We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a drink and nibbles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragonfly

Dragonfly
Ranked #25 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Great place for a drink and nibbles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Haven't been here before and love trying new places. Me and my partner had3 small plates and the tuna with coconut cream was delicious! The spicy cheese parcels were good but all we could taste was blue cheese which is understandable. The chicken ribs were delicious as well. We then had the free range chicken which was very juicy and full of flavour but the salad it came with didn't compliment the chicken at all.
But overall a lovely experience and I will be back but not before i try a few other places in town

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TribalChea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    75
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice flavours, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Interesting decor but very dark. Limited selection for an Asian resto, but some delicious flavours. What would stop me coming back is the service- not rude, but entirely disinterested- no conversation, no questions about our preferences, inattention to our order; absent-minded to the point of absence.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella9867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
197 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We joined some friends for dinner at Dragonfly a few days ago. Our friends said they eat there frequently - and I can see why.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Contemporary Asian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Decor: (8.5/10)
Contemporary, Dimmed Lighting, Asian. Several areas in which to dine, from front of house, main inside area, bar area and outside.

Atmosphere: (7/10)
Like most restaurants this one has a very lively buzz to it, making it ideal for conversing without fear of being overheard. The background music is your contemporary run of the mill music that is mostly there to create ambiance but by no means memorable.

Service: (8.5/10)
Very tidy, professional, courteous and attentive.

In Summary: (8/10)
More expensive than your usual Asian Restaurant but if you can afford it, it certainly is worth the price of admission.


(1) Entree: (7/10 – worth trying out)
Spring Rolls duck, free range pork, shitake, vermicelli and coriander, served w cucumber relish. $15.
Just a word of caution, the cucumber relish is best poured over the vermicelli and not used to dip the spring roll in because the relish is too overpowering. A great side dish.

(2) Main Dish: (8/10 - recommended)
Salmon 2 Ways char grilled salmon fillet on a hot and sour, green tea smoked salmon salad w Vietnamese mint, green banana, chilli, lime and roasted rice $29.
I’ve never ordered salmon before so this comes as a revelation. I’m told that salmon is a fish that basically has no taste at all which is ideal if you are gung-ho on adding flavor to these dishes. This particular salmon, though, had very little in terms of flavoring, but was absolutely divine. I’m not a fan of eating fish other than the sort that comes from your typical fish and chip shop but after having sampled this dish I’d be remiss if I didn’t recommend trying the salmon

(3) Main Dish: (8.5/10 – dish worth coming back for)
Pork and Prawn semi shelled tiger prawns, twice cooked free range pork belly, Chinese green garlic and XO sauce $29.
Pork and prawns is an interesting pairing, but then I’ve also seen prawns paired with other meats. Both the prawns and the pork were cooked to perfection and simply delish! I honestly couldn’t say whether the two meats complimented each other but then I really couldn’t care less – it was a fantastic dish. Fully recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tala U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A wee bit of Shanghai in Welly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great atmosphere, great outdoor courtyard, simple but delicious menu, 2 for one cocktails on Tuesdays. It's not Lost Heaven (the great outdoor roofbar restaurant near the Bund in Shanghai) - but it's not bloody bad...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaeltbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Dragonfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing