We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Nearby Hotels
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$84
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$186
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$117
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$106
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$80
$68
ibis
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$200
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$78
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
$162
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$178
$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,705)
Filter reviews
1,705 results
Traveler rating
735
697
198
51
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
735
697
198
51
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewste papaoriental paradegreat locationfamily roomsmall balconyharbour viewsuperior roomacross the roadcourtney placevalet parkingshort walknew world supermarketfree wifitop floorcourtenay placenew zealandking bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,350 - 1,355 of 1,705 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Love this hotel, the staff and management are professional, friendly and willing to help. The rooms are of an above average standard and have great views of Wellington harbour. The hotels is also close to all the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights & it is probably one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in....everywhere was spotlessly clean,the room was spacious bright modern with all mod cons & the view from our balcony was stunning {10th floor} which overlooked oriental parade & the harbour,all food was very nice with reasonable prices,a good selection of drinks aswell,an easy to use laundry for everyone.The staff here made you feel very welcome at all times who were always ,smartly dressed , very polite & courteous.Staying here you are in a short walking distance of numerous pubs.restraunts.takeaways etc etc &the shopping area is about 10 minutes walk away.Taking everything into account of this hotel,i would highly reccomend this property & would definetly look forward to staying here again........

Room Tip: tenth floor for stunning views across the harbour
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank petertoonarmy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here over New Year on a trip from the UK. Our room was excellent in every way, spacious, well-furnished, with a large comfortable bed. Good bathroom. There was a small balcony from which we could enjoy the stunning views over Wellington Harbour. We ate a couple of times in the hotel restaurant. Service was brisk, friendly and efficient and the food very good. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. They brought a bottle of bubbles to our room to help celebrate our anniversary. If you arrive by car, staff will take care of the parking for you. We found this to be an excellent base in Wellington, within walking distance of all major attractions. We'd stay there again on a future trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the harbour.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthAbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wondefull helpfull staff and the restaurant was fantastic.
Being so close to all of wellingtons attractions was great and the car parking was a definite bonus.
Enjoyed walking along the waterfront and the views were great even from our first floor unit
Would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The higher up you stay the better the view.
Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was planned as a relaxing weekend away. So what a superb surprise to be informed on check in that we had been upgraded from a superior King room (guaranteed harbour view) to a suite. The suite was beautifully appointed-a separate lounge with views of the harbour and city from large windows on two walls as well as a small balcony. The bedroom was nicely presented and also had floor to ceiling windows+ balcony plus a TV as well as the one in the lounge. The bathroom was outstanding with dual washbasins, a heated mirror (so no fogging), a shower with a ceiling and wall head and a spa bath. The kitchen area while spacious was a bit basic with just some crockery and cutlery but no microwave or hot plate though a toaster was supplied. It is a pity that the former AA member free parking here has been shelved and parking like most hotels in Wellington is steep at $25 a night. The staff here from reception to housekeeping and restaurant staff are always pleasant and take the opportunity to engage with us. Having met the manager here I believe he leads by example and is most personable. We will be back!

Room Tip: The superior rooms cost a little more than standard but the quaranteed harbour views are worth it!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews