We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with sea views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed this hotel during our trip to Wellington. We had chosen Copthorne Oriental Bay as it was related to Millennium Group which famous for their service and quality.

The location of this hotel is ideal as it is facing the sea and located near to the attractions. There is a bus stop nearby (within 5 mins walk) which you can take to the shopping area should you decide not to walk.

The room was clean and big but kind of old. The corridor to the room was also sort of small. We were assigned a low floor room facing the street houses.

Overall, we pay for what we get therefore we are satisfied with our stay with Copthorne Oriental Bay. If you are looking for a hotel with great location and nice sea view with reasonable price, you may want to look at this hotel and ask for a high floor facing the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with sea view if this is important to you. Rooms on low floor facing the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandroidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Johnie T I was pleased to read your informative review of our hotel. Many thanks and maybe one day you will return and enjoy the sea view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel, a few meters away from the centre and almost opposite of the Te Papa museum. The standard room features features a double and a single bed. The mattress is comfortable and the room was big enough for us. Downside was the high price one has to pay for WIFI. We loved the views over the city and there is small balcony as well. The hotel is a great base if you want to explore Wellington.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchtraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Dutchtraveller75

Thank you for posting your review I am pleased read you enjoyed our location and the view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were visiting friends in Wellington but wanted to treat ourselves to one night in the city and we chose the Copthorne as we hadn't stayed there before. We found a very good rate at $130 and that included 2 breakfasts! The room was really nice and the bonus was we were expecting a view of a brick wall for that price, but we got a view of the harbour! The staff were so friendly, the room spotlessly clean, and I loved the spacious tiled shower. Bed was comfortable. Location was so close to Te Papa. But I have to say what I am going to rave about for a long time was the breakfast. I have never, anywhere in the world been served up homemade baked beans at a hotel! These baked beans were delicious, in fact all the breakfast was great and hard to believe that that was in the price of the room! The person moaning about being charged for wifi and $4 credit card fee needs to keep in mind you are staying right in the middle of the capital city - where in the world would you get those kind of prices and get so much for your money. Can't wait to return to Wellington to come back to the Copthorne!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor which was high enough to get a great view. Try to ask for 9th if you fancy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear KTB3

Many thanks for posting your favourable comments and yes the beans are a favourite of mine too! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was ok, but $25 for 24hours if wifi was a joke. I know many hotels now Charge this ridiculous charge, and that's why i normally avoid them. They also charge $4 for paying by credit card. For these 2 facts I won't return.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FOODANDTRAVELBUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you very much for the feedback, I am sorry to read of your disappointment in some of charging policies. We try to keep our room rates affordable at the Copthorne and offer a range of choices in our other services. We will surely review these as a result of your feedback. We do hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future when you return to Wellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Copthorne Hotel on Oriental Bay. Everything about our stay was perfect. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, the rectangular shower seemed bigger than a square one. The staff were all friendly, every one of them.
The location is great, a short walk to the airport bus stop on Courtenay Place and about ten minutes from Te Papa. The view of the harbour from our tenth floor room was stunning especially at night. We had complimentary breakfasts as part of a winter special. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor. Very quiet and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Clairebs it was pleasing to read your review today and your positive comments about our location and views. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were very impressed with the quality of accommodation, service and value. A lovely hotel in a great location. Thank you for everything. This a great location and and nice easy walk to town. Love the sliding door on to a balcony with a view over the harbour. Double glazing meant very quiet

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryll G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Cheryll G Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Great to hear you loved the harbour view and opening balcony door. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Hotel rooms have great views across the harbour and have balcony doors that open to enjoy the view even more. They are also a good size. It's an easy walk to Te Papa and the city, or a stroll around Oriental Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sejonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Sejonetwo It was nice to read your review today. We are certainly a quiet hotel. All the rooms boast hush glass but the best bit is the balcony doors opening to bring in the harbour and fresh air, which we have lots of in Wellington! Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,415 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $121 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing