We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Course Degustation Delight”

One80o Restaurant & Lounge Bar
Ranked #21 of 921 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $72
Cuisines: International, Bar, New Zealand, Fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 Course Degustation Delight”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We took advantage of a "GrabOne" voucher entitling the two of us to enjoy a 5-course Degustation Dinner - no special occasion, just a lovely night out in Wellington! We weren't disappointed - in fact, we were absolutely delighted! After sampling two delicious Rieslings in the lounge bar, we took our seats in the dining room savouring the magnificent view over Wellington harbour. Our five courses - plus a sorbet - comprised a delicious spicy gazpacho-like soup, salmon done two ways with horseradish crème fraiche and beetroot marshmallow, confit mushrooms with curry and mushroom ripple ice cream and parmesan crisp, tender/pink rack of lamb with goats cheese gremolata pom pom, polenta and baby carrots, and the most delicious and decadent dessert of chocolate, cherry gastrique and Chantilly crème! All of the above - although small in size - were taste sensations! There was the "wow" factor in bucketfuls! This is the second time we have experienced the wonderful cuisine in this restaurant and, based on the fine cuisine here, we would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone contemplating a celebratory meal in a very pleasant environment - with stunning views as a bonus!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    119
    32
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waikerie, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Table with a view”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Booked a window table for 2. Arrived a little early perhaps before the Waiting Staff had started. The greeting from the Service Manager was a little cold, seated us down and was some time before she returned to ask for our drink order. The signature dish at a signature price was a little overcooked and pastry & beef was a little tough. The wifes Chicken curry was an exception being the best she has ever had. The Bar staff were very welcoming, service efficient and only to serve a cocktail of our choice. Breakfast manager was very welcoming and enjoyed the selection available. Overall an 8/10.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
236 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Name of the restaurant shouldn't be taken literally”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had the same voucher as Lauren the reviewer a couple of weeks ago. Same as her, we wouldn't have come here otherwise, and we thought the food (and the people) was very good. My partner had the Risotto and the Beef Wellington, and I had the Salmon and Ostrich Fillet. Then we elected to pay some more for desserts, both chocolate related, also very good.

The voucher made the night affordable enough and good enough value as we enjoyed the food and a bottle of wine (sadly Australian origin rather than New Zealand) was included as part of the deal.

Otherwise the price would have been fairly steep as hotel restaurants tend to be. If we were paying full price I'd probably only give 3 out of 5 due to cost and portion size being a bit smaller than I'd prefer. Although I must reiterate the people and quality of food (taste and presentation) were both very good.

That aside, I have to comment on the name of the restaurant. One80o (read the 'o' as degrees) would give the impression of a panoramic view somewhere in the region of 180 degrees wide. In reality only a few of the tables down one end have much of a view, and even then no more than a 60 degree arc at best, if you don't count the view of a big chunk of the main part of the hotel building.

Other tables have either a lesser arc of view or none at all, depending how close to the windows the table are and which way you are facing.

I reckon there's a better view from the bar area which looks out over some the harbour, roughly ENE in direction.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wish the decor matched the standard of the food”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went with a voucher that entitled us to two entrees, two mains and a bottle of wine. The voucher made it extremely affordable, but it's not the type of place we would otherwise go. The food was delicious. I had a salmon entree, and fish of the day for main. My partner had chicken caesar salad for entree and the lamb. All meals were superb. We had a window table looking out over Waitangi Park. My only real negative point is that the decor really needs an upgrade. It looks very tired and definitely doesn't match the standard of the food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bonfire Night Dinner 9th November 2013”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked a window table for the evening of Saturday 9th November 2013 so that we could enjoy a lovely dinner before watching the Wellington Fireworks Spectacular over the harbour from the hotel balcony viewing area. Having been told that there would be a "fixed choice menu" for the night, we arrived expecting there to be a rather simple menu available - which we were ok with. When we arrived, we found out that the fixed choice menu was an option - a la carte was still available - but rather than a simple choice, the menu was a gastronomic adventure in celebration of Guy Fawkes night($80 menu only, $125 with a selected glass of wine with each course). We opted for this special menu - and what a treat we were in for! Quite frankly, the food was outstanding - in every way comparable with the best London restaurants we had experienced earlier in the year. We were astonished to find such superb and creative dishes - truly a taste sensation - in what is essentially a hotel restaurant. We will certainly return. However, the service was a bit shoddy - wine not brought with the courses in time - cutlery not provided for the main course, the wrong wine brought for one of the courses, etc. Pity. And - to top it all - the view of the fireworks display from the balcony was fantastic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One80o Restaurant & Lounge Bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to One80o Restaurant & Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing