We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated for access to all of Wellington.”
Review of Bay Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well situated for access to all of Wellington.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel - because it is so handy to walk to the attractions . The rooms could do with updating but overall its value for money . The TV in our room flickered really badly and the sound came and went . The Fridge made a lot of noise during the night switching on and off. However , the rooms are very clean and the staff are really friendly and helpful . Views of the harbour are wonderful .

Room Tip: Get a room with a harbour view if you can - the rooms at the back dont have such a nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Great to see we welcomed you back to Bay Plaza Hotel for your return stay.
Yes we are fortunate to have a great central city location, with great views, and easy walking to all the city attractions.
Your comments regarding the TV and fridge have been noted; we are currently in the process of replacement of the TV’s and fridges.
We do have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is good to read all your needs were met.
Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    120
    131
    48
    37
See reviews for
59
172
33
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Lucky I booked early because this was the weekend of the notorious 7s tournament in Wellington. Stepping off the Airport Flyer in Courtenay Place it was a short walk to the entrance. The staff were polite, informed and helpful. From the 5th floor the view of the city and harbour were sensational. The city is accessible on foot via the waterside walkway and Courtenay Place was abuzz. Luggage hold was free even post-checkout.
Some minor issues: expensive WIFI and paper thin walls (the room next to me was abuzz as well!!) However, I still got a good night's sleep and left feeling positive about my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rh_slash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Great to see you enjoyed your stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel. Yes we are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location, with everything within walking distance. You picked a great weekend to visit Wellington - weather and fun wise!!. We do have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is good to read all your needs were met.
Thanks Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location you can walk to all the attractions in the town. We were told the hotel had undergone a recent refurb I think this was the communal areas as the rooms were extremely dated. However, we did have a good view of the harbour. There was a problem with room allocation but we were in a large tour group but it was quickly sorted. Staff were friendly and breakfast was lovely, eggs cooked to your liking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Good morning
Thank you feedback with regard to your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel, we are fortunate to have a great central city location, handy to everything with great views. We have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel and are always ready to assist with our guests needs. I trust that the you have returned home with some unforgettable memories of our scenic country.


Regards

Eileen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
362 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed two nights and got their package deal which includes a free breakfast, a $24 value. Be sure to ask for a harbor view. The rooms are very basic, nothing fancy. Good water pressure in the showers. The on site bar/restaurant is nice and if you order a drink you get 1/2 free Internet per drink! The site is within walking distance of everything and there are numerous great restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: Be sure to request up high and harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Good morning,
Thanks for your positive comments. Yes we are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location, with everything within walking distance. We do have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is good to read all your needs were met.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a fab location which to me makes up for the slightly dated decor. Rooms are very clean and staff are friendly and helpful.
Location is great, easy walking distance to restaurants, cafes, museum, shopping and public transport.
We often stay here if we are in Wellington for a one night stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NZus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Great to see you enjoyed your stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel. Yes we are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location, with everything within walking distance. We do have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is good to read all your needs were met.
Thanks Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Cheap and a great location...
2nd time I stayed here... the location is the biggest plus, close to Courtney Place and the nightlife of Wellington...
The rooms are basic with a vintage bathroom.... looks like something out of the 70s...
The are clean and comfortable.
I will come back again and again for the location....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otagopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Good morning

Thank you feedback with regard to your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel, great to see your return visit was up to your expectations. Yes we are fortunate to have a great central city location, handy to everything. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.

Regards

Eileen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights November 26 to 28. The room was dirty, toilet roll holder kept falling out, TV was terrible,no A/C and windows that would only open 4 to 5 inches due to being on 10th floor. The sun came up and made the room very hot we could not stay in until dusk.Staff were not to helpfull. No breakfast bowls or spoons provided and had to go to restarant or foyer to obtain. Bed clothes were stained so we removed before sleeping. Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy (well). Will never return to this place. The only up side was the location.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good afternoon
Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered with regards to your room allocation. The Bay Plaza is a centrally located central city standard hotel, with great view; it was disappointing to read your comments regarding your stay. Neither kitchen facilities nor air conditioning are available at the hotel and we do not advertise this. We do have the security fasteners on all the windows for safety reason, but we do offer portable fans if required.
I trust that the experience did not mar your remaining visit to our scenic country and you have returned home with some unforgettable memories.
Happy New Year!!
Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#22 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Property: Bay Plaza Hotel
Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Wellington's exclusive Oriental Parade, the Bay Plaza Hotel is affordable quality accommodation offering harbour and city views in perfect proximity to the Capital's vibrant city centre and superb leisure activities to experience and explore. Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place 2/5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing