We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“world class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2010

A top hotel with top facilities in a top location - definately world class

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakoRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,464 - 1,470 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed our first night at the Quest on Lambton and were disappointed. The second night we chose to stay at the Copthorne. It was more expensive, but we felt that it was worth it. Our room faced out onto Oriental Bay, and it was really nice, cozy, and comfortable. One interesting/ cool feature was that there was a window in the bathroom that looked into the bedroom. We had a great night's sleep at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCWCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Thanks for making our stay with you an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie57604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Great hotel, very clean and courteous staff. Location is good with so much withing walking distance and if going into the city the walk along the wharves is a joy. Good breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Beautiful outlook toward the lights of the CBD. The food catered for our conference was fine, room service prompt and nice for breakfast. Lots of recreation opportunities close by for the whole family, indoor pool, playground close by with sandy beach. Promenade walk with nice food options.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skier2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

A great stay!

We paid NZ$120 on Wotif and got an 8th floor room looking out over the harbour.

Check in was swift, accurate and polite - a rare treat in NZ. Telephone training has also obviously been given to the staff. Front of house was unusually European in standard.

Room was clean and comfortable. Easy access to Courtney Place, the entertainment centre of Wellington. Double glazing a rare bonus in NZ.

Good valet parking only $20.

Highly recommended - only 2 downsides:

1) They still give the revolting instant coffee in room instead of real coffee and a cafetiere.

2) Internet is the standard NZ rip-off at $40 for 24 hrs. I pay that for a month!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AA_Gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Brilliant hotel, all rooms have sensational harbour views, and for once the disabled rooms are on the 7th floor as this is where all the main facilities are (bar, dining room, swimming pool etc). Massive wet room, huge comfy bed, could not find a thing to complain about.
This hotel is extremely well located, handy for everything - only 5 mins walk from Te Papa museum - a must if you are visiting Wellington. The area around the harbour is just great lots of pubs and sports bars and plenty of atmosphere. Hotel and Wellington are very wheelchair friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliechair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,415 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $121 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing