We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly good”

Featherston Bar and Grill
Ranked #86 of 930 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My partner and I dined here on a week night and were very impressed. This is a pub, however, the food is really good.

We didn't have a lot of time and we were able to be in and out of here in half an hour.

The mains are very affordable and tasty. I ordered the fish pie and this was yummy.

This place is also good if you are dining alone and there were at least 3 people dining alone when we were there.

If you want a place with efficient service then check this place out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    75
    23
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The menu is a better than average bar menu with many finer dining options.

The steaks from the grill are always good

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua NZ
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A very ' English' feel to thhis lovely eating/drinking place”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have been there twice now, and we are firmly convinced it is the only place ti eat when in Wellington - the ambiance is restful, reserved, and very reasonably priced considering the quality of the food and drink. the service is what you would expect from this type of establishment.
Regardless of the time - day or night, the welcome is the same. I loved the music being played.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiliwilinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Reasonable priced and good”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Nice meal here, well cooked steaks and reasonable prices. A varied menu for all appetites and some very nice house wine. Just the job after a long days travelling. Good service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great pub to relax and enjoy passing the time”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Looking for a late lunch, we decided on the Featherstone and we are definitely going back. The table service was excellent and the food was among the best pub grub we've had anywhere. I had the veal and my man had steak (scotch fillet). Portions were generous enough to satisfy and everything on the plate was absolutely fresh. I wouldn't recommend the garlic bread but am prepared to overlook it because everything else made up for what it lacked.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Featherston Bar and Grill also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Featherston Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing