We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jewel of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casablanca Cafe - CLOSED

Casablanca Cafe
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Jewel of a restaurant!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Casablanca is a tiny restaurant, but that adds to its charm. I've eaten here on occasional visits to Wellington over the past three years, and have never had a bad or even mediocre meal.

The staff are *great*--enthusiastic and really love the food. My husband has medical dietary restrictions and they've been incredibly helpful in identifying or tailoring dishes that meet his needs (and that taste great, too).

The food is absolutely top notch. Each meal begins with an assortment of dips and pita--an exceptional touch, and such a great way to begin a meal! The baba ganoush is excellent (even my eggplant-hating husband loves it). The tagines are perfectly cooked and there's a large choice--can't decide which is my favorite, so I can't give any guidance except to say that all the different ones I've tried have been wonderful. My husband loves the sausage assortment. And you've *got* to try the chicken pastille! It's weird and wonderful; the best description I've been able to come up with is that it's like a baklava made with chopped chicken instead of walnuts. Yes, very different but great!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tumbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth booking”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were lucky, it was early on a friday night and we got the last available table for two. We'd been there before but enjoy it enough to return. Its a small premesis, the was only one waitress/FoH working and one gentleman who may have been the chef. My king tagine was tender and filling, and gave me an opportunity to try the morrocan sausage with the safety of knowing lamb was also in my dish incase the sausage wasn't to my liking - no problems there though! My partner had chicket pastilla, crunchy pastry with a spiced chicken filling sprinkled with cinnamon and icing sugar which really worked.
My only critisism is that its so small two waiting staff would get in each others way, but so busy the lady was very rushed trying to get out meals, clear tables etc. There was 15 - 20 min or so between us finishing our mains and deciding to seek desert, and being able to get her attention as she tried to clear a back table for a waiting party AND bring out mains to another large table. It won't stop us going again, but we almost left to have coffee and cake elsewhere before she was free.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amchitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Really enjoyed our midweek visit to this restaurant. The complimentary tasting plate of dips and pita was an unexpected bonus and the generous servings of tagines hearty and delicious. Enjoyed a cup of strong Moroccan coffee, look forward to trying the Moroccan wine on offer next time. Will be making this a regular.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Very nice but small morrocan restaurant close to Courtney Place. Food was very well cooked and extremely tasty. Friendly helpful host. Atmosphere was cosy and intimate.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonylast47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, go and try it!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We hadn't tried Moroccan food so Casablanca was the choice for the evening meal. A small restaurant just round the corner from Courtney Place, with interesting decor and a personable host. A delicious and unexpected complimentary tasting plate of pita bread with a variety of tasty dips was offered, followed by our choice of a main with chicken, lamb and beef kebabs on couscous or rice, with salad with an accompanying plate of olives. The drinks menu is small but perfectly adequate, and service is friendly. We will certainly go back and try one of the tagines (Moroccan stew).

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing