We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Bay Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Plaza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just had a great weekend staying there.
Everything about the Hotel, staff, service, parking, food and location was incredibly good.
Very clean, comfortable bed, great view, room service excellent and the meals were a very good size.
Thank you Bay Plaza, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel.
We are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location and rooms with stunning views.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is great to read all your needs were met.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    120
    133
    48
    38
See reviews for
59
173
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
napier
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My partner and I spent a weekend at this very conveniently located hotel. As other reviewers have noted, this location is clearly the hotel's most redeeming feature. The check in was smooth and efficient and the staff member very pleasant indeed. However the front desk area was tired with tatty fittings and a computer that was surely passed its "best before" date. There was NO colour anywhere - no bright artwork or flowers that may bring cheer, just historical photos of the area with people all dead now! This was reflected in the basic room we had (completed with historic photo) where the brightest color was the lemon bar fridge (concealed in a worn cabinet below the TV). Sure it had a wonderful view over the waterfront and harbour, but the poor cleaning, cracked tiles, poor TV reception without Sky access seemed indicative of an indifferent management attitude.

This hotel could be stunning with some imagination and investment. It deserves it.

Room Tip: Ask for room with harbour view - you will be well-rewarded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapierAro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Bay Plaza Hotel. I am sorry if this did not meet your expectations. I will pass on your comments to my team and we hope to have an opportunity to better serve you again in the future.
It was disappointing to read your comments about the artwork, as we receive numerous positive comments about the foyer and room photos; and the fresh foyer and restaurant flowers.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels close proximity to everything in Wellington, and the great views from your hotel room.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Only had a one night stay here but found it to be very friendly and more than adequate at a reasonably low cost. Near to all the restaurants and night life and also the waterfront. All of the staff we met seemed to want to go the extra distance to make us welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable and had all we needed. We would certainly stay again and probably will do in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandBOtaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Good afternoon

Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel.
We are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location and rooms with stunning views.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is great to read all your needs were met.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
303 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here as the final hotel in our cycling Tour of NZ and thus hotel was packaged in our support crew costs. I have no idea what it cost but suspect it is probably overpriced.

We had a room on the 9th floor and the views were brilliant. BUT..... the room looked like it had been furnished with a student's bedsit cast offs. The furniture was so worn. I forgot to take the picture in the end but the fridge/TV cupboard was 'protected' from the massive CRT TV with an upside down piece of cast off carpet!!!!!! In this day and age?! (Oh and the carpet was a vile brown too). The bathroom was poky but functional and was probably the first hotel of the Tour we stayed in where the water stayed in the shower. The windows were ill fitting and the howling Wellington wind whistled through day and night.

The lobby looks smart enough but really hides the fact that this hotel should have been refurbished multiple times over the last 20 years. It feels very much like they are trying to get away with doing as little as possible and to that end they are succeeding.

We stayed here comfortably enough and it served it's purpose. The location is excellent but I'd be in no hurry to go back..... ever.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Good afternoon

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Bay Plaza Hotel.
We appreciate that you took the time to leave this comment It will certainly help other travelers choose our mid-range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington, with great views and handy location.

Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Centrally Located in Wellington near all the shops and restaurants, the room l found to be clean and tidy as you would expect from this type of hotel. From the high room l was allocated the views of the port and the surrounding area are stunning, once again the staff were helpful and could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top of the Hotel for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you feedback with regard to your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel, we are fortunate to have a great central city location, handy to everything with great views. We have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel and are always ready to assist with our guests needs. I trust that the you have returned home with some unforgettable memories of our scenic city, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bay Plaza Hotel.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights 29th and 30th April 2013 in room 1006 on the 10th floor. Staff were friendly and helpful and our room had awesome city and harbour views. The standard of the room was about what I expected for the cost. The room was clean apart from the floor of the wardrobe. Not having flash furniture, AC, even a bathroom with a extractor fan did not detract from us enjoying our stay. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Good afternoon

Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel.
We are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location and rooms with stunning views.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is great to read all your needs were met.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stopped at for 1 night in March 2013 in a twin room.

Summary
A modern & comfortable hotel in the heart of Wellington City Centre, with city & harbour views from the rooms.

This review is based on my stay in room 1102 which is on the 11th/top floor .

The rooms amenities include: 1x double bed & 1 bed made from the sofa, coffee table & chairs, fridge, sky TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron and board, in room safe, WIFI access at cost.

Hotel amenities include:- Restaurant, bar & lounge, free drink on arrival.

Located on Wellington’s Oriental Parade with a short easy walk to the waterfront and CBD. A supermarket is located across the road from the hotel.

My room (1102) was a clean, spacious and modern with city and harbour views.There was no air con and on the night I stopped here, it was warm so I opened the window to let in some air, unfortunately I also let in the noises expected from a Capitol City. I didn't particularly like the second bed was made up from the sofa.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and is the standard fare, bacon, sausages, hash browns, tomatoes, beans, mushrooms, selection of breads/toast, cereals, pastries, tea, coffee and fruit juice served as a self service buffet.

Overall I would happily stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TortMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Good evening,
We appreciate you making these comments. We are a mid-range value for money property in the heart of Wellington and it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will help other travellers choose our hotel. I trust that the you have returned home with some unforgettable memories of our scenic city, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bay Plaza Hotel.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,565 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#30 of 46 in Wellington
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Property: Bay Plaza Hotel
Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Wellington's exclusive Oriental Parade, the Bay Plaza Hotel is affordable quality accommodation offering harbour and city views in perfect proximity to the Capital's vibrant city centre and superb leisure activities to experience and explore. Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place 2/5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing