts and major events. The hotel offers FREE WiFi throughout the building. The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges prides itself in providing excellent facilities and all rooms are light, comfortable and fresh. With the back drop of Wellington's famous beautiful hills choose between panoramic views of the Harbour, City Skyline or overlook New Zealand's oldest and historic suburb Thorndon. The Hotel is perfect for both the business, conference and leisure traveler. When staying at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges, the CBD, Lambton Key, bus, train and ferry terminals, Parliament Buildings, Government offices and Botanical Gardens are all on your doorstep. Nothing is better than being accommodated by a hotel which has everything at its feet. Guests of The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges can also enjoy complimentary access to city fitness and competitive pricing for off street car parking. Try our tantalising menu in Glasshouse Restaurant or relax and unwind in Glasshouse Bar. With contemporary cuisine and a beautiful setting overlooking established gardens Glasshouse Restaurant & Bar is perfect for all your dining occasions. Open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week why go anywhere else? Additionally our conference rooms have natural light, air-conditioning, sound proof interconnecting doors and can seat 2 - 150 people. The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges is a 3 Star Plus Qualmark Rated Hotel and has an Enviro-Silver rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing