We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good harbour side location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good harbour side location”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a large room with a great view of Oriental Bay. The room was clean and comfortable although we were on a room only basis. The hotel is well situation for exploring the harbour and city. The laundry room was conveniently situated although a bit pricey and the tumble dryer didn't work terribly efficiently.
The reception staff were helpful and safely stored our luggage when we checked out so that we could explore the city a bit more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank South-east-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    605
    171
    42
    23
See reviews for
322
619
62
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was impresses by the large room with a good sized en suite bathroom. Stunning view over Oriental bay. The room was clean and tidy and was well serviced each day. I only had breakfast in the restaurant. The service was slow and most of the food was prepared so I would suggest eating out. I did not have an evening meal so I can't comment. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Always ask to see your room before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were really happy we'd booked this hotel for our family weekend in Wellington. From the first contact with Copthorne staff I was impressed. The person who took my booking on the phone was really helpful and gave me all the information I needed. We opted for a family room which was perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids.

The hotel is not a 5 star property but the location on the waterfront, proximity to Te Papa, Art Gallery and Courtenay Place is fantastic and an easy walk to the city. The view from the balcony was gorgeous. The room itself was spotlessly clean including a small but perfectly adequate bathroom. Comfy beds with loads of pillows.

We had breakfast included in our package and it was fine - again, not 5 star, but it was perfectly fine. The staff at breakfast were excellent and little touches like bringing a clean cup with a new pot of tea were appreciated. The kids loved the heated pool and really appreciated having the 'noodles' and kick board in the pool for the youngest child.

It was a great hotel for our weekend which included visits to Te Papa, Zelandia, the art gallery, a rugby game at the Stadium, dinners in Courtenay Place and playing on the playground at Chaffers.

We will definitely stay here on future trips to Wellington. A great hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a good basic hotel.We booked a harbour view basic room and this was fine.The room was of reasonable size and the bathroom workable.The hotel and the room were clean and tidy.The common areas and corridors are a little basic but functional.Food was quite good certainly not fine dining but nothing to downrate the hotel for.Its in a good location with easy walking round the harbour side and into the central areas.The staff were very good,friendly and attentive.For our overnight stay it worked very well.

Room Tip: Try and prebook a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7AENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
573 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place. But if you are looking for a clean, basic room with a fabulous location, I recommend the Copthorne. In addition, if you get a room with a view of the bay, you are set. You could look out the window all day long. Although there is a balcony, it is quite narrow and you need to put your chair sideways to sit out there.

The main points are that the staff is friendly and courteous, the location is exceptional and you can walk to the bay, the CBD and the Te Papa Museum and there is a huge supermarket at a 5 minute distance. The view was amazing.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shapgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic location, just minutes away from the center of the city with a fantastic view of the harbour. Our meal at the restaurant was really good food. It was very good value for both the accommodation and the restaurant. Would definitely go back there and the sooner the better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaile W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked a harbour view twin -flexible room through Expedia for two nights in March 2013.
We were located on the 6th floor with a very nice view over the harbour and a small balcony.
As my husband and I were travelling with our adult daughter, we were pleased with the layout of the room providing adequate privacy between the two sleeping areas. Nice comfy beds and pillows. In our deal we received three $20 vouchers for full breakfasts served in the hotel restaurant, nice food and pleasant staff. Great location within easy walking distance to the museum and lots of nice restaurants.

Room Tip: We booked a Harbour View Twin Room on the 6th floor and it was perfect for the two nights we spent i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,850 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Property: Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing