We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This could a really great hotel....but right now there are a lot of details that need to be resolved....so it is kind of average.
Awesome views over the yachts, bay, shipping activity & Port Nicholson Yacht Club across the street....walking distance to the CBD. Direct access to the waterfront & all it has to offer, including a great farmers market on Sunday just a few 100 meters away.
The rooms are not that big, but more than adequate & despite the proximity to the road, very quiet.
The internet is a rip off at $20+ a day.....time NZ hotels joined the real work in this regard.
Our breakfast was included, & again very good but not outstanding.
Front office staff were happy enough but need to loosen up a bit.......when i was shocked to be asked to pay more $ to stay beyond the 'standard' 10am check out, there was no apparent flexibility (until i asked for the manager, who called soon after & was extremely helpful, thoughtful & considerate)
The big test is 'would i stay again' & i certainly would as it is excellent value & I'm hopeful they will work on the detail.

Room Tip: Ocean view, higher the better. There is a room type that has a double bed at the room entry, then b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastal_Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Colin O Thank you for your insightful review with both positive and negative comments. We will be sure to review our wifi charges and look at improving our breakfast to give it that wow factor. It is great to hear you would return and I hope I can welcome you again one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    608
    172
    43
    23
See reviews for
324
627
62
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the cheerful greeting at our 1am checkin, happy assistance with our luggage to our room, till we checked out 5 days later (with an easily arranged late check out) -our experience at the Copthorne was delightful. The location is stunning, right on the harbourfront, convenient and within easy walking distance of all the local attractions in the city centre.
Our room was small, the bed was not particularly comfortable and only a double, but the view from the window was amazing. Always kept clean and in a timely manner. Lovely little nooks on the floor where you can sit in a comfy chair in the sun to read.
We ate at the hotel restaurant one night, not really expecting much, but it was seriously good food! And the service was helpful with a smile.The breakfasts were adequate, albeit a little boring.

Although the hotel is clearly dated, and some parts need a serious revamp, overall our stay was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Apparently they have several larger rooms available if you ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear kazm0 I read with pleasure that you enjoyed your 5 days with us and you kept safe from the wind in Wonderful Wellington! I am consulting with my team this morning to discuss how we can make our breakfast offering less boring. Many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights using the winter warmer package. The first greeting at reception was friendly & nice. Quick check-in and helped us with our bearings and how to get around easily enough.
The hotel room appears to have recently been refurbished. We were on the 10th floor in the back building. We had a small balcony (as in not enough room for a chair) but with a view of the city, Waitangi park, Te Papa & some of the harbour. We were more than happy with the room, and it was quite comfortable. It has all the usual bits you'd expect. The blackout curtains work well.
I wouldn't recommend the wifi or internet, due to the cost, they are unbelievably high.
The restaurant seems quite expensive too. Try $32 for fish & chips or $45 for a steak. There are plenty of better priced places between 5 -15 minutes walk from the hotel.
The room included a full buffet breakfast each morning, which was excellent.
Newspapers are delivered to your room each morning, Monday to Saturday.
We walked around Wellington all day Saturday from Te Papa to Parliament and the Cable car. Then bus from Courtney Place to Weta Workshops in Miramar and back.
The hotel is conveniently located for all the walking around. We didn't have a car, but they appeared to have plenty of parking. I don't know what they charge for parking.
There was a market in Waitangi park on Sunday morning.
The indoor pool has an pretty good if only partial vista over the harbour, the rest being blocked out by the front part of the hotel. The pool itself is heated and quite nice for a dip. You could not swim lengths as it is not big enough for that.
Overall I really liked staying at this hotel, and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can't get a harbour view, ask for a top level in the back building. Still some good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peckanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you Peckanz for your positive comments and comprehensive review. I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful location. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Except for the location, there is not much going for this hotel given what it charges. Whole place feels rundown, in serious need of refurbishment. Staff are generally indifferent. $25 for WiFi in the room. For free access, there is a stingy 20 min/20 MB allowance per 24h in the hotel lobby. What was shocking to me was that the hotel wanted to charge me an additional $20 for checking out at noon, claiming that check-out time was 10 am. This was not indicated at all the email confirming my reservation.

Room Tip: Dont pay for WiFi in the room. There is free WiFi at the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, just a five...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrispstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback, I am sorry to read of your disappointment in some of charging policies. We will surely review these as a result of your feedback. We do hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future when you return to Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We got this hotel via a mystery choice hotel via Wotif. We only had one night in the city so location was important and this hotel fit the bill. It is a short walk to Te Papa and about a 10 minute walk to Cuba St. there are plenty of cafes and restaurants within a short distance. There were also street markets nearby.
Check in was quick and easy and the room was quiet and comfortable. The décor is somewhat dated even though they indicated that there had been a recent refurbishment. The staff were pleasant and helpful. However when I asked at reception for some more milk and they said it would be right up I was surprised that I had to wait nearly two hours. When I phoned them back they made an excuse that the person who had got the message had left for the day! Small things can matter.
Overall though it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view. The view is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank softballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for a night.Very pleasant reception people and friendly staff.Our room had lovely views over the waterfront and Waitangi Park.Beds slightly on the soft side but comfortable and we slept well.Quiet room.
Let down by breakfast.We opted for the full breakfast.Not a great selection and the scrambled eggs were well rubberd by the time we were there.Andto have to pay aditional money for an expresso coffee not well received.
Happy to return but not to eat in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, and based on the breakfast special. A nice location at the edge of downtown, on the Oriental Parade. Wellington is a lovely small capital city, and you can walk from the hotel to downtown in 20 minutes. Great location for access to the museums and waterfront. The views are great, and the breakfast is quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room rate that includes breakfast. Rooms on the 7th floor have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Property: Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing