We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy, run down and in dire need of modernisation.”
Review of Bay Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Plaza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just a one night stay thankfully, prior to catching the Picton Inter Islander ferry at the opposite end of the city.
A very dark dreary Hotel with a rundown feel and appearance. The bedroom furniture and particularly the CRT television had seen better days. For our stay the room was very hot, no aircon and with leaving the window open we were woken early by traffic.
$18 to park the car, whilst at weekends there is free street parking at the back.
We felt the single bed in our room had not been changed from the previous occupants so had the linen changed. The only positive thing that can be said is that the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 404 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Made the mistake of choosing two nights accomodation here with work. The rooms where so hot that I had to 'sleep' with my windows, curtains and even door to my room open. I also left the fridge door open and had to take a cold shower at 1am to try and cool down. Needless to say there was no real sleep to be had, just intense discomfort. I don't know if the rooms are artificially heated or what the problem is - but no aircon and no air. This place is inhumane and I wouldn't wish it upon anyone. For the second night I had a little sleep due to ear plugs and sleeping pills. This hotel is my idea of hell.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuckles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here two weeks ago. The room was small, with a CRT old TV. Fuzzy picture. No heat on a chilly morning, and thin walls. Could hear all activity in adjacent rooms---flushing, showers, conversations, and ahem other activities that take place in a bedroom.
Staff is okay. Thin blanket and a rundown look.

Room Tip: Get up high away from street noise and carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Good afternoon,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered with regards to your room allocation. The Bay Plaza is a centrally located central city hotel, with great view; it was disappointing to read your comments regarding your stay.

Customer service is a major focus of the hotel, and it is pleasing to read your comments about the staff, we have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel.

I trust that the experience did not mar your remaining visit to our scenic country and you have returned home with some unforgettable memories.
Regards

Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights and appreciated a high floor. The hotel is old, bathroom is small, but everything was thankfully clean. Staff were nice. Parking is cheaper than some other hotels, but it is not undercover but is off-street. Easy, pleasant stroll along the waterfront into the CBD. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RelaxWheneverYouCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Good morning,
Thanks for your feedback, yes we are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location, with everything within walking distance, and the Bay Plaza Hotel is well situated for a short break in Wellington. With regards to your positive comment about car parking, all central city Wellington hotels charge a fee for car parking and our fee is minimal compared to other hotels, and we are fortunate to have a large space, which is monitored by security cameras and a security company.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed one night with a friend. Lobby and entrance are nice. Rooms are tired and old though. Furniture was worn out. Location and the views are amazing though. Felt a bit expensive for the place. Can get better places for these prices elsewhere in city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Good afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At the Bay Plaza Hotel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views, and we look forward to welcoming you again as a guest at the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice. The rooms are good. They have a good breakfast spread though that is not included in the fare. Wifi is available at extra cost. The location is very convenient and right opposite the harbor close to CBD. They have a good bar as well though you may have great choices in the near by areas. Nice and friendly staff as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikunj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Good afternoon Nikunj

It is certainly rewarding to hear that our efforts to achieve guests' satisfaction are being reached. Customer service is a major focus of the hotel, and it is pleasing to read your comments about the staff members, we have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel.
We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views.
I trust that the you have enjoyed your remaining visit to our scenic country and you have returned home with some unforgettable memories.

Regards

Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Just spent 3 nights there - awaiting our accommodation coming available in Martinborough. Check-in went fine until the receptionist mentioned $18 per day for their parking area. The room was tidy but not very comfortable - and unfortunately we had a very noisy family opposite on day one and for the other two days we had several families with young children - in other rooms - who were allowed to play in the hall way unit fairly late in the evening. All in all - not good value for money and a not too restful start to our Christmas holiday. On a positive - the room service lady was fantastic. Cheery and helpful after a restless nights sleep.

Room Tip: You simply have to make sure your room is away from young families - if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavalier11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Good morning,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Bay Plaza Hotel.
We appreciate that you took the time to leave this comment It will certainly help other travelers choose our mid-range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington, with great views and handy location. Our website does offer a daily room and free car parking rate @ $120.00 inclusive packages available to be booked direct through the hotel’s website www.bayplaza.co.nz or over the telephone, so it is disappointing to read your comment regarding car parking charges. As you will be aware some of our customers do not use this service, so this is why we have a range of different daily room rates.
I trust that the experience did not mar your visit and that you will once again choose Bay Plaza Hotel on your next visit to Wellington.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#22 of 47 in Wellington
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#43 of 47 in Wellington
375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#28 of 47 in Wellington
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $80 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Wellington's exclusive Oriental Parade, the Bay Plaza Hotel is affordable quality accommodation offering harbour and city views in perfect proximity to the Capital's vibrant city centre and superb leisure activities to experience and explore. Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place 2/5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing