We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the traveller in a wheelchair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My partner and i stayed two nights last weekend and found the facilities to be perfect for us. Huge bathroom with a wet area shower which is really helpful when you're in a wheelchair. Very comfy bed too. The staff were extremely helpful. Will definitely stay here again should we venture to Wellington again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CPeet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 656 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

After my first visit a couple of years ago, I said I'd be back, and have been, three or four times. I quite like this part of Wellington - my work often takes me to the National library, so am getting to know it quite well. There are nice cafes, an excellent supermarket and more civil servants than I quite know what to do with. I feel almost at home at the Kingsgate.

My last review complained about the internet - this has been fixed and I even had a deal for free internet, which was great. Room is on the cosy side, but it has everything I need. This time round, I used the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. The latter was the standard sort of thing, but I found my dinner to be really good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear NZBarry,

Thank you for your recent contribution on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and have noticed some improvements within the hotel.

If I can do anything to make your next stay more enjoyable than please contact me directly at gm@kingsgatewellington.co.nz.


Kind Regards
Jeff Hermes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I did a little road trip of the lower North Island ending up in Wellington on a Sunday. Found a deal on WOTIF. Yes room not a new modern flash hotel room. But was clean and had very thing we needed. Good shower and a good 32cm TV. Good quiet nights sleep. room rate included a breakfast which was better than expected. Hotel easy walk to city and Parliament etc. Being Sunday had free parking on the street until 8am then we just moved it onto a meter for a few hours.We had a evening meal in the restaurant with a wine, again the hotel had a sweetener for a us 20 per cent off. Yes enjoyed the meal also. Overall we gave out nights stay a 9 out of 10 and yes we would stay again. I could sum it up as good value for the money.



P

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear NZ2.

Thank you for your recent feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and
found it to be value for money. We hope you stay again on your next visit to Wellington.



Regards
Jeff Hermes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Got a good deal for a night here on grabone - was perfect location for attending a function at a friend's place in Thorndon. Would also be great location for the stadium.
Very small room - pretty standard for hotels now, comfortable bed. Cracks in bathroom sink make it look dirty and could do with being replaced.
Breakfast was included in our deal - buffet was fairly standard - the usual hot options which were good, a selection of cereals, only bread left by the toaster- not sure if they had pastries or anything else earlier and only apricot jam left in the spreads. Coffee from the coffee machine was disgusting- not worth joining the queue to make it - I've had better instant!
Overall it was fine for what we paid for it. Would be a good option for attending something at the stadium and you just needed a bed for the night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezza-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Being a Wellington resident I'd often wondered about staying here but it didnt make sense while I lived there. House sold though and one last night before driving north was my opportunity. It was great, the staff were very helpful. The room though simple was all we needed. I booked online and benefited from a deal which gave free unlimited wi-fi for our stay.
New World supermarket just a couple of minutes walk if you need a snack - and didnt want room service which I must say looked very tempting. Next to the supermarket is Starfish Fish & Chips. YUM. Or you are close enough to town to experience many other restaurants,
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_choccie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear kiwi_choccie_11,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay
and found the location convenient.

If you are leaving Wellington we wish you all the best with your future endeavors and hope to see you on your next trip to the capital.

Regards
Jeff Hermes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

And we keep returning for a reason.
We're currently in room 811. The rooms have beautiful views, and we love watching the city slowly wake up.
Beds are incredibly comfortable, and we both wish we could take it home with us.
Service is friendly, staff are lovely.
Plenty of tea and coffee in our room, which was lovely.
Supermarket really close, and a short walk into town.
Housekeeping is thorough which is appreciated.
We'll be back again :)

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimL1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear JimL,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and as usual it is a pleasure to have you stay again at the hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future and if there is anything that we can do to make your next stay more comfortable than please contact let me know.


Regards
Jeff Hermes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I got a very good 'grab one' deal that helped save money for the two 'not-for-profit' organisations I was working with. (The deal was actually for two people, that would have been an unbelievable bargain). So I opted to stay at the Kingsgate, even though it was some walking distance from my meetings. Friends had warned me that is was a bit run down and that the rooms were small. I have no complaints about the room. It was very adequate, clean and tidy, and the TV selection was better than at some other Millennium Group hotels I have stayed at. The breakfast (included in my package) was also good: a wide selection of Sanitarium cereals, and six, predictable, hot options. My only gripes are the quality (Rivermill) of the toast bread and the lack of teapots for those of us who hate a teabag hanging out of a cup.. For those who like a wholemeal or grain option, the bread available was poor quality indeed. Cheap deals come with fishhooks. In-room wifi at a Millennium hotel is usually an extra cost; here is was $12 per 24 hours. That needs to be factored in when budgeting. As for the location, it is a 25 minute walk to the Cuba St end of town, but that is to be expected with cheap accommodation. Friendly staff, good value, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Wellington is windy; the higher the floor the more one notices the wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MykieHamiltonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear MykieHamiltonL,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. The rooms at the hotel were upgraded about 18 months ago and unfortunately some people still when thinking of the hotel recall the older style of decor.

With regards to the internet we do charge a small fee in the rooms but we also offer complimentary internet in both the hotel foyer and the restaurant and bar. If this was not communicated to you I apologise.

We regards to breakfast our new Executive Chef is currently looking at some improvements that covers areas such as breads. We also offer teapots on request.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you in the near future.


Regards
Jeff Hermes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.5 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#43 of 47 in Wellington
369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#30 of 47 in Wellington
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,799 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
683 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington
Grand Mercure Wellington
#19 of 47 in Wellington
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges

Address: 24 Hawkestone St | Thorndon, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Wellington)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $70 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently upgraded Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges is located on the doorstep to the CBD and on the edge of the Government and Corporate precincts of Thorndon. The hotel is the closest hotel to Westpac Stadium providing the best location for all your sporting, concerts and major events. The hotel offers FREE WiFi throughout the building. The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges prides itself in providing excellent facilities and all rooms are light, comfortable and fresh. With the back drop of Wellington's famous beautiful hills choose between panoramic views of the Harbour, City Skyline or overlook New Zealand's oldest and historic suburb Thorndon. The Hotel is perfect for both the business, conference and leisure traveler. When staying at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges, the CBD, Lambton Key, bus, train and ferry terminals, Parliament Buildings, Government offices and Botanical Gardens are all on your doorstep. Nothing is better than being accommodated by a hotel which has everything at its feet. Guests of The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges can also enjoy complimentary access to city fitness and competitive pricing for off street car parking. Try our tantalising menu in Glasshouse Restaurant or relax and unwind in Glasshouse Bar. With contemporary cuisine and a beautiful setting overlooking established gardens Glasshouse Restaurant & Bar is perfect for all your dining occasions. Open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week why go anywhere else? Additionally our conference rooms have natural light, air-conditioning, sound proof interconnecting doors and can seat 2 - 150 people. The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges is a 3 Star Plus Qualmark Rated Hotel and has an Enviro-Silver rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing