We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed at the Copthorne Oriental Bay on our wedding night in November 2008.

He had contacted the hotel directly a number of months earlier with a request to view some of their rooms. The happily obliged on two occasions (spending 30 minutes with us each time and showing us a number of rooms).

The hotel has several suites, superior rooms (in the large building on Oriental Parade) and standard rooms in a second building up the hill behind the first. The two buildings are joined by a 'bridge' from the seventh floor of the front building to the lower floor of the rear building. The seventh floor also has the restaurant, bar, pool and conference rooms.

The superior rooms came in two configurations... two sleeping areas (King/Queen plus a double/two singles) with the bathroom in between. This would be great for two couples or a family. The other configuration (which we chose) had a king sized bed and a kitchenette.

The major difference between the superior and standard rooms is air-conditioning. Both are newly renovated (the entire hotel is newly renovated) and are decorated to the same high standard. Higher level superior rooms have a magnificent harbour views (you could throw a stone into the harbour) while standard rooms have a harbour view plus a view of the front building.

Our bed was comfortable, the bathroom little small, but adequate. The TV was a mid-sized plasma with many SkyTV (NZ cable) channels.

The pool was functional... it is a 'fun' pool not an exercise pool... and the kids will love it. The view is great. For those wanting exercise, the hotel provides free passes to the 'Freyberg Pool', an excellent City Council operated 33m pool and gym complex roughly 100m away.

We had breakfast in the hotel... a good buffet by New Zealand hotel standards fare, and eggs were cooked to order. For those who don't have breakfast as part of their rate, the hotel is next to a two good cafes (Cafe Vista and Parade Cafe) and just a few minutes walk from Courtney Place (with more cafes and restaurants than I can count).

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Te Papa and Courtney Place, and 5 minutes from the Oriental Bay beach.

We would certainly recommend the Copthorne Oriental Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Peggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2008

Great hotel.excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank larrywinnipegcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Stayed here for two nights in a standard room and I must say we were quite impressed with the renovation work undertaken on the hotel making it a very pleasant place to stay at an affordable price.
The location is good being within walking distance of the CBD but also not right in the CBD where it can get pretty busy and noisy on weekdays especially.
The hotel has a small heated swimming pool(which we actually thought was slightly too cold) and it has free use of another public pool and gym complex located just along the road.
In the lobby it has a tour desk and mini business facilities which guests might find useful.
The only potential problems with this hotel are the parking which is rather restricted and also the fact that most rooms have balconies which look very nice but due to Wellington's notorious strong wind you might struggle to find a day suitable to use it.
On the whole though a very nice stay for the price paid.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

This hotel has recently undergone a refurbmishment and it shows! My room was spacious and comfortable and decor very pleasant. For an international traveller looking for something a little out of the high rises of the city this hotel is in an excellent location - far enough away yet close enough to get you into the main part of the city in 15 minutes (walk) along water front.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. I used the restaurant each morning for breakfast which were 'hearty'. If you're looking for an alternate to a gentle work out in the gym - right out the front of the hotel is a path that goes left into the city or right along Oriental Bay - very pleasant walk even in the blustery winds.

A great property and would definitely stay again.

Stay: 4 nights

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZachariahBullfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Nice, clean...much improved since last visit. Internet costs (like most of New Zealand) are expensive and could be better set up for use, not time.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank drkahless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We found the hotel to be smart and comfortable with friendly staff and in a good location being close to Te Papa and the central city

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Stayed the last weekend of July/08 for a conference.I booked a suite.
Firstly, no one can knock the location of this hotel, it has wonderful views of the harbour and is only a short walk from the national museum and the CBD. The staff in general are very friendly but unfortunately that didn't stop the mistakes being made.
The Suite:...Quite small but a great view.I had a corner suite room 811 to be exact which gave me a double aspect, however it would have been nice if someone(other than myself) could have cleaned the paint splatters off the outside of the side windows as it detracted from the view. The dining table was so wobbly that it made it impossible to eat off confortably. The bathroom was well appointed but the light around the mirror could have been better and could eaily be fixed by putting a shaving/ makeup mirror with a light around it on a side wall by the sink.
The lack of a full length mirror surpirsed me especially in a suite.
However, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was great.

I arrived at the hotel very early in the morning so of course didn't expect my room to be ready, so on check in I asked the reception to call me on my cell phone once I could have the keys. This never happened and I went back down to reception after 2 and picked it up. only to be told it had been ready for quite a while!
The suite has a small kitchen but there wasn't any cloth provided to wipe the bench nor was there a tea towel, I assume it had been overlooked and as I wasn't going to be using either than evening,I expected they'd arrive the next day when the room was serviced, they didn't ,and I had to ring and ask for them!
On the Thursday early evening 5.50pm I called room service 3 times, there was no reply, so I reluctanly when to the dining room.which was very quiet which made me question why no one had answered the room service calls, the staff there were very friendly and the food was fine but it wasn't exactly what I had planned to do!
The next evening around 9 pm I called room service again twice and still didn't get a reply, so I called the restaurent twice and they didn't answer either, although that night, unlike the first they were busy I wonder why they have a service that isn't answered. So I eventually called reception who took my order.When the food was delivered I mentioned the wobbly table and the young man agreed it was not good and told me he'd mention it to the night porter, ( nothing happened) although I did mention it on check out once again a few days later!
The food was lovely btw!
So, all in all, the room was fine, the view fantastic but the little things and the service unfavourable and I did not leave feeling I would return in a hurry.
However those views certainly could call me!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Prebbletonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $127 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing